We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (249)
Filter reviews
249 results
Traveller rating
178
62
7
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
178
62
7
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews small hotel nearest town ate here easy access private villa lovely garden swimming pool baroque towns olive trees stayed here for nights spacious room home made cakes ignazio beaches car terrace scicli
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 249 reviews
Reviewed July 10, 2018

Cambiocavallo is simply the most wonderful place. It is a peaceful and tranquil place to escape the crowds but yet be within easy access of both seaside and all of the historic towns of south east Sicily, Modica, Noto and Syracuse. The rooms are airy and well designed, the outside spaces, garden and pool are wonderful and the food! - we didn't want or need to explore further, the breakfasts were substantial and varied but best of all was the menu options each evening. Four courses of the most delicious Sicilian cooking with a good wine selection. I cannot recommend Cambiocavallo highly enough. Finally the staff are incredibly welcoming, friendly and knowlegable about all of the local treasures, hidden secret beaches and places to explore. We will definitely return.

Room tip: Ours was room 5, lovely airy space with a shady and comfortable terrace.
Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank carolinemetcalfe22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambiocavallo, Receptionist at Cambiocavallo - Unesco Area & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2018

Dear Ms. carolinemetcalfe22,
First of all, thanks for leaving a review and thank you for these beautiful words! We are so happy you appreciate the food and you had a great time here at Cambiocavallo Hotel****. These words really mean a lot to all of the Staff! We look forward to having you again, it will be a pleasure for us!
Kind regards,
All the staff of Cambiocavallo Hotel****

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 27, 2018

When the receptionist walks out to meet you as you arrive, you can tell you've come to a place where they care about guests. All the staff were very friendly and, luckily for us, they spoke good english. They were able to give us good advice on where to go and even provided some photocopied street plans.
We ate here every night because the food was good. There was a nice choice between two 4 course menus and we know that at least some it came from the kitchen garden as the chef would stop off for a chat on his way there in the afternoon.
No complaints at all.

Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Pickyscientist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambiocavallo, Receptionist at Cambiocavallo - Unesco Area & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2018

Dear Pickyscientist,
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We are delighted to read these words and very glad you had a great time here! Thank you for mentioning our BIO garden, we are very proud of it and very happy to use our own fresh vegetables! We hope to see you again at Cambiocavallo Hotel****.
Kind regards
All the staff of Cambiocavallo Hotell****

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 15, 2018

We went 'en famille' to this resort and had the best time. The hotel has been restored so that it fits in well with the environment. The staff in this hotel could not have been more pleasant or helpful. We were seven adults and two small children, two coeliacs and a vegetarian between us so it could have ended up being a real nightmare for us and them. However, they coped with it without a hitch and our son came back looking healthier and feeling better than he has for many months. The breakfasts were fresh with warm rolls and jams, home made cakes and pastries, gluten free bread provided for those who needed it. I would have loved a scrambled or poached egg just once and a coffee pot with hot milk at our table to avoid the embarrassment of having to ask for another coffee continually. The evening meals were great but just too much for us to manage so the hotel put on a special deal with Sicilian tapas and drinks - splendid idea. Our week went all too quickly, we were sorry to leave.

One thing about the location - you will need a car to get to the nearest town if you want to buy food or go out at night. We liked the beaches on the south of the island as they seemed less windy.

Room tip: All the rooms look good - if you want your own private courtyard there are two rooms on the first floor but not necessary.
Date of stay: April 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank 415rosed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambiocavallo, Direttore at Cambiocavallo - Unesco Area & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2018

Dear 428rose family,
thank you!! We have really appreciated your review. We have had a lovely time with you and your family. We love to make our guests happy and make them feel at home...and this seems to be the result!!
Thank you also for your suggestions about breakfast, but we could serve scrambled or poached eggs without any problems... just ask us! We will never say "no" to our guests!

We miss all your smiles and we are looking forward to welcoming you again next time!

With our warmest regards
Ignazio, Mariagrazia, Nino, Iris, Daniela and all the staff of Cambiocavallo**** .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 31, 2017 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights. We had a very spacious room, with its own outdoor terrace. It was very comfortable although the bathrooms did not necessarily function as well as they looked. The staff were very friendly and accommodating. Our only disappointment was that the dinner (breakfast is great!) was awful and despite the relatively low cost did not constitute good value for money with some of it being inedible, particularly the desert. Having looked at previous reviews we wondered whether, because we were out of season, the normal chef was away(?).
We would definitely recommend this hotel for its location and service but would steer clear of the restaurant, there are great restaurants in nearby towns of Scicli, Noto and Modica!

Date of stay: October 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Felixthegreat488
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 30, 2017

The Cambiocavallo is a small hotel (7 bedrooms if I remember well) near Modica, 4km from the sea in a beautiful and well kept garden. You can eat at the restaurant in the evening but you must book ahead. The food was good and we were very happy to have all our evening meals there.
Our room was very clean and overlooking the garden and swimming pool.
We had a problem when visiting Modica and Ignazio went out of his way to help us and sorted out everything for us. What a star! Thank you again Ignazio.

Date of stay: October 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Thera1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambiocavallo, Direttore at Cambiocavallo - Unesco Area & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2018

Dear Thera1974, thank you very much for your kind review. We have 8 rooms ( 6 deluxe and 2 suite).
We always try to make our guests happy...this is our mission!!
We are looking forward to welcoming you again!

Kind regards

Ignazio and all the Cambiocavallo**** staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews