We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Borghetto di San Filippo(Barberino Val d'Elsa)(Great Value!)
US$72
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hotel Semifonte(Barberino Val d'Elsa)(Great Value!)
US$68
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Primavera(Barberino Val d'Elsa)
US$77
US$67
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Canonica di Cortine(Barberino Val d'Elsa)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Borgo Petrognano(Barberino Val d'Elsa)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
B&B Le Querciole del Chianti(Barberino Val d'Elsa)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fattoria Sant'Appiano(Barberino Val d'Elsa)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Le Torri(Barberino Val d'Elsa)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Podere Poggetto(Barberino Val d'Elsa)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (301)
Filter reviews
301 results
Traveller rating
270
21
4
4
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
270
21
4
4
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsriding lessonsnon riderslong tablefamily stylewonderful horsesother guestsown horsehour ridekeep coming backmagical placedinner tablebig familylearn howafternoon lessonsyear after yearhome cookedgreat company
Filter
Updating list...
183 - 188 of 301 reviews
Reviewed December 14, 2009

Il Paretaio restores the soul, teaches you more about yourself than you could ever have guessed, and shoots your riding into new dimensions. The horses are wonderful. The instructors are inspired, insightful, incisive, perceiving the tiniest detail, the merest hint. Listening to others having their lessons is a privilege. Having your own lessons is a revelation. And then there are the evenings making new friends, seated in the grand old dining room around the big table laden with delicious Italian food and jugs of local wine. What a joyous place to visit. I would not hesitate to recommend it to anyone, from the complete beginner, to the instructor. I have watched lessons with both ends of the spectrum and marvelled.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bbacg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 14, 2009

I have been a regular visitor to Il Paretaio for many years and always feel at home. Whether you are just visiting the area or experiencing the wonderful horses and tuition you can't fail to fall in love with the setting, surroundings and Di Marchi family and staff. A truly magical and charming experience you will want to return time and time again for the wonderful Italian home cooking served round the huge farmhouse table. Exercise of some sort is a must unless you want to return home heavier than you arrived!!

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wilcox1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 11, 2009

I spent the month of October at Il Paretaio ( not my first time) and will return in May. The scenery is spectacular, the people warm and welcoming, the food great, the guest house utterly charming. As a solo traveller, I always find new friends at the Il Paretaio weekly welcoming reception. Needless to say, the riding lessons are top notch. But, as a B&B only, the central location is quite condusive to day trips to the famous towns in the area, such as Siena and San Gigmignano.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sadiemae212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 20, 2009

In November 2009 my husband and me were the very first time at Il Paretaio. The location of the country house in the middle of wine and olive groves is extraordinary. It is absolute silent there – exactly right for relaxing. And if you are interested in culture the location is top: it takes 30min. to Firenze or Siena by car.
The rooms are in typical country house style and very clean with beautiful view of the surrounding. With much engagement and outstanding service no wish is left open and the atmosphere is very warm.
At the country house there are about 30 horses. Hacking in the beautiful landscape is unforgettable. Beside that I had some Dressage lessons with very sensitive and light in the aid horses. Someone would not believe that every week there is sitting another rider on the back of these horses! At that time I was the only riding guest so I had a private lesson at the price of a group lesson. And because Giovanni and Christina are really interested to improve the riding skills of their guests and no one else were waiting for the next lesson the output was the factor for ending the lesson not the time!
Thank you to family De Marchi and their team for the pleasant time we had on their country house. I strongly recommend to everyone – rider and non rider - a stay at Il Paretaio!

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bee022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 8, 2009

Balm for the soul as we experienced gentle training on wonderful horses, sightseeing deluxe amidst autumn colurs and ancient towns, gourmet Italian cusine and the incredible warmth of Christina and Gianni and their wonderful staff's hospitality. Laughter abounded around the communal table at night as we shared the days experiences and feasted on course after course of delicious food. For riders and their non riding friends, this holiday is a must. Don't miss the fabulous shoe factory shop down the road!

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JemimaNatal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews