We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ 5th enchanting stay at il Paretaio”
Review of Il Paretaio

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Barberino Val d'Elsa
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Il Paretaio
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 October 2017 via mobile

Fall is a particularly sumptuous season in Tuscany, and specially at Il Paretaio :
Warm weather, incredible light, and these views all around the house!
The riding is fantastic, thanks to Cristina and Gianni professionalism and passion.
The hospitality is excellent, and the Tuscan traditional food is absolutely perfect.
Il Paretaio is conveniently located at 30’drive from many major cultural and touristic attractions such as Sienna, Firenze, San Giminiano.
I can’t recommend enough this magical place, one of the best places in the world to disconnect from everyday life and reconnect to oneself.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
Thank FredSolounias
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (289)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 12 of 289 reviews

Reviewed 2 October 2017

Just back from 1 week vacation in Paretaio. This is a fantastic place, for both horseback riders and people looking for an authentic Tuscan experience.
Right in the centre of the Chianti hills, Il Paretaio is ideal to explore all the wonders of Tuscany (Florence, Sienna, San Gimignano ...). Rooms are confortable, without fuss. Food was excellent with typical regional dishes.
W.r.t. horse back riding, this is a GREAT place too, with high quality lessons, very attentive staff to both the horses and the riders. I enjoyed it very much to resume my HB riding experience there. We had also very energetic yoga lessons. Thank you Christina, Gianni, Eva, Roberto --- and all the friendly staff who make Il Paretaio such a special place. Will definitely come again

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mlbastide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2017

Just back from a week in Il Paretaio.. Was amazing, the training was superb.. Yoga every morning to prepare for riding. Food was excellent. What I absolutely loved was the atmosphere of being welcomed into someone's home.. I an unequivocally recommend to riders of all abilities from those learning to mode advanced. It is also a great spot for exploring Tuscany....

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 439tarad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2017 via mobile

Absolutely lovely place. Very welcoming and homely feeling. Comfortable rooms. Stunning scenery. Caters for all riders; beginners and more advanced. Very flexible management. The food is amazing! (The single downside is that the walls/doors are old and not isolated at all, thus, you hear everything going on in the house and especially in the dining area.) So not always that much sleep during the week but it doesn't matter, it is always a very relaxing stay anyway! We love it and keep coming back. Gianni, Christina and their crew are working very hard to make this a truly remarkarble place in the world.

Stayed: September 2017
Thank 1or2YoungSwedes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2017 via mobile

Very nice atmosphere, interesting and lovely guests (all ages). Good food (a bit late). Very dog friendly place. Nice evenings at the long dinner table. Great quality of the riding lessons and very good matching of the horses (everybody got the perfect horse). Very calm and well trained horses. Charming rooms (little storage room) only the ones heading towards the dining room are a bit noisy at night and in the morning.
We will come again (perhaps not in summer).

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank strangepinklady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2017

We stayed here for a week and my daughter took Dressage training courses while we went off to look at the countryside. Great horseback trainers and lovely setting. Rooms are simple but updated with modern comforts. Food is tasty, served communally and you eat well and make friends from all over Europe. Freeflowing wine is a big plus! Every 3 days or so there is an Aperitif Meet-n-Greet before dinner. I saw beginners to advanced riders training and they have all levels of horses. Even if you don't ride it's a nice atmosphere on beautiful olive grove/vineyard property and convenient to both Siena and Florence. I like the smaller towns personally, and you see them from the arena.

Room Tip: Some rooms are close to dining area, so if you are a late sleeper go for the small room outside, the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Justin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2017

I have been back to Il Paretaio 3 times since my first visit. Every time I visit Europe I make sure I stay at least 1-2 nights here. The Views are breathtaking, the rooms are beautiful, the food is amazing and the owners Christina & Giovanni are the most lovely people.

The evening meal is a great experience-It is served at a community table with people from all over the world talking with each other. The traditional Italian food is served in several courses and is unbelievable.

I don't ride horses but if you do, it's an amazing horse riding lodge for serious horse riders. When I am traveling with my kids, I sign them up for riding lessons that they thoroughly enjoy. The lodge caters to both beginning riders and serious riders.

Don't miss this place, It's amazing!!!

Room Tip: I love all the rooms - Each one has a particular character
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marianne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barberino Val d'Elsa hotels
2.7 km away
Castello di Pastine
Castello di Pastine
#3 of 31 in Barberino Val d'Elsa
97 reviews
6.1 km away
Romitorio di Serelle
Romitorio di Serelle
#5 of 31 in Barberino Val d'Elsa
176 reviews
0.5 km away
Borghetto di San Filippo
Borghetto di San Filippo
#3 of 6 in Barberino Val d'Elsa
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 km away
Hotel Semifonte
Hotel Semifonte
#1 of 6 in Barberino Val d'Elsa
443 reviews
0.6 km away
Villa San Filippo Resort
Villa San Filippo Resort
#6 of 13 in Barberino Val d'Elsa
233 reviews
0.9 km away
Hotel Primavera
Hotel Primavera
#4 of 6 in Barberino Val d'Elsa
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Il Paretaio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Paretaio

Address: Strada delle Ginestre 12, 50021, Barberino Val d'Elsa, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Barberino Val d'Elsa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 31 Speciality Lodging in Barberino Val d'Elsa
Price Range: C$117 - C$171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Il Paretaio 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
IL PARETAIO is a classical riding centre situated in a picturesque valley surrounded by vineyards, olive trees and woods. Its central location, in the Chianti area, makes it a good base for touring the area without changing accomodation (Florence and Siena are just 30 min. by car; San Gimignano only 20 mins). We offer riding programmes for all levels of riders from beginners to advanced or hacking out in the wonderful tuscan countryside. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Il Paretaio Italy/Barberino Val D'Elsa, Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing