We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We are already planning our next visit!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Romitorio di Serelle
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 November 2014

We stayed there for a week in Sept. 2014. I picked it just by going on the internet and we were not disappointed. The place is just as beautiful as the website pictures show. We stayed in a one bedroom and ate dinner at the restaurant two nights - food was great. They have a specific meal for each night, but if you request something else in advance they will accommodate your wishes. The owners were present at the facility and were very friendly and made us feel at home. When I booked I was told that they do not deal through travel agents which made me a little uneasy at first, but trust me, there were NO problems whatsoever. They are able to offer you a better price than if they dealt with travel agents. I booked it online months in advance with Roberto. He was very helpful writing emails back and forth. He helped with our actual booking online, but I also asked him what his opinion was regarding which room would best fit our needs. Since this was a rental apartment we were not sure which items (kitchen items, etc.) would already be there for us. There were your typical bathroom items there - shampoo, soap and toilet paper. I did bring a little bottle of dish detergent for the kitchen sink. We cooked in our kitchen a few of the nights - we had stopped at the store and purchased pasta, olive oil, spices, cereal and milk and juice. There is a refrigerator, microwave and stovetop burners. People staying there were friendly and everybody got to know each other by passing each other in the common room or while outside with their cocktails or having their dinner. Some people chose to cook in their rooms every night, others went to local restaurants and others ate in their restaurant - which is only for the residents. It is a lovely location. There is an interesting book there on the property showing the before and after of the renovation of the farmhouse property. It is amazing what they have done. They kept a lot of the original wooden beams. We flew to Rome and rented a car - took a little less than 3 hours to get there - best advice I can give is BUY OR RENT A GPS. Exit at Poggobonsi Nord and head west on 429 - it is about 15 or 20 minute drive from there. Follow the signs to Romitorio di Serelle. GPS is needed especially if you plan on going to explore the countryside. Is actually closer to Florence, but we enjoy Rome. The property is up on a hill and the views are the best. We attended the Wine Tasting on Wednesday evening and we enjoyed a lovely time out on the patio overlooking the vineyard. Very interesting and informative talk given by a local wine shop owner. Our stay there truly exceeded our expectations - can't wait to return.

Room Tip: There were steps in some of the rooms, or steps up to some of the rooms, so check to make sure if so...
  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Catwiz1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (171)
There are newer reviews for Romitorio di Serelle
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

34 - 40 of 171 reviews

Reviewed 10 November 2014

Romitorio de Serelle lives up to its name. Not only did it exude peace and tranquility, the ambiance and staff make it the perfect place for reflection and serenity. Lorella and Marco personally and professionally helped us meander the challenge of rental car problem in a foreign country upon our arrival. Its central location is unbeatable. At the end of each day's adventure into the charms of Tuscany, it was pure joy to return to Romitorio de Serelle's comfort and security. We will return to this place in a heart-beat. Undoubtedly, our favourite accommodation retreat in Italy. Thank you very much, Lorella, Marco, Roberto & staff for sharing your lovely home with us.

Stayed: September 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2014

Just spent a memorable and truly enjoyable week at the Romitorio. Marco, Roberto & their staff go out of their way to ensure their guests are comfortable. The food is truly excellent and the accommodations are more than what we anticipated.
The location in central Tuscany enables easy day trips to Florence, Pisa, Lucca, Siena and other towns in Tuscany.
The views of Tuscany from the Romitorio are spectacular as is the Tuscan sunset.
Definitely recommend to all and we will be back.
It is that good.

Stayed: October 2014
Thank Bob R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2014

We visited Romitorio de Serelle in June 2014 - it was a magical experience in every way from the beautiful countryside, to the traditional farmhouse accommodation, 4 course dinners and lovely continental breakfasts. Amanda and Andrew took a long walk with Honi in the vineyards, through the pine Forrest and olive groves to the delightful stone church. Andrew and Harriet enjoyed gathering kindling from the nearby pine Forrest for the fireplace in our villa, creating a wonderful ambience on a couple of cool nights. Greg had a great time with all the other guests, enjoying the Romitorio red wine. Harriet and Olivia (11 and 14) thought the huge sparkling pool was fantastic! I rested and read books. We took day trips, the most memorable being to Siena. Marco's Zio farewelled us with beautiful sprigs of lavender for our journey back to France. Romitorio was the quintessential Tuscan vista perched on top of the mountain surrounded by a sea of vineyards. Highly recommended and thank you, Marco, Roberto and the team!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Linda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2014

Romitorio di Serelle exceeded our expectations in every way - from the welcoming hosts, the spacious and comfortable accommodations, the lovely location uphill overlooking beautiful vineyards, and proximity to Florence, Siena and smaller towns and villages for frequent day trips. We enjoyed several excellent dinners on the terrace prepared in Romitorio's kitchen; dined at local restaurants; and prepared our own meals to enjoy al fresco at sunset. The Wednesday evening wine tasting was fun and educational. We wholeheartedly recommend this place for families or friends (with a car) who are looking for a relaxing and picturesque location.

  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank rudiv722
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2014

We have just returned from spending two weeks in this beautiful place. This was our first visit to Italy and we were not disappointed. The first glimpse of the Romitorio as you approach it from the bottom of the hill lined with grapevines is magical. It sets the scene for the experience to come. We were enchanted. The location is perfect for visiting some of the most beautiful cities and villages in Tuscany. The accommodation was comfortable and in perfect order. We ate good food and drank good wine in the restaurant. We watched the sun go down every evening. Our hosts and all the staff were welcoming and helpful. Thank you for making our holiday so very memorable.

Room Tip: If you want peace and a wonderful view choose a room on the south side
  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Susan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2014

We just returned to the states from a week in paradise. After traveling Italy for the first week of our vacation, we settled in Tuscany for our last week. Romitorio di Serelle was the perfect place to relax, enjoy amazing sunsets and delicious meals. The views overlooking the vineyards were undescribable. The staff and other guests were a pleasure. The place is clean and comfortable. We were able to travel to several small towns during the day.and enjoyed a divine four course meal in the evening or dine at other local cafes. The price was very reasonable for a weeks stay. Thank you to all the staff at Romitorio for making our visit so lovely. We highly recommend Romitorio di Serelle and would love to return some day.

  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Rita B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barberino Val d'Elsa
16.4 km away
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive Tuscan Resort & Spa
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive ...
#1 of 8 in Gaiole in Chianti
691 reviews
11.7 km away
Palazzo Leopoldo Dimora Storica & Spa
Palazzo Leopoldo Dimora Storica ...
#1 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
549 reviews
8.3 km away
Hotel Villa Campomaggio Resort & Spa
Hotel Villa Campomaggio Resort &...
#2 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.0 km away
Il Borghetto di San Gimignano Agriturismo
3.4 km away
La Canonica di Cortine
La Canonica di Cortine
#4 of 12 in Barberino Val d'Elsa
181 reviews
6.2 km away
Villa San Filippo Resort
Villa San Filippo Resort
#6 of 12 in Barberino Val d'Elsa
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Romitorio di Serelle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Romitorio di Serelle

Address: Localita Serelle 1, 50021, Barberino Val d'Elsa, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Barberino Val d'Elsa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 33 Speciality Lodging in Barberino Val d'Elsa
Price Range: $157 - $176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Romitorio di Serelle has been completely restored, preserving the original characteristics and using traditional materials of Chianti rural architecture. The hospitality is offered in apartments of different types, exclusive and comfortable flats, independent from each other, furnished according to the rural tradition, but offering high quality standards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Romitorio di Serelle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Romitorio Di Serelle Hotel Barberino Val d`Elsa
Romitorio Di Serelle Italy/Barberino Val D'Elsa, Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing