We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super Tour Guide”
Review of Castello di Meleto

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Castello di Meleto
Certificate of Excellence
New Castle, PA
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Super Tour Guide”
Reviewed 24 January 2012

During our October 2010 visit to Castello di Meleto we were greeted and warmly welcomed by Anthony Freveletti. From the very first moment of making eye contact with him we immediately knew that we wanted Anthony to be our tour guide of Castello di Meleto. Usually you know within the first few minutes of meeting a tour guide whether or not you are going to be bored. In this opportunity for a tour of Castello di Meleto we knew we would not be bored with Anthony's presentation. Anthony's enthusiasm and knowledge of the subject matter of Castello di Meleto filled the air with excitement as we were led from room to room. As if a fairy tale was unfolding, Anthony's knowledge took you back to the time of the Medieval and Renaissance Eras as he showed us the beautifully preserved decorations within the castle. Also worth mentioning are the breathtaking views of the scenery from the ramparts of the castle. We were impressed by Anthony's warm hospitality. The way in which Anthony presented the fine wine tasting at the conclusion of the tour made each and every individual feel very special and a part of the experience. We also felt very comfortable as if at home. We would highly recommend this tour to anyone interested in tasting exquisitely fine wine. For those not interested in wine tasting, the tour presentation provides a unique historical account of what the Castello di Meleto Estate represents. We would highly recommend Anthony Freveletti to be your tour guide. Richard and Darla Barker, New Castle, PA

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mapabarkers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

376 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    222
    100
    26
    17
    11
See reviews for
63
208
2
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2012

What could one say about Anthony, the wine of Castello di Meleto and the courtesy of this fantastic staff? I could tell you a few things but I will only say two words. The Best! You will feel at home, you will feel apart of history and you will ulitmatley feel the feeling of total relaxation. Whether swimming in the pool, lounging in the Tuscan sun or sipping the best wine your time will be a perfect 10. Tell Anthony Larry say's hi and I gurantee he throws in a free bottle of wine at dinner. These folks are the best

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lawrence1_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Switzerland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2011

We were 4 persons traveling together. On arrival at night we found our room was actually one in the castle itself, not one of the surrounding buildings. In through the massive wooden doors, up several flights of stone steps, down a dark corridor and then we had to insert the massive iron key into the old wooden door (which creaked). We were greeted by a very large stone-floored room, 2 beds draped in white cloth and a large sofa-bed. On the old wooden desk was a bottle of the castle's wine. Wow, what a great impression!

It was the height of summer, temperatures were around 38C and the castle room was just too warm, even to sleep. There was no air conditioning and the fan just pushed around the warm air. However, the infinity pool was very welcoming.

Breakfast were excellent and the coffee especially was good. One evening we had a castle tour, wine and chocolate tasting and a dinner in one of the dining rooms. All for Eur38 per person. Great value and great fun. We all felt just a little bit royal that evening!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank AstroSwiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2011

We had visited in 2006 for a wine tour with family the day after our engagement and never thought we would be married here...but we did, in September 2007 and it was magical...Castello di Meleto is a wonderful place to marry...we spent the entire week at the Castle with our friends/family (20 or so) and more arrived on our wedding day to share our special day...The caterers and the photographer were recommended by the Castle staff and they were suberb!!! Our wedding photos are beautiful and take us back every time we gaze at them. Yes, it is an ancient castle and it may not be to standards of modern and fussy travelers, but is part of the adventure and charm! Live a little and explore, you're in a 13th century castle!
We plan on spending time at Meleto to celebrate our fifth anniversary next year. A presto!

Room Tip: If you prefer, the dependance country houses are very comfortable and have great views...but so does...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Clarygrace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pulau Penang, Malaysia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2011

we stayed 4 nights at the castello in one of the house(la loggia) which was outside the castle perimeter and beautifully located, quiet, amazing views, overlooking olive trees and some of their vineyards. the apartment is appointed properly with min and basic stuff, except the air cond broke down the first night hence v hot and heaps of mosquitoes, as all their net around the windows are not repaired and all opened..some even had band aid sticked on it...?very clean and great job from housekeeping daily, tv could be a bigger one and newer one as the old aquarium style of tv v small...in 2011 will expect in this style of Hotel/resort for that price to have a flat screen at least and all channels to work as some were n/a. So few minor improvements as above, reception check in was v good but afterwards other staff not very polite, unrespectful or not helpful as one day(second night) there was a "vip" small wedding and as a guest(paying) we could not go to the castle, or the grounds or inside at all...i got told off by a very rude event manager lady instead of having some alternative arrangements or small drinks corner for their house guests at the bottle shop or elsewhere....everywhere we went we were told CANNOT GO IT IS CLOSED FOR PRIVATE FUNCTION, and i am a paying guest with kids whom wanted to see the castle, the grounds, etc...so it put me off and the way it was handled was v poor...i made sure she got my italian/french words as well in her face as she was totally out of line...it happened again on the 4th night as another wedding was on, bigger louder...so will suggest to check if they are wedding as it is not fair for paying room customer to be handled that way or have an alternative way or option that we will have accepted ,no problems...room for improvement again.!!..as must happen v often and all staff were focused on the wedding and not us or other guests...we felt abandonned and like "should not be here" after paying 400 euros per night ?!
Another small improvement is the breakfast room too small and extremely basic (food selection, good coffee though lavazza old machine)compared to other resorts/castle/hotels...and v hot no air, no ventilation...otherwise the scenery, grounds, area is just superb so next time may stay elsewhere to avoid "staff confrontations"...plenty of nice restaurants around , and Gaiole is v cute village, lovely people and the castle key thing is the v good location for 4 to 5 nights in tuscany, pool is nice too and v peaceful.
so i am sorry but the Mger or owner should look at the wedding incidents as very annoying and put a bad taste in our mouth and never apologised or checked on us...or any recovery...shame a i am in Hotel Business too and deal with this at time with m team in better manner as part of training...anyway lovely place and so quiet and relaxing but not sure if we will be back as seen other places possibly better for my opinion...so many villas or other castle around Chianti, Tuscany so check it out...

Room Tip: ask before you stay if there is a wedding for the noise and places you can access or not ? will sugg...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CinqsurCinq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2011

Castello Di Meleto and Katie,

Thank you for helping Laura and I have the wedding of our dreams! It was truly a fairy tale wedding and with your help it went off without a hitch.

The castle and accommodations were beyond belief. We had the most amazing and unforgettable time. One of our guests said it best, "this is the best thing that's ever happened to me!" Everything was perfect and we couldn't have asked for anything more.

Thanks again and we hope to see you soon,

Michael and Laura

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mikehill21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2010

We stayed for 3 nights for our friend's wedding. The location / setting is absolutely stunning. Our room was in the building next to reception (not in the castle) overlooking the pretty gardens - it was fairly basic but comfortable and clean - and pretty authentic. The apartments are also pleasant. But I wouldn't say they are 'luxury'. The two swimming pools are lovely. All in all, it's a lovely wedding venue - we were a big group and there was plenty of space for us all. The cons - breakfast not great, and reception hours can be a problem. DON'T forget to pick up your passports from reception if you have to be away early for a flight!!! One big PRO - the restaurant at the end of the drive was amazing - best food I have ever had in Italy (and I'm a fussy vegetarian).

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WendyHarrogate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gaiole in Chianti
1.8 km away
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive Tuscan Resort & Spa
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive ...
#1 of 8 in Gaiole in Chianti
654 reviews
5.8 km away
Palazzo Leopoldo Dimora Storica & Spa
Palazzo Leopoldo Dimora Storica ...
#2 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
523 reviews
9.7 km away
Hotel Villa Campomaggio Resort & Spa
Hotel Villa Campomaggio Resort &...
#1 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 km away
Hotel Residence SanSano
Hotel Residence SanSano
#6 of 8 in Gaiole in Chianti
73 reviews
1.9 km away
Hotel Le Pozze di Lecchi
Hotel Le Pozze di Lecchi
#2 of 8 in Gaiole in Chianti
118 reviews
21.0 km away
Castello Vicchiomaggio
Castello Vicchiomaggio
#3 of 19 in Greve in Chianti
429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castello di Meleto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castello di Meleto

Property: Castello di Meleto
Address: Loc. Meleto | 53013, 53013, Gaiole in Chianti, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Gaiole in Chianti
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 37 Speciality Lodging in Gaiole in Chianti
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Castello di Meleto 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Castello di Meleto is in the center of an ideal geographical triangle formed by the cities of Siena, Florence and Arezzo. Surrounded by six beautiful houses, painstakingly restored in 2000, preserving its rustic Tuscan style. Each house has a private garden or terrace that overlooks the countryside surrounded by green vineyards and olive groves.Easily accessible and close to the accommodation we have two infinity pools from which you can enjoy an unforgettable view. In the basement of the castle, a real historical monument, a charming wine shop allows you to taste our wines, our organic extra virgin olive oil and salami of Cinta Senese from our farm. On request we can organize banquets in medieval and Renaissance style in the picturesque setting of the frescoed rooms. In addition, daily guided tours of the ground floor of the castle, the eighteenth-century theater, the dungeons with ancient cellars, prisons and the secret tunnel to escape from the Castle .. will make you to live an unique and unforgettable experience in a real castle in the Chianti area.Daily walks are possible on roads and paths in the area.From the same roads, the "Eroica”, an fascinating extreme racing with vintage bikes, takes place every year.The staff of the Reception of the Castle will be pleased to arrange excursions departing from the Castello di Meleto to major art centers such as Florence, Siena, San Gimignano, Arezzo and Val D'Orcia. On the territory of the Castle of Meleto guests can enjoy cycling, horse riding and walking, immersed in pristine nature of the Chianti hills. Our restaurant, “ La Fornace di Meleto” , at the bottom of the hill, offers typical Tuscan menu and innovative dishes.The Castle's history is also a history of Weddings, such as those of Alberto Ridolfi's daughter Lucrezia and, in 1852, Baron Bettino's daughter Elisabetta: it could also become the history of Your wedding, against a background imbued with extraordinary beauty.Meleto Castle can offer Religious ceremonies in its catholic church, the Pieve di Spaltenna.The Celebrations can be organized as you wish: the entire Piano Nobile (a series of furnished and frescoed rooms) can be put at Guests' disposal together with the garden, a splendid terrace overlooking the unspoilt panorama of the Chianti hills for enjoying a touch of sun, and the Stables ( Scuderia in Italian) , where guests can relax or let themself go in dancing.We specialise in providing the perfect atmosphere for a truly unique party, whether a Tuscan Castle wedding. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity.ca and Priceline so you can book your Castello di Meleto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castello Di Meleto Hotel Gaiole In Chianti
Castello Di Meleto Italy/Gaiole In Chianti

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing