We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel La Fonte del Cieco
Reviewed 31 October 2011

The hotel is situated just off the main square in picture perfect unspoilt part of Chianti. The hotel room was clean and comfortable and staff helpful and accommodating. If you want to get off the beaten track then this is the perfect place to stay. You will need a car to get around but day trips can be made to most of the tourist spots nearby. There is also a fantastic restaurant just a couple of doors away.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travellers026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (79)
There are newer reviews for Hotel La Fonte del Cieco
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 18 of 79 reviews

Reviewed 28 September 2009

It is not easy to travel with two young kids (4 and 6) and feel like home. La Fonte del Cieco felt that way. The room was perfect for the 4 of us. Laura, thehotel manager, made us feel very welcome. We enjoyed staying in the small village of Gaiole which gave us the advantage of walking in the town in the evening, doing our grocery shopping just 5 minutes away and enjoying the Italian ice cream from the village's center. During the day, most of the interesting places to visit in Chianti are only a few kilometers away so it was easy to go for a visit and come back when ever we were tired for a little rest, and then go off again.... really convenient. In the evenings there were excellent concerts and events going on in the near by castles or villages, very welcoming to children.
We really enjoyed the breakfast, served in a little terrace with a lovely pergola that reminds you that you are in the center of Tuscany; also a perfect place to sit for a nice glass of Italian wine after the kids went to sleep... no need for baby sitters, they are just above you.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bertamaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2009

What I haven't seen in the other reviews was how wonderful the service was. We had our wedding and they were great about accommodating family and friends and making the whole experience nice for everyone. From extending food service hours to changing rooms and dates around, helping with bags and older relatives, they took care of everything and graciously.
While the rooms are not fancy, they're comfortable and the location is perfect. The rates were also very competitive with options in the area.

  • Stayed: September 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oedman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2009

We stayed here for a night whilst on a walking holiday. A more expensive hotel on the outside of the town was also on offer but this proved fine.
We enjoyed the stay. The slightly quirky position of the hotel, perched on the side of the hill in the centre of town, added to its charm. Our room was decorated in rustic style with a very small bathroom but everything worked. The breakfast next morning was served cheerily and we set off again feeling refreshed. This is strictly a B&B hotel but was a good experience.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank accidentaltourist_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2008

Small hotel on a cute place of Gaiole in Chianti village. Looks more like a B&B than a 3* hotel.
Access to the hotel by stairs from the street.
The room was large and clean, simple decoration but nice.
There was not enough lightening, too dark in winter, and the A/C was also the heating system and made a lot of noise at night. The owner spoke limited English but good enough for what we needed, she gave us very good recomendations for restaurants near by.

  • Stayed: March 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Xuan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2007

On my first visit to Italy and booked into this little hotel for the L'Eroica cycling event, it was a pleasant surprise to find such a thoroughly reconstructed interior in this 1907 building. Although externally rustic, the interior looked to have been very recently and tastefully refurbished in every aspect.
Positioned in the corner of the old town square, immediately at it's "feet" in the square are a casual open-all-day restaurant, plus pharmacy, produce, Coop, misc. small shops, etc. A very relaxed and convenient setting...
My small single room was spotless and conveniently laid out. The window lacked a view except of a small garden, but other rooms, all doubles, had more to offer in this respect. Note that there are thee sets of stairs leading up to this establishment, no elevator (lift)
Breakfast was the usual light fare of hard rolls & brochette w/misc. spreads, fruit, cereal, coffees. The breakfast nook is cozy if small but guests spread out on to the vine canopied terrace over the square.
Staffing is by a warm & competent Francesca and various family members. Although their English skills were a bit less than many previous hotels I had visited, their attitude was great and we managed quite well.
Officially there is no guest Internet access (the nearest Internet Cafe is in nearby Radda!) but guests were allowed to quickly check for critical emails. FWIW, I had no problem using my Blackberry in this town so.
Automobile parking was a 100 yards around the corner in a "designated" spot below a (very nice) Pizzaria. Not difficult nor inconvenient at all...
I thoroughly enjoyed my whole time here and would like to next time spend a week and use this hotel as a base for travel and exploration of the region.

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank velocio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
Thank MalFab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gaiole in Chianti
0.5 km away
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive Tuscan Resort & Spa
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive ...
#1 of 8 in Gaiole in Chianti
692 reviews
6.3 km away
Hotel Residence SanSano
Hotel Residence SanSano
#5 of 8 in Gaiole in Chianti
74 reviews
3.3 km away
Ultimo Mulino Country Hotel
Ultimo Mulino Country Hotel
#4 of 8 in Gaiole in Chianti
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 km away
Palazzo Leopoldo Dimora Storica & Spa
Palazzo Leopoldo Dimora Storica ...
#1 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
549 reviews
3.9 km away
Hotel Le Pozze di Lecchi
Hotel Le Pozze di Lecchi
#2 of 8 in Gaiole in Chianti
132 reviews
13.0 km away
Hotel del Lago
Hotel del Lago
#1 of 2 in Cavriglia
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Fonte del Cieco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Fonte del Cieco

Address: Via b. Ricasoli 18, 53013, Gaiole in Chianti, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Gaiole in Chianti
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Gaiole in Chianti
Price Range: $89 - $184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Fonte del Cieco 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity.ca and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel La Fonte del Cieco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel La Fonte Del Cieco Italy/Gaiole In Chianti

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing