We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Residenza d'Epoca Palazzo Malfatti
Nearby Hotels
La Fenice Park Hotel(Massa Marittima)
US$159
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Il Belvedere Country Houses(Massa Marittima)(Great Value!)
US$101
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Girifalco(Massa Marittima)(Great Value!)
US$61
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
La Fattoria di Tatti(Massa Marittima)
US$111
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Duca del Mare(Massa Marittima)(Great Value!)
US$89
US$80
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Massa Vecchia(Massa Marittima)(Great Value!)
US$97
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tenuta Il Cicalino(Massa Marittima)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Agriturismo Il Felciaione(Massa Marittima)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Internet
Casale Aronne(Massa Marittima)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (120)
Filter reviews
120 results
Traveller rating
101
18
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
101
18
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsold palacewell equipped kitchenmain piazzaper nightenricoresidencesleptwifiapartmenttowntuscanyowner
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 120 reviews
Reviewed July 8, 2017

This might be my favorite place to stay in the world. I've been here twice and will probably keep coming back. The Palazzo Malfatti is a set of apartments (8?) in an rustic old palace in the middle of this charming Tuscan hillside town. It's the deal of a lifetime - amazingly affordable to stay in this grand place in this wonderful town that has yet to be overrun with tourists. The restaurants in town are great, the people are wonderful, and it's a good launching point for day trips around Tuscany. The two guys that run Palazzo Malfatti are really nice and helpful in many ways. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Douglas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 15, 2017

The place is really beautiful. Right in the center. Within walking distance from the bus station if you want to visit the rest of Tuscany. And also to the supermarket where you could basically get all you need for the fully furnished kitchen you get with your room. You can cook your own meals like at home. If not, there are a couple of places just around the corner, possibly closer than your own garden, where they serve wine, food and ice-cream.
Our room had two bathrooms and a big living room with a fireplace. The place has big windows which let lots of daylight in the rooms but also good for air circulation. There's also a big room for all residents to hang out. And you can also hang out in the lobby which is the entrance, inner yard and stairwell.
The place is very tourist friendly, with a tour guide in form of a detailed pamphlet in multiple languages. German and English are both included, but I forgot if others too. Even if you don't know where you are the pamphlet will take you places like the beach, which is not far away by bus to the neighboring town.
The locals are friendly and will help you if you need anything. In general the place is really nice, and you wouldn't want to leave it once you've been there.

We stayed as a group of university students from Germany. The place is especially friendly for Germans

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Nasim N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 4, 2017

My wife and I spent two nights at Palazza Malfatti in a spacious, beautiful corner suite with large, antique windows that look out onto the main piazza. We ate dinner out both nights, but the suite includes a large, well-equipped kitchen can be rented out as an apartment for a longer-term stay in this town.

We paid less than $90 per night for this spectacular suite and we enjoyed a wonderful time in Massa Marittima.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Monad2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 20, 2017

I come to Massa Marittima for short stays about once a year, and for the past quarter century have stayed in a historic property in the historic center that alas has slipped in quality. I was surprised to discover on Trip Advisor that some facilities have opened recently that provide the visitor to Massa with viable in-town alternatives, and having discovered the Palazzo Malfatti residenza, I have found what can be my home away from home whenever I come back to Massa.

Indeed, you could not be more centrally located if you slept in a pew of the Duomo itself (though the pew might be even cheaper). Palazzo Malfatti is the 13C palazzo on the northeast side of Massa’s piazza del Duomo, with a long-time café-bar on the ground floor at the loggia. Vittorio and Enrico, the partners who have made a “residence” out of the medieval structure, have created a handful of apartments and rooms suitable either for longer stays (the apartments have kitchens) or short-term ones. Visiting in January as the only guest, I was offered the spacious split-level 4-room apartment (not counting bath) that faces directly onto the main piazza, and at a truly affordable price.

Before you ask: yes on WiFi, no on breakfast, yes on winter heating and hot water, no on luxury add-ons like bath gel or a mini-bar.

Massa Marittima’s charm lies in its careful preservation of its unspoiled medieval character, and the Residenza dell’Epoca Palazzo Malfatti is the latest example of that preservationist ethos. Vittorio and Enrico have even traced the palazzo to a mention in Dante’s Divine Comedy of the wife of a prior owner (we’re going back 700 years here), Pia dei Tolomei, who was killed by her husband to free him to marry another woman—a medieval preview of the Marcello Mastroianni classic “Divorce Italian Style” (1961).

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank trentonmakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 27, 2016 via mobile

What a great place and what super friendly Vittorio , one of the managers is.
The Palazzo Malfatti is a 13th century palazzo in the center of Massa. There are 6 apartments, all which have recently been renovated from a studio to an apartment which sleep over 6 people.
Everything you need for a comfortable stay can be found in the apartment such as a well equipped kitchen , even a few breakfast items too.
The building is beautiful with original 13th century features and a super shady internal hallway and atrium.
You absolutely must stay at the Palazzo Malfatti if you are in Massa Marittima!

Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Jason V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews