We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“THE place in Belestrand, but....”
Review of Kviknes Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kviknes Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Balestrand
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 August 2011

This is a most gracious hotel with an old wing and most, including us, getting assigned rooms in the newer wing. Our "inside" room still had a corner view of the fjord and a sweeping view of the village and mountains backing the fjord.

Internet access, clearly promised in the room and throughout the hotel, was not really functional in our room, but worked in the lobby area. The hotel buffet dinner was impressive and presented a wide choice of eating options, but everything in Scandinavia and this too was painfully expensive, e.g. over $80 per person for the dinner !!! Breakfast was included in the room charge and was also very good and generous in options.

We were pleased that nonsmoking rooms were available.

Room Tip: Ask for a view room but be prepared to PAY extra for it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gparrott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (839)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

511 - 517 of 839 reviews

Reviewed 2 August 2011

We stayed in the top floor of the "new" wing which looks slightly at odds with the old wooden main building. The room was good with a balcony and a great view. Good buffet breakfast and dinner, which is served in the grand dining room in the original hotel building, with views down the fjord. For walkers, there is an excellent map available at reception, with routes to suit all abilities.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank iandcl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2011

We stayed in a junior suite with a great balcony in the old wing. The location was perfect. 4 days after we left the hotel I realized I had left an expensive scarf in the hotel (don't ask why I was traveling with an expensive scarf). I called the hotel and they located it and were v helpful. I received it in the post this week. Thanks guys

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank REDhongkong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2011

This is a historic hotel with charming architectural details and decor in the older section(at least the public areas that we saw) but motel-like ambiance in the newer section where we were placed. The setting is beautiful and essentially adjacent to the ferry with most rooms having at least some view of the fjord. Our room was a comfortable size with a small siting area but with older furniture. The beds and bedding were comfortable and clean and the room was quiet at night. Our bathroom was small with only a narrow stand up shower. All the fixtures were of average or motel-quality although we did enjoy the heated floor. There were no toiletaries with only a liquid soap dispenser in the shower and one next to the sink. To be fair, we encountered this in the other hotels in Norway as well. Perhaps this is standard. We ate the breakfast buffet which was certainly adequate with enough selections but without attention to some of the pleasant details that one sees at better hotels and restaurants. However, the beautiful views from the dining room and the good service of the staff made up for some of this lack of attention to visual details of the food. The front desk staff were helpful and the hotel had a nice gift shop. Overall good, but not great and for the price, should have been better.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank world_citizen61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2011

We stayed here for 2 days in a suite in the old part - gorgeous view and nice balcony but room is old and decrepit . No lift to the upstairs section& old carpet& furniture .tv is an antique Food ok but not great . Bale strand itself is a lovely spot. This hotel should be demolished - it's advettised as historical which it may be but it's old , overpriced & doesn't provide what a decent hotel should

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank irvy76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheodorKvikne, Manager at Kviknes Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2011

Kviknes Hotel is a family run and owned hotel and it has been in the Kvikne Family since 1877. It is now the 4th generation who is running the property. The oldest part of the existing Swiss Styled building is from 1894 and we try to keep it in a historical atmosphere. We are sorry that you don’t see it this way. We do our best to keep and preserve the property as best as we can, and are in fact very insulted by your comment.


Best regards,
Sigurd Kvikne
4th generation host

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2011

Our room was in the newer part of the hotel. Very basic, but comfortable room. However, our view was just fantastic- we could see the mountains and the fjords. Lots of tour groups so there were crowds. But the grounds and location were just wonderful

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Thank cyclist6049
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2011

This hotel is about 100 years old but it has been maintained immaculately and has all modern-day accouterments, including free in room wi-fi. The dinner buffet is famous and for good reason. The food is fresh, varied, and plentiful. My wife and I rented a demi-suite in the old part of the hotel. When we got to our room, our balcony overlooked the Sognfjord and two of its intersecting branches. The sun was filtering through patches of clouds highlighting the steep mountain walls and shimmering off of the surface of the fjord. It took my wife less than three minutes before she informed me that this is where she wants her ashes spread....and this was before happy hour!
The Kvikne's is a once in a lifetime, must stay!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MickeyD2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Balestrand
0.4 km away
Balestrand Hotel
Balestrand Hotel
#1 of 4 in Balestrand
412 reviews
39.4 km away
Walaker Hotell
Walaker Hotell
#1 of 1 in Solvorn
369 reviews
1.5 km away
Dragsvik Fjordhotell
Dragsvik Fjordhotell
#4 of 4 in Balestrand
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.5 km away
Fjaerland Fjordstue Hotell
0.3 km away
Midtnes Hotel
Midtnes Hotel
#3 of 4 in Balestrand
128 reviews
40.1 km away
Gudvangen Fjordtell
Gudvangen Fjordtell
#1 of 1 in Gudvangen
246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kviknes Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kviknes Hotel

Address: Kviknevegen 8, Balestrand 6899, Norway
Region: Norway > Western Norway > Sogn og Fjordane > Balestrand
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Balestrand
Price Range: $154 - $387 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kviknes Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity.ca, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Kviknes Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kviknes Hotel Balestrand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing