We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$146
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Balestrand Hotel(Balestrand)
Free cancellation until 02/08
Book now, pay at stay
US$143
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Midtnes Hotel(Balestrand)
Free cancellation until 03/08
Book now, pay at stay
US$151
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kringsja Hotel(Balestrand)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (911)
Filter reviews
911 results
Traveller rating
415
309
113
46
28
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
415
309
113
46
28
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshistoric hoteldining roomold buildingbreakfast and dinnernew wingbuffet styleseafoodnewmarket holidayscoach partiespublic roomsolder partkaiser wilhelm iilarge balconyold worldfjord viewmain roommodern block
Filter
Updating list...
566 - 571 of 911 reviews
Reviewed August 2, 2011

We stayed in the top floor of the "new" wing which looks slightly at odds with the old wooden main building. The room was good with a balcony and a great view. Good buffet breakfast and dinner, which is served in the grand dining room in the original hotel building, with views down the fjord. For walkers, there is an excellent map available at reception, with routes to suit all abilities.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank iandcl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 31, 2011

We stayed in a junior suite with a great balcony in the old wing. The location was perfect. 4 days after we left the hotel I realized I had left an expensive scarf in the hotel (don't ask why I was traveling with an expensive scarf). I called the hotel and they located it and were v helpful. I received it in the post this week. Thanks guys

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank REDhongkong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 26, 2011

This is a historic hotel with charming architectural details and decor in the older section(at least the public areas that we saw) but motel-like ambiance in the newer section where we were placed. The setting is beautiful and essentially adjacent to the ferry with most rooms having at least some view of the fjord. Our room was a comfortable size with a small siting area but with older furniture. The beds and bedding were comfortable and clean and the room was quiet at night. Our bathroom was small with only a narrow stand up shower. All the fixtures were of average or motel-quality although we did enjoy the heated floor. There were no toiletaries with only a liquid soap dispenser in the shower and one next to the sink. To be fair, we encountered this in the other hotels in Norway as well. Perhaps this is standard. We ate the breakfast buffet which was certainly adequate with enough selections but without attention to some of the pleasant details that one sees at better hotels and restaurants. However, the beautiful views from the dining room and the good service of the staff made up for some of this lack of attention to visual details of the food. The front desk staff were helpful and the hotel had a nice gift shop. Overall good, but not great and for the price, should have been better.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank world_citizen61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 20, 2011

We stayed here for 2 days in a suite in the old part - gorgeous view and nice balcony but room is old and decrepit . No lift to the upstairs section& old carpet& furniture .tv is an antique Food ok but not great . Bale strand itself is a lovely spot. This hotel should be demolished - it's advettised as historical which it may be but it's old , overpriced & doesn't provide what a decent hotel should

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank irvy76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheodorKvikne, Manager at Kviknes Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2011

Kviknes Hotel is a family run and owned hotel and it has been in the Kvikne Family since 1877. It is now the 4th generation who is running the property. The oldest part of the existing Swiss Styled building is from 1894 and we try to keep it in a historical atmosphere. We are sorry that you don’t see it this way. We do our best to keep and preserve the property as best as we can, and are in fact very insulted by your comment.


Best regards,
Sigurd Kvikne
4th generation host

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 19, 2011

Our room was in the newer part of the hotel. Very basic, but comfortable room. However, our view was just fantastic- we could see the mountains and the fjords. Lots of tour groups so there were crowds. But the grounds and location were just wonderful

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Thank cyclist6049
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews