We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$127
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Balestrand Hotel(Balestrand)
US$176
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$74
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$178
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sognefjord Hotel(Leikanger)
US$116
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 19% below average rates

The price you found is 19% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$143/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$178
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quality Hotel Sogndal(Sogndal Municipality)
US$201
US$166
Quality Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hofslund Fjord Hotel(Sogndal Municipality)
US$168
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kringsja Hotel(Balestrand)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (940)
Filter reviews
940 results
Traveller rating
429
318
116
48
29
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
429
318
116
48
29
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshistoric hoteldining roomold buildingbreakfast and dinnernew wingseafoodnewmarket holidayscoach partiespublic roomskaiser wilhelm iiolder partlarge balconyold worldbuffet stylefjord viewhot dishessalmon
Filter
Updating list...
546 - 551 of 940 reviews
Reviewed July 8, 2012

We arrived on the express boat (highly recommended) from Bergen as independent travelers on the "Sognefjord in a Nutshell" tour. We stayed two nights in a demi-suite in the historic part of the hotel. As another reviewer wrote, there is no elevator in this section and it was 50 steps to our second floor room. The view of the gorgeous Sognefjord and the boats arriving just below our spacious balcony made the trek worthwhile. The room was dated and rather funky, but charming in its own way. The rate for 2 nights in a Demi-suite half board is a relative bargain and the best tables at the windows seemed to be reserved for independent guests. While smorgasbord is not our preferred way of eating, it was varied, interesting and delicious. There is also a "pub" in the lobby serving very good sandwiches and drinks at reasonable prices for Norway. Personnel at the hotel were friendly and service-oriented. if you want to stay in Balestrand, the Kviknes is a great choice. Just don't expect too much from the rooms.

Room Tip: Ask for a fjord view room, whether you choose the newer section or the historic section.
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Julie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 7, 2012

This hotel is special, however what makes it so is the old building and the views of the fjord. We were in one of their demi- suites with a small balcony andt with a breath taking view of he Sognefjord. If you stay at this hotel make sure to get one of the demi-suites.It will make all the difference. As for the food, dinner was a buffet which is our least favorite way to eat, however, the food was good and plentiful. One point about the old building is the lack of an elevator. You will need to walk up several flights of steps, but it is worth the effort. We were surprised that the room did not have really good blackout curtains as did other hotels we visited.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LeeGil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 5, 2012

We stayed in the Kviknes for 1 night the last week of June. The hotel is beautiful from the water view, and as pointed out by others - not so beautiful from the street view of the modern side. However, I did notice that pretty much every place to stay in Balestrand had a similar "modern" wing.

We stayed in the modern wing, and I would have to agree with other reviewers that the decor was tired and the room also smelled as if it had previously been a smoking room. However, on the plus side the historic common areas were beautiful and provided plenty of places to sit and relax. The breakfast buffet was great. Service was great as well, with an added bonus of staff taking luggage to/from the ferry for us.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stacey k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded July 8, 2012

Dear Madam or Sir,

Thank you for your comment. Glad to learn you had a pleasant stay! I am however trully sorry about the standards experienced regarding your room. We strive to keep our room standard in a way that changes the first impression our new building gives from the outside. If you could please e-mail us (theodor@kviknes.no) and let us know which room you stayed in. If you have been given a smoking room without requesting it, it is a critical error made by our booking department, which we will check up immediately after receving an e-mail from you.

Thank you for letting us know. For the next time, please let us know while you are still at the hotel, so we can sort out the problem immediately.

Hope to see you at Kviknes Hotel again.

Kind Regards
Theodor Sigurdsson Kvikne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 3, 2012

Luxury hotel in Balestrand. On the Norway in nutshell route. Express boat from Flam or from Bergen coming the other way. Historic hotel with new wing. Stayed in new wing. My non-scenic room also had views of mountains and a slice of the fjord. Scenic rooms come with a supplement. Off putting to have soap in a locker room dispenser in shower instead of toiletries. Dinner buffet was 525 k with drinks extra. Good but expensive wine list - but that's everywhere in Norway. Heart breakfast buffet included in price. Nice art collection and wooden furniture in common rooms. Lovely gardens and hotel has boats for guests. Couple of lesser priced restaurant options nearby. Good hiking trails around. Walking distance to village stave church and villas with dragon heads on roofs. Balestrand is quite small and all attractions are fairly close.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank doc_joe_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 3, 2012

What can be said about the view across the fjord but, STUNNING :) Would give it 6 stars if we could...

The food in the large diningroom is excellent, a wonderful buffet style meal with masses of choice of excellent quality food, and if you're not in a big party who get put in the middle of the room, you'll be round the outside near the windows looking out at the view :)

The old timber part of the hotel is as you will see from images, is beautiful !

The staff are excellent, most helpful and pleasent, also spoke excellent English - like everyone we came across :)

Our room was in the 6 story concrete bedroom block behind the main building, the problem with it being that it was built in the 60s and with every door that is shut the whole structure resonates... boing :(
Also, being 50 year old concrete it is really starting to show its age... and the furniture is starting to get tired too... also it is the only hotel we've come across where we couldn't find any drink making facilities in the room...
Dispite this we slept well and the whole hotel was clean :)

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nickw7coc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews