We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A grand, spectacular hotel in exquisite surroundings”
Review of Kviknes Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Kviknes Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Balestrand
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 September 2010

This hotel was wonderful and provided the most astonishing views of the fjord at every turn. The resturaunt feels almost IN the fjord! There is a stunning room full or beautiful Nordic carvings. A slightly outdated piano entertainer, but the clientelle tended to be more golden oldie than young & hip, so probably appropriate. A very relaxed and extensive buffet at breakfast and dinner. A rather magical place, even if it was a bit like the hotel in Dirty Dancing! (in a nice way!). No TV in the room, which was wonderful :-)

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hortence53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheodorKvikne, 5th generation Kvikne at Kviknes Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2010

Dear Madam or Sir,

Thank you very much for your kind words. Glad you enjoyed your stay here with us. Yet I am very curious as to wich room you stayed in, since all our guest rooms have television.

Welcome back to Balestrand!

Kind regards
Theodor Sigurdsson Kvikne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (849)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

536 - 542 of 849 reviews

Reviewed 4 September 2010

An excellent stay at Kvikne's Hotel,really enjoyed everything about the location and facilities . The food was excellent,a truly wonderful buffet was provided at every meal.The views were superb from the public areas. Bedrooms were comfortable,the higher floor you're on the better the view.Remember to switch on the bathroom underfloor heating.Good ferry links from Balestrand or from nearby opens the region up.Staff were always helpful.Thanks to all for giving me a memorable stay

  • Stayed: August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank stibbard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2010

This is a comfortable hotel in a stunning location. It was a pity, as independent travellers, that we found the dining room only offered a buffet every evening priced at 495 Norwegian Krone (around 62 Euros or £51 per person!- even before wine or beer). This is very expensive even by Norwegian standards. There is a less expensive a la carte menu in the bar, but it's a pity that this option is not available in the lovely dining room which has all the views.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Journo186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheodorKvikne, 5th generation Kvikne at Kviknes Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2010

Dear Madam or Sir,


I am really glad to learn that you enjoyed your stay here at Kviknes Hotel. And it is, as you say, a pity that you think our buffet is over prized. Our buffet has over one hundred dishes distributed on both cold and warm buffets, based on local products. Here you can compose your own menu with no limit of amount of courses. Taking this and the products available in consideration, this is for a lower prize than for example a three-coursed meal in a restaurant. Our prize level is also the same as on other historic hotels in Norway. But I am glad that you appreciated our other restaurant, which is meant for guests who prefer smaller meals. I hope you enjoyed your meal there, which also is based on local products. I hope to see you again here in Balestrand some time!

Best regards
Theodor Sigurdsson Kvikne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2010

Balestrand is located at a broad junction of several fjords and the hotel is on the waterfront with wonderful views. It is 100m from the quayside for the express boats (Bergen, Flam) and ferry. That is also where the tourist office, post office, supermarkets and shops are.

Reception was efficient. The public rooms are in the historic building and decorated in a pleasingly old-fashioned style, including a viking room. There are 400 beds and the hotel attracts tour parties, but even so the public rooms - with marvellous fjord views - seemed able to absorb the numbers of people that were staying while I was there. There is also a terrace and lawn down to the waterside and a private marina (the previous time I was in Balestrand a guest had parked his private float plane there - score 100 extra points) so one can sit outside (did I mention the stunning fjord views?). Free use of an internet terminal. Weather forecast displayed in reception.

My standard room was in the modern (1960s) building - the main advantage of staying there being that you do not see that building. The room was reasonable sized. Two twin beds, narrow, and the thin top mattress was narrower still. Armchair, side table, writing table, chair, decent amount of wardrobe space. Lighting poor for reading, fine for ambience. Curtains themselves were thick and did not let light through, but only reached down to cill level, and so light came round top, bottom and sides. That and the narrowness of the bed meant that I did not find the sleeping that refreshing. I had bought a room with fjord view and had one. I also separately e-mailed the hotel and asked for a room on a high floor, and was given one on the top (8th) floor, which meant that I also had a view diagonally over the old building, so that was good. No fridge or room safe. TV had BBCWS and CNN in English, RTL in German. Bathroom was bright, white, good underfloor heating (the best place to dry your clothes in Norway is on the floor), the only toiletries were dispensers of liquid soap and shower gel. Clean.

Breakfast was served in the old building. A large room with glorious fjord views from many tables. Good buffet: fruit, cereals, bread, cooked things. Pleasant staff.

I much preferred staying here to the cheaper hotel I had stayed in when in Balestrand a few years earlier.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Michael3112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheodorKvikne, 5th generation Kvikne at Kviknes Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2010

Dear Sir,

We at Kviknes Hotel are really glad to see that you enjoyed your stay. We are delighted that you appreciated our setting, lounges, views, and that the service given by our staff was adequately. Our head chef is glad to learn that you enjoyed his and his team’s food as they take great pride in serving homemade food based on local products.

You are welcome back to Balestrand and Kviknes Hotel!

Best regards
Theodor Sigurdsson Kvikne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2010

we stayed with a family of five in two connecting rooms in the historic part of the hotel. Other than great history there is a brand new meeting center. Food was ok but high price.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BelgiumJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheodorKvikne, 5th generation Kvikne at Kviknes Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2010

Dear Madam or Sir,


Glad to learn that you appriciated your room and view. Our menus and buffets are in the same prize level as other historic hotels in Norway. We hope you enjoyed your stay, and that we see you again one day!

Kind regards
Theodor Sigurdsson Kvikne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2010

This is our eighth visit to Balestrand on the beautiful Sognefjord, staying in the lovely old part of Kviknes Hotel. Staff and management are friendly and warm, the rooms comfortable -- love Norwegian beds! -- and breakfasts and dinners are varied and well-prepared, with something for everyone's taste. We enjoy the lovely public rooms for reading and writing, and the mountains behind the hotel offer splendid, challenging, memorable hiking. Friendly people in the village, too. Our week at Kviknes followed a stay in Iceland, where the hotel rooms were comparably priced, and one-quarter the size.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheHillestads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheodorKvikne, 5th generation Kvikne at Kviknes Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2010

Dear Mr. and Mrs. Hillestad,


I appriciate you taking time to write theese warm words here on T.A. My self, and the rest of the family, are glad to learn that you enjoyed your stay. We are especially glad to learn that you appriciated the service given by staff and the family.

We look forward seeing you again!


Best regards
Theodor and the rest of the Kvikne Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2010

Being a tourist in my own country, it's great to see foreign tourists visiting!Staying in a hotel like Kviknes makes me almost feel like being in somewhere else. Hardly anyone speaks Norwegian (not even the staff). This hotel gualifies, however, for a warning... It is a beautifull place, no question about that...
But the beds (at least the one in 676) gave is one of our worst nights in a long time.
And the food, yeah it's ok, but it's far from greatnes. A bit sad - coming to a place of this standards might make you think this is the best this country can serve you. It's not.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OutOfOffiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheodorKvikne, 5th generation Kvikne at Kviknes Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2010

Dear Madam or Sir,


We at Kviknes Hotel appreciate all Norwegians traveling in their own country, and we are really glad you decided to make a stop here in Balestrand. Because of very low unemployment in Norway we are forced to employ staff from all over the world and many of them only speak their own language and English. Our policy is that good service is the most important thing for our employees and we receive many positive comments about our service minded staff. Our kitchen put a great strive in serving meals fulfilling our guests needs, mostly based on local products. And If the food served to you wasn’t as expected, we would have truly appreciated you letting us know about this matter when you stayed with us. We would have helped you and served you the food with the standards that we wish to serve. This also regarding the bed in your room. We hope to welcome you again here in Balestrand, then with a pleasant bed and tasty food.


Best regards
Theodor Sigurdsson Kvikne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Balestrand
1.5 km away
Dragsvik Fjordhotell
Dragsvik Fjordhotell
#4 of 4 in Balestrand
122 reviews
24.5 km away
Fjaerland Fjordstove Hotel & Restaurant
39.4 km away
Walaker Hotell
Walaker Hotell
#1 of 1 in Solvorn
372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Midtnes Hotel
Midtnes Hotel
#3 of 4 in Balestrand
128 reviews
40 km away
Gudvangen Fjordtell
Gudvangen Fjordtell
#1 of 1 in Gudvangen
249 reviews
30.1 km away
Quality Hotel Sogndal
Quality Hotel Sogndal
#3 of 5 in Sogndal Municipality
340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kviknes Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kviknes Hotel

Address: Kviknevegen 8, Balestrand 6899, Norway
Region: Norway > Western Norway > Sogn og Fjordane > Balestrand
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Balestrand
Price Range: $291 - $392 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kviknes Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Kviknes Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kviknes Hotel Balestrand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing