We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect setting, size, hospitality”
Review of Balestrand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Balestrand Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Balestrand
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 August 2017

This small hotel, 36? rooms, half facing the Sognefjord, one of the most beautiful settings anywhere! Small size, large gracious lobby or living room, with fireplace, books, games, comfortable chairs and sofas, overlooking the Sognefjord - Norway's longest, deepest, incredibly beautiful. Buffet breakfast appropriately generous, carefully presented with fresh baked bread, fresh coffee. This is a place to spend considerabel time, taking it easy, reading, hiking, taking side trips. The management and ownership are family, gracious, fun, with deep history in Ballestrand. Knowlegeable about the small town, and excursions. The first time that we came, we stayed for one night as part of a "Norway in a nutshell" package. Not enough! Had to come back for longer. We did and enjoyed.

Room Tip: facing the Sognefjord
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Dave W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (416)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 14 of 416 reviews

Reviewed 26 August 2017

The lower star rating concerned us, but this place is GREAT! Super clean, quiet, fantastic location, and great service. We haven't moved our car since arriving three days ago. Every morning we go down and bring back coffee to enjoy from our fjord side balcony as the clouds wear off, we catch up on the news at home, and get ready for a fine-enough breakfast. We would for sure stay here again, and highly recommend it to others.

Room Tip: Pay extra for a fjord side room... BYO wine (no wine store in Balestrand); enjoy happy hour on your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank JackieR8918PQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2017 via mobile

Our group of six, including four adults, a 5 year old and a 5 month old, had a wonderful time at the Balestrand Hotell. The owner and her whole family was welcoming and kind. The views are out of this world. Even if you don't have a room with a fjord side view, just spend some time in the common living room - or just outside the hotel - for stunning sights. Breakfast was one of the highlights of our day, including fresh fruits and vegetables, local dairy products, and sumptuous breads. We highly recommend this lovely hotel.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank Tom B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2017 via mobile

Ok, if you read the reviews ahead of time you'll know that there are no room phones or TV's. Are you on vacation to see the beauty of this wonderful country or to blab on the phone and watch TV? Room service? Really? This is a village of maybe 1200 people in a relaxing, beautiful location. The breakfast was a buffet of cold foods, fruit, bread, soft & hard boiled eggs. I found it not unusual for Europe. Fresh and more than adequate. Immaculate rooms, the biggest we had on our nine night trip thru Norway including a much more posh hotel in Bergen. The owner's husband is a little reserved but not unfriendly. Remember this is their business and we are guests and not personal friends. He took us on a tour of the town when we were picked up with tongue in cheek commentary which kept us chuckling. They usually only pick up your luggage but since there were only 3 of us he offered us a ride. Anyway, don't hesitate unless you are a 5 star hotel snob and in that case maybe you should just stay at home and miss the wonderful experience of fjord Norway.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank turnkeyloan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2017

We had such an incredible view from our room's picture window. There was no TV but we did not need it. We just stared out that window...across the most serene setting of the juncture between two fjords. I literally stared all night long...because there was no true night...I could see the little car ferry making trips back and forth in the dusk after midnight even. We also enjoyed our breakfast there and our conversations with the owner who was often in the lounge area. We felt like we were in a serene oasis staying in Balestrand while the rest of the crazy cruise world was flooding Flam at the other end of the fjord. You can plan your own Norway in a Nutshell and take the fjord ferry out of Bergen to reach Balestrand where the owner of this hotel will meet you at the dock and transport your luggage for you. It is a great area for hiking or biking too.

Room Tip: Be sure to stay on water side
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Xina8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2017 via mobile

Our tour operators originally had us booked into the Kviknes hotel 10 minutes away but that booking fell through. Thank God it did. We had just about had enough of the bus tour crowd swarming over a hotel. The balestrand hotel is a small, family run place and the ideal antidote to the hoards and crowds. The rooms are simple but clean and functional. Breakfast was likewise.... Simple but sufficient. As for the views.... They are stunning, especially first thing in the morning. Some people have commented that the hotel doesn't have a restaurant.... Which is true. But they do have the menus for most of the restaurants in the village so you can make a choice before you take the 5 minute walk to the centre. The staff were very helpful and only too willing to provide information about travel and tour options in the region. One of the best hotels of our 2 week trip.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Shaw_Fire_Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2017

This may have been our favorite hotel of an 18 day Iceland/Scandinavia trip. The view from our balcony was to die for. This is a lovely little town for spending some time away from the hustle and bustle of the Norway in a Nutshell crowd. We did the Stave church visit to Vic, and then a LOVELY hike in the hills behind the hotel. Great views. Breakfast was superb. They served the BEST soft boiled eggs, each one prepared to perfection. Staff was lovely in every way, with reasonably priced beer and wine you could take outside or up to your balcony. Five stars for this place at 3 star prices.

Room Tip: get a room with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ScottyP1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Balestrand
0.4 km away
Kviknes Hotel
Kviknes Hotel
#1 of 4 in Balestrand
850 reviews
1.8 km away
Dragsvik Fjordhotell
Dragsvik Fjordhotell
#3 of 4 in Balestrand
122 reviews
0.1 km away
Midtnes Hotel
Midtnes Hotel
#4 of 4 in Balestrand
130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.8 km away
Fjaerland Fjordstove Hotel & Restaurant
39.7 km away
Walaker Hotell
Walaker Hotell
#1 of 1 in Solvorn
372 reviews
39.9 km away
Gudvangen Fjordtell
Gudvangen Fjordtell
#1 of 1 in Gudvangen
250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Balestrand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balestrand Hotel

Address: Kong Beles veg 41, Balestrand 6899, Norway
Region: Norway > Western Norway > Sogn og Fjordane > Balestrand
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Balestrand
Price Range: C$155 - C$212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Balestrand Hotel 1*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Balestrand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing