We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (465)
Filter reviews
465 results
Traveller rating
296
127
33
7
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
296
127
33
7
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews unni marie fjord view room your luggage yogurt family run hard boiled eggs small hotel hiking trails two nights wonderful hosts fourth floor lovely hotel ferry dock small town wonderful stay an amazing view owners and staff
Filter
Updating list...
51 - 56 of 465 reviews
Reviewed August 26, 2017

The lower star rating concerned us, but this place is GREAT! Super clean, quiet, fantastic location, and great service. We haven't moved our car since arriving three days ago. Every morning we go down and bring back coffee to enjoy from our fjord side balcony as the clouds wear off, we catch up on the news at home, and get ready for a fine-enough breakfast. We would for sure stay here again, and highly recommend it to others.

Room tip: Pay extra for a fjord side room... BYO wine (no wine store in Balestrand); enjoy happy hour on your terrace every evening.
Date of stay: August 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank JackieR8918PQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 26, 2017 via mobile

Our group of six, including four adults, a 5 year old and a 5 month old, had a wonderful time at the Balestrand Hotell. The owner and her whole family was welcoming and kind. The views are out of this world. Even if you don't have a room with a fjord side view, just spend some time in the common living room - or just outside the hotel - for stunning sights. Breakfast was one of the highlights of our day, including fresh fruits and vegetables, local dairy products, and sumptuous breads. We highly recommend this lovely hotel.

Date of stay: August 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Tom B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 22, 2017 via mobile

Ok, if you read the reviews ahead of time you'll know that there are no room phones or TV's. Are you on vacation to see the beauty of this wonderful country or to blab on the phone and watch TV? Room service? Really? This is a village of maybe 1200 people in a relaxing, beautiful location. The breakfast was a buffet of cold foods, fruit, bread, soft & hard boiled eggs. I found it not unusual for Europe. Fresh and more than adequate. Immaculate rooms, the biggest we had on our nine night trip thru Norway including a much more posh hotel in Bergen. The owner's husband is a little reserved but not unfriendly. Remember this is their business and we are guests and not personal friends. He took us on a tour of the town when we were picked up with tongue in cheek commentary which kept us chuckling. They usually only pick up your luggage but since there were only 3 of us he offered us a ride. Anyway, don't hesitate unless you are a 5 star hotel snob and in that case maybe you should just stay at home and miss the wonderful experience of fjord Norway.

Date of stay: August 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank turnkeyloan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 20, 2017

We had such an incredible view from our room's picture window. There was no TV but we did not need it. We just stared out that window...across the most serene setting of the juncture between two fjords. I literally stared all night long...because there was no true night...I could see the little car ferry making trips back and forth in the dusk after midnight even. We also enjoyed our breakfast there and our conversations with the owner who was often in the lounge area. We felt like we were in a serene oasis staying in Balestrand while the rest of the crazy cruise world was flooding Flam at the other end of the fjord. You can plan your own Norway in a Nutshell and take the fjord ferry out of Bergen to reach Balestrand where the owner of this hotel will meet you at the dock and transport your luggage for you. It is a great area for hiking or biking too.

Room tip: Be sure to stay on water side
Date of stay: May 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Xina8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 20, 2017 via mobile

Our tour operators originally had us booked into the Kviknes hotel 10 minutes away but that booking fell through. Thank God it did. We had just about had enough of the bus tour crowd swarming over a hotel. The balestrand hotel is a small, family run place and the ideal antidote to the hoards and crowds. The rooms are simple but clean and functional. Breakfast was likewise.... Simple but sufficient. As for the views.... They are stunning, especially first thing in the morning. Some people have commented that the hotel doesn't have a restaurant.... Which is true. But they do have the menus for most of the restaurants in the village so you can make a choice before you take the 5 minute walk to the centre. The staff were very helpful and only too willing to provide information about travel and tour options in the region. One of the best hotels of our 2 week trip.

Date of stay: August 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Shaw_Fire_Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews