We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OUR FAVORITE HOTEL IN NORWAY”
Review of Balestrand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Balestrand Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Balestrand
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 November 2017

The service was exceptional. From original booking advice to luggage pick-up service to giving 3 rooms next to each other with balcony view, all of us enjoyed Balestrand, the cute little town, and the Balestrand Hotel. Unni Unni-Marie advised me months in advance about Norway in a Nutshell transportation issues in the high season. We began our NIN in Bergen and took two nights in the middle of the trip to stay in Balestrand. Great choice. Our rooms were clean and nice, but the best part was the view from our balconies, and the delightful family who run the place. We loved hiking around the town and enjoyed the transportation museum and art gallery there. Balestrand is a lovely town on the large fjord. So lovely. We walked through and by the historic Kviknis Hotel and were so glad that we picked the smaller and more homey Balestrand Hotel for half the price.

Stayed: August 2017
1  Thank TeriJean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (416)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 9 of 416 reviews

Reviewed 9 November 2017

Nice, helpful staff. The rooms are perfectly adequate, but nothing special. Try to get a room with a waterfront view, the views from the balcony are gorgeous, but those rooms book up quickly. Pretty basic breakfast.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ceciliacla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2017

Clean, organized, hospitable. Good breakfast but ok coffee. Balcony rooms are worth the extra price. They do your laundry for a decent price. They meet you at the dock to take your luggage but the walk isn't very far. sweet hike straight up right behind the school not far up from the hotel. Would go back there in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank klambm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2017

We only stayed one night. Not much to do in Balestrand. This hotel is very basic, not fancy at all. But the room was clean, the bed comfortable, and the breakfast filling. The star of the show is of course the view. And what a view it is. It costs just a couple more dollars for a room with a balcony and a view. Under no circumstance should you pass this up. Simply breathtaking view of the fjord.

Room Tip: Absolutely get a room with a balcony and view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2017 via mobile

We had a one night stay at this hotel and really wish we had stayed an extra night to explore more of the area. Based on other reviews, we had requested a room with a fjord view and were assigned a great room on the fourth floor with both a fjord of you and a balcony. The bed was extremely comfortable. While not luxurious, the hotel has a great sitting area in the front first floor and serves a tremendous breakfast buffet prepared by the owners. Outstanding service starts at the moment you walk off of the ferry where you're greeted by the proprietor and his daughter. Luggage is brought up to the hotel and you are free to walk around and explore Balestrand before you check in. Lots of suggestions are provided on where to hike, where to eat, and sites to see. Would definitely return and stay another night to enjoy spending much more time both in this town, hotel, and with the owners.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Ron H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2017

This small hotel, 36? rooms, half facing the Sognefjord, one of the most beautiful settings anywhere! Small size, large gracious lobby or living room, with fireplace, books, games, comfortable chairs and sofas, overlooking the Sognefjord - Norway's longest, deepest, incredibly beautiful. Buffet breakfast appropriately generous, carefully presented with fresh baked bread, fresh coffee. This is a place to spend considerabel time, taking it easy, reading, hiking, taking side trips. The management and ownership are family, gracious, fun, with deep history in Ballestrand. Knowlegeable about the small town, and excursions. The first time that we came, we stayed for one night as part of a "Norway in a nutshell" package. Not enough! Had to come back for longer. We did and enjoyed.

Room Tip: facing the Sognefjord
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Dave W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2017

The lower star rating concerned us, but this place is GREAT! Super clean, quiet, fantastic location, and great service. We haven't moved our car since arriving three days ago. Every morning we go down and bring back coffee to enjoy from our fjord side balcony as the clouds wear off, we catch up on the news at home, and get ready for a fine-enough breakfast. We would for sure stay here again, and highly recommend it to others.

Room Tip: Pay extra for a fjord side room... BYO wine (no wine store in Balestrand); enjoy happy hour on your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank JackieR8918PQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Balestrand
0.4 km away
Kviknes Hotel
Kviknes Hotel
#1 of 4 in Balestrand
850 reviews
1.8 km away
Dragsvik Fjordhotell
Dragsvik Fjordhotell
#4 of 4 in Balestrand
122 reviews
0.1 km away
Midtnes Hotel
Midtnes Hotel
#3 of 4 in Balestrand
130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.8 km away
Fjaerland Fjordstove Hotel & Restaurant
39.7 km away
Walaker Hotell
Walaker Hotell
#1 of 1 in Solvorn
372 reviews
39.9 km away
Gudvangen Fjordtell
Gudvangen Fjordtell
#1 of 1 in Gudvangen
250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Balestrand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balestrand Hotel

Address: Kong Beles veg 41, Balestrand 6899, Norway
Region: Norway > Western Norway > Sogn og Fjordane > Balestrand
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Balestrand
Price Range: $156 - $213 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Balestrand Hotel 1*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Balestrand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing