We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
3 people are viewing this hotel
Booking.com
US$361
View deal
Hotels.com
US$319
View deal
Agoda.com
US$361
US$267
View deal
SAVE US$94
Expedia.comUS$319
eDreamsUS$361
CheapTicketsUS$319
View all 17 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (234)
Filter reviews
234 results
Traveller rating
110
61
25
14
24
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
110
61
25
14
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sushi santa barbara eco beach resort natural beauty private jacuzzi burger outdoor pool rental car bread villa studio island coastline products miguel cheese
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 234 reviews
Reviewed April 13, 2021 via mobile

After spending 3 nights at the hotel, we went over to the other side of the island for the final 3 days of our holiday in the Azores. One night we decided to go back to the hotel with some friends who were keen to try out the restaurant. We reserved a table for 4.

After arriving at the hotel for dinner at around 8.30pm, we were informed that we would not be served dinner due to new covid restrictions (that had been imposed in the island that day). Obviously, if the local government imposes new restrictions, these MUST be respected. Nonetheless, when talking on the phone to carry out our reservation, we were not informed of such limitations to serve dinner to non-guests. In fact, we rang the hotel twice during that day – one to do the initial reservation and one to inform we were going to be a few minutes late. In BOTH of these calls, the hotel did not inform us that they would NOT be able to serve us dinner.

When we got to Santa Barbara and were informed that we could not have dinner, I requested to write in the “complaints book” – a book which is required by Portuguese law and cannot be denied to any customer. When requesting the complaints book, I was asked by the concierge to wait for a few minutes (and so the 4 of us waited for 5-10 minutes in the hotel lobby).

I was then asked by the concierge if I could talk to the F&B Director over the phone, which I accepted to. When on the phone, the F&B director threatened me. He sarcastically suggested “if you are to ask for the complaints book, I will call the police as it is against the current restriction for you to be out of your accommodation. The law is with me, and as so, I recommend you leave my hotel”.

After listening to these threatening words from the hotel director I was appalled and felt threatened. In sum, I feel this behaviour is absolutely unacceptable for a 4**** hotel.

Date of stay: April 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank cunhamtiago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Francisco SantAnna, Marketing at Santa Barbara Eco-Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2021

Dear Mr. Tiago Cunha,

We are very sorry to read your feedback about this unfortunate incident at Santa Barbara Restaurant.

From what we know, your stay in our hotel was flawless, so good that even after checking-out our hotel to other property, you decided to come back to experience one more meal with us.

Regarding the incident you described that night, as you may be aware, your dinner reservation was made by phone as if you were still accommodated in SANTA BARBARA Resort, providing the room number you had until checking out the day before.

Our colleagues accepted the reservation under that room number and until the end of the day when a overbooking was detected by our reservations team, everything was ok with your dinner reservation , that’s why no one informed you of any problem regarding your reservation in both your calls.

The issue was detected only when the owner of the hotel, that was staying here that night in the room that you claimed that was yours upon table reservation, tried to book a table for that same night.

At that time , I called you and explained the situation, I tried my best to enlighten you that because of the restrictions imposed by the authorities due to Covid 19 that day, we were forbidden to accept any non-staying guests in our restaurant, facing the risk of being closed by the authorities.

In normal circumstances we would be more than happy to welcome you and provide a great experience as we are used to.

After that explanation via telephone ,even unsatisfied you accepted my explanation and ended the call. Still, you decided to show up at the Restaurante to be served but we explained once again that we wrer not allowed to accept reservations for guests that were not accommodated at the Resort, as a full lockdown was imposed by the local authorities.

After this you decided to ask for the “Complaints book” , to right down a complaint ,even knowing that no mistake was made from our hotel staff , since they were misled by your misinformation regarding a none existing room reservation for that night in you behalf.

Once you were not allowed to leave the other Hotel you were staying in, and we were not allowed to have any non-staying guests inside the Resort facilities, we suggested to call the authorities to clarify if we were doing something wrong and this was the moment you decided to leave the Hotel.

We would really like to welcome you again at SANTA BARBARA, respecting all the restrictions imposed to minimize the effects of this pandemic.

Sincerely,

Manuel Dias, F&B Director







Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 30, 2021

Outstanding staff, service, and views!
The restaurant and bar offer a delightful experience.

Would definitely recommend this hotel for a couple's getaway! I Will be back surely for another experience.

Room tip: must try the recommended week's cocktail
Date of stay: March 2021
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank RafaelEnc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 21, 2021

The staff was incredibly warm and friendly from start to finish. The room was also incredible and had many amenities that would make this ideal for a family or if you were planning on spending most of your time enjoying the resort including a well-stocked kitchen, a great gym, and what looked like a beautiful pool area (it was too cold for us to enjoy this part). The restaurant had some of the best gyozas and yakatori I've ever had, and the breakfasts were phenomenal. The only knock was that there wasn't a bathroom door, so maybe don't go with people you aren't comfortable with.

Date of stay: March 2021
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mdkassner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 30, 2020

We chose to stay on the north coast and use a rental car to explore the island (and go scuba diving off the south coast) and we couldn't have been happier than our choice to stay at Santa Barbara Eco-Beach Resort. The beach is stunning to watch, the villas are modern, spacious, clean, and comfortable; the staff was exceedingly friendly and helpful. We enjoyed the restaurant for breakfast, lunch, and dinner as well as room service. The private jacuzzi is worth it! Our daughter loved the outdoor pool as well as the indoor one at the wellness center which we were able to reserve for her daily. Most importantly, we had two separate bedrooms, for our daughter and us, and the resort helped us set up a daily babysitter who watched our daughter for 5-6 hours 4 days a week and 2-3 evenings a week when she was asleep so we could leave the resort to go out to dinner. The babysitter was wonderful and made our stay perfect as we could enjoy grown-up things while our daughter had a fantastic time at the resort. The whole family loved our stay here and would recommend it to any other families. A great home base from which to enjoy the natural beauty of this wonderful island.

Date of stay: September 2020
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Rebecca W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 14, 2020

We Couldn’t have enjoyed Santa Barbara Eco Resort more! The location is amazing, the views are beautiful, the rooms are modern but comfortable and the staff is just 100% - smiley, kind and super efficient. To top this all the food is TO DIE FOR! It was so good that we ate at the hotel nearly every single day. The produce is fresh and very tasty - dishes like the poke bowls, the burger and the sashimi were very impressive.
We had the best 6 days ever! There is so much to see and do in São Miguel, we completely fell in love with it and will be coming back soon to stay at this very same hotel!

Date of stay: October 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Anaaranha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews