We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just brilliant...”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Bildeston
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Bildeston Crown
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bildeston
Certificate of Excellence
Surrey, England
Level 6 Contributor
49 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Just brilliant...”
Reviewed 21 December 2011

My wife and I stayed here for two nights whilst our daughters were attending a festival. We were lucky enough to have the Fuscia room, plenty of space although I think I still have a bruise from the strange corners on the bed. The bathroom was lovely, fantastic huge tub and a nice big shower.

The main attraction is the food which was fantastic. The first night we had the tasting menu, with wine, and it was great not knowing what was coming next. Small point was that you don't get much wine with each course, a little bit more in the glass each time (especially the main course wines) would make a bit difference.

We stayed over on Sunday night as well and the menu was restricted, (so we were really glad we had the tasting menu on Saturday), but there was plenty of choice.

Overall an excellent trip and we hope to return with some freinds next year.

Room Tip: Fuscia room is lovely, although to be fair we didn't see any others
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chris_hoskins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    193
    67
    35
    11
    9
See reviews for
42
161
4
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2011

Having heard plenty of praise for the restaurant at the Bildeston Crown, my family and I were excited at the prospect of heading there to celebrate my mother's birthday.

First impressions: pleasant surroundings, open fire, lovely bar area. However, the first disappointment was the very limited Sunday menu, but nevertheless we made our choices.

Starters were very well presented (between us we tried the fish cake, gravlax and celeriac soup) and very tasty. Bread was also fantastic! However, the roast, which most of us chose for mains due to the limited menu) was extremely disappointing. Tough, fatty beef cut far too thickly; leathery roast potatoes; hard carrots; dried up Yorkshires.

What disappointed us most was the fact that not one waiter/waitress asked us at any point whether we had enjoyed our food. It should have been obvious that there was a problem with the meat as we had all left several slices of it on our plates.

Desserts were ok but nothing overly special, and we'd asked for coffee to be served at the same time but it arrived ten minutes later.

My overriding impression of The Crown was that we were very poorly looked after by the staff. It was a real challenge to attract the attention of a waiter and their failing to ask whether we enjoyed our food has resulted in me writing my first ever negative trip advisor review! Had I been given the opportunity to share my feedback by the staff, I would have politely mentioned what I felt was lacking and left feeling that they could address the shortcomings in future. I certainly wouldn't have needed to express my disappointment on Trip Advisor.

I very much hope that the management team are able to use this feedback constructively.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MulberryMulberry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2011

We live a mile from the Crown and have eaten here on at least 10 occasions over the last few years. The food has always been excellent with a creative menu and we have yet to have a bad meal here, I can see why it has 3 AA rosettes. On the downside the menu is heavily slanted towards meat and game so if you don't eat meat then your choices are very limited although on a couple of occasions the chef has prepared an alternative when what was on the menu was not to our taste. Prices, as you'd expect reflect the standard of cooking and are high, but very comparable to establishments of a similar calibre (Expect to spend £50 on food for 3 courses).
Service is not to the standard or calibre you would expect of a hotel at this level... the staff are friendly enough but lack training and management can be snobbish at times.

I have not stayed in the accommodation so cannot comment

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Neel7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suffolk UK
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2011

Only visited for lunch (on a Saturday as the menu is limited on Sunday) with friends. We arrived late due to an RTA around Ipswich, this was not an issue, we were welcomed and shown to the fireside where our friends were enjoying the open fire and a few drinks.  The meal was excellent, service pretty good and the wine list extensive!  We will definitely be back although i will go on a diet first!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kBloke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
241 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2011

We were offered a night at the Crown as a treat by a friend, and what a treat! A gorgeous 15th century inn in rural Suffolk it has been refurbished to the highest of standards with lots of quirky art and artifacts. We didn't get chance to try the restaurant sadly as we were going out to a function, but came back to the cosy bar for a drink afterwards which was delightful - roaring open fires and comfy chairs and sofas.
Our room was large, with a king size bed and beautiful furnishings, plus all the amenities you'd expect from a large hotel rather than an inn - wifi, ironing board, hairdryer etc. There's no tea or coffee making facilities but they say you can ring down for tea and coffee at any time. The bedside lights seem more suitable for creating a romantic atmosphere than for reading, but you can always keep the ceiling light on! The bathroom was also beautifully appointed with a double ended bath and walk in shower. After a good night's sleep we took breakfast in a lovely room adjacent to the restaurant. There was a great selection, from full english to scrambled egg with smoked salmon or eggs benedict and it was all freshly cooked. The staff also seemed happy to accommodate any requests. All in all a great night away - and we're going back to try the restaurant next time!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ironhorse_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed 4 November 2011

We have just returned from a night at the Bildeston Crown. We were very impressed by the hotel and extremely wowed by the restaurant. We were on a special offer which should have been in an executive room but there were none available so we stayed in a standard room. To be honest though we were very pleased - much better than we had been expecting from a standard room. My only gripe would be since we were not in an executive room as the deal had been stated it would have been nice to give us a complimentary drink at the bar perhaps.
The rooms are beautifully finished and the bathrooms are gorgeous with bathrobes, nice toiletries and good loo roll! The bedroom was very relaxing with everything we wanted - except perhaps a tea/coffee machine. The only thing is that the walls are very thin and so are the floors as we could hear the bar downstairs - fortunately for us we were the last ones to leave the bar so it didn't affect us.
The staff were very friendly and made us feel welcome. The restaurant was superb. We had a superior meal here than we did in the well-known Michellin star restaurant in Cambridge. The attention to detail was second to none in terms of flavours and presentation. Although the portions initially appeared to be small they were very filling and every mouthful was a taste sensation! We will be returning to the Bildeston Crown for another meal and most likely a night in the hotel too as their wine selection was so good it would be a shame to drive home!
Overall this is a lovely place to stay and enjoy the Suffolk countryside. There are just a couple of very minor things that I would like to see changed - one is that although everything is charged directly to the room, there is no way of keeping track of it until you check out as there is nothing to sign or see how much things are. The second thing is that we didn't like the way they wrote about consuming your own alcohol - that in itself is ok to state but they do say that they will charge £20 corkage if you are caught drinking your own alcohol! Possibly gives the wrong vibe, especially as it's one of the first things you'll read when you get to your room.
Like I said though, only minor things and the good things far outweigh the bad. Great job in transforming such a beautiful building.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LOUISE P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 November 2011

We have stayed at the Bildeston Crown a number of times. We keep returning because it is such a pleasurable experience. It really does feel like a special break, every aspect is thoroughly enjoyable. The food is outstanding, it is worth the visit alone. The hotel is beautifully and sympathetically decorated, the bedrooms are extremely comfortable and the restaurant, lounge and bars are welcoming. The staff are very friendly and obviously take great pride in the excellent service that the hotel and restaurant offer. Finding such a wonderful hotel is a delight. I can't recommend it highly enough.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bildeston
7.7 km away
Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham
18.3 km away
Salthouse Harbour Hotel
10.6 km away
Hintlesham Hall
Hintlesham Hall
#1 of 1 in Hintlesham
1,008 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.8 km away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#1 of 2 in Sudbury
1,125 reviews
13.3 km away
The Bull
The Bull
#2 of 3 in Long Melford
520 reviews
13.5 km away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#1 of 3 in Long Melford
130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bildeston Crown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bildeston Crown

Property: The Bildeston Crown
Address: 104 High Street, Bildeston, Babergh District IP7 7EB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Babergh District > Bildeston
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bildeston
Hotel Class:3 star — The Bildeston Crown 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bildeston Crown is a 15th century, former coaching inn set in the Suffolk village of Bildeston, one of the historic “wool towns” and just six miles from Lavenham. Known for its stylish yet relaxed accommodation, the inn has 12 en suite doubles, a 120 seater restaurant, private meeting room, bar area with open fire and a courtyard and terrace for al fresco dining . Food is an integral part of The Bildeston Crown experience and Chef Chris Lee, who owns the business with his wife Hayley, has an excellent reputation for his signature, innovative style. Quality produce, sourced primarily locally, is used when in season and diners can choose from a range of menus: Classics which features regular favourites, Select which changes with the seasons and also perhaps the ultimate dining experience – Chris Lee’s Tasting Menu. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Bildeston Crown Hotel Bildeston
Bildeston Crown Ipswich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing