We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So Friendly and Relaxing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ashcroft Guest House
Ranked #1 of 14 Haltwhistle B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 October 2011

We stayed just one night at Ashcroft and wish it had been more, we were welcomed by the owner who gave us a guided tour and showed us to our wonderful room. The bed was as big as a county and really comfortable, the deep bath meant a long soak was in order after a day on Hadrians Wall and then a chill out watching the large flat screen TV, Breakfast was perfect with locally sourced bacon etc and "real" toast. Highly recommended and somewhere we will visit again!

Room Tip: Pay the extra £10 for the upgrade, well worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Vistoma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (553)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

473 - 479 of 553 reviews

Reviewed 26 October 2011

We highly recommend this B and B. It is a Beautiful house and with lovely gardens, Geoff and Christine are wonderful hosts and really ensured that we had a perfect and relaxing stay. We will certainly be back in the near future.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank yorkshireladdie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2011

I highly recommend this B&B in Haltwhistle. Top ratings for everything: Hosts, rooms, breakfast, location, etc. I can't think of anything that warrants improvement. Just outstanding.
I only wish Haltwhistle had a few more food choices for those of us without an automobile. One night we ate at the local pub, The Black Bull (families and dogs welcome!), but the next night it was closed because the chef didn't show up. It's also fair to note that without an automobile, getting to and from Hadrian's Wall is not seamless. There is a local bus service, but it doesn't run frequently. These 2 "negatives" do not in any way detract from the Ashcroft Guest House. It is a wonderful B&B and we would recommend it highly to all our friends.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 26West
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2011

We stayed two nights at Ashcroft guest house and loved it there. It is beautifully situated on a hill overlooking the countryside, with lovely terraced gardens, and the roses were still in bloom. It is a large guesthouse and my husband and I were given the upstairs apartment, with bed, bath, living room, and full eat in kitchen. This was a boon after a day of hiking outdoors seeing the Hadrian's Wall sites. We picked up Chinese and Indian take aways each night, and had relaxing, inexpensive, and quiet evening meals in the apt. There is not much choice for evening meals in tiny Haltwhistle, so the kitchen is a nice option, and there is a supermarket not far away. We arrived by train, and the guesthouse is an easy walk from the station. We used the AD166 bus, which we picked up at the nearby Market Square, and we saw all the sites including lovely nearby Hexham and its interesting abbey. Ashcroft was a great place to base for all of this. Hosts Geoff and Christine made us welcome and assisted us in every way. I especially liked the view from our windows of the horses grazing in the field, and the lane opposite to the old church with its splendid Burne Jones and Madox Brown stained glass windows. Breakfast was a sumptious full English with nice options of cereals, fresh fruit, and yogurts in the sunny breakfast room. Everything was sparkling clean, and the beds were very comfy. Great shower, too! A wonderful place!

Room Tip: The apt. with kitchen is great if you want to get a take out or cook a simple evening meal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wanda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2011

The Ashcroft is a fantastic guest house to stay at. Geoff and Christine welcome you with open arms into their very beautiful home. The house is set in very well kept grounds and is a great base location to explore the surrounding area. The cooked breakfast is great - and maybe a thought for the future is to offer evening meals in your stuning dining room.

Highly recommended and somewhere I will visit again!

Room Tip: I don't thnk it matter they are all of a very high standard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2011

Ahscroft Guest House is a gem in so many ways! It is a perfect location from which to explore the most interesting section of Hadrian's Wall and relax adjacent to a quaint and welcoming town. Geoff and Christine were warm and attentive, sharing stories that gave context to their lives in this area. The accomodations were entirely comfortable, bright, tasteful and updated - in fact, this was the best accomodation of our trip with two adults and our college age daughter (a real extra twin bed in the room!). Our hosts had clearly put a great deal of thought and effort into improving and maintaining this lovely property on an ongoing basis over many years. Take a peak at the kitchen...I want one just like it!

But beyond a wonderful place to stay, Geoff and Christine were invaluable resources. They know every detail of the area and guided us in ways that were perfect for our interests and enhanced our visit. We watched them do the same for others. Geoff was particularly clever in helping me pull off a surprise for my daughter that literally took her breath away! :)

We are also most grateful for their assistance in dealing with an automobile mishap. Honestly, I don't know what we would have done without them. These are genuine people fully commited to assuring, not just a place to stay, but an excellent visit to their area.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank smartchicks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2011

The best Guest House I have ever stayed in, fantastic house, great rooms and brilliant breakfast. We were riding a 180 mile 3 day C2C ride for charity and stayed here after second day of 65 mile ride, excellent!!!!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rhino11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Haltwhistle
12.7 km away
Langley Castle Hotel
Langley Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Langley-on-Tyne
1,183 reviews
19.8 km away
Battlesteads Hotel
1.2 km away
Wydon Farm B&B
Wydon Farm B&B
#4 of 14 in Haltwhistle
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 km away
Bridge House Bed & Breakfast Hadrian's Wall
0.1 km away
Centre of Britain Hotel
Centre of Britain Hotel
#3 of 14 in Haltwhistle
236 reviews
0.1 km away
Manor House Inn
Manor House Inn
#14 of 14 in Haltwhistle
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashcroft Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashcroft Guest House

Address: Lantys Lonnen, Haltwhistle NE49 0DA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Haltwhistle
Amenities:
Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Haltwhistle
Price Range: $141 - $180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Ashcroft Guest House 5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Large Victorian former Vicarage set in four acres of land. 5 Star & Gold Award status from Visit England. Free WiFi. Extensive gardens with seating & picnic tables. Private, off street parking within grounds. Secure undercover cycle storage. Large bedrooms, all with en-suite facilities, with high ceilings and wonderful Visitors Lounge & Dining Room looking out over the river South Tyne Valley to the fells. Fabulous Breakfasts with a large choice of fresh, local ingredients wherever possible. Most diets catered for. Apartments also available with private lounges and kitchens for a minimum of 2 nights.. Including a new Ground Floor Apartment, Within 100 metres of the Main Street with Pubs, Restaurants, shops etc. Bus stops and Train Station all within a few minutes walk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Ashcroft Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing