We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (132)
Filter reviews
132 results
Traveller rating
34
36
19
25
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
34
36
19
25
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lovely lunch drinks order was taken moules liver bacon lovely atmosphere pork portions mains
Filter
Updating list...
20 - 25 of 132 reviews
Reviewed May 9, 2017

This was a double birthday celebration.Eleven of us in total. The place was very busy and we had drinks in the bar prior to the meal.
It was unfortunate that we had to get someone to come and take our orders after waiting along time. However, the girl was very apologetic.
The starters are very large (I would probably have just had a main, if known)
There were so many vegetables with the mains and we were all too full for puddings.
Overall the food was very good and a thoroughly enjoyable night in a lovely old pub/restaurant. I didn't stay at the hotel just had a meal.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank ali1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 8, 2017

Food, wine & service was extremely good.
Place was very busy but this did not affect the waiting time.
Lovely atmosphere, thoroughly enjoyed the evening.
Dined here several times, food always good but service has let it down in the past.
Great to see so many diners & more waiting staff.!

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Patricia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 6, 2017 via mobile

This was the 1st time I visited The French Hen and what a lovely surprise. The atmosphere was great with the staff and food excellent, great to see the chef come out of his kitchen to ask If our food was to our liking and he was French. Well done guy's my partner and I WILL definitely return.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Martin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 14, 2017 via mobile

Looked at previous reviews and was a little worried about what it may be like. However, service has was good and food was tasty. The portions were massive but flavour didn't lack. Very enjoyable occasion

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
Thank Benjamin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 10, 2017

We went for Sunday lunch. The sun was shining and the setting lovely. Traditional Sunday lunch was the order of the day and didn't disappoint. We even had two lovely starters but dessert was a step too far thanks to the portion sizes.

Staff lovely though the bar service could have been a little quicker with only one serving sometimes.

Overall, I'll be back.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Elvis123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews