We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“had a great time” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Old Ship Hotel

The Old Ship Hotel
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mere
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Old Ship Hotel
Ranked #4 of 4 Mere B&B and Inns
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
1 review
“had a great time”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2011

staff very helpfull and friendly, food was good (really enjoyed the banoffee pie) and room was clean and spacious. full of character with creaky uneven floorboards. Set in nice picturesque village.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank darren1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    12
    3
    8
    8
See reviews for
14
18
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2011

Where has all the fun gone.....last time we stayed (Oct 2010) we all had a brilliant time, great drinks made byour super barman (who's no longer there???) this time round the landlady?? tried to sit with us at dinner and whittle on about rubbish, thier children!?? were mouthy and noisy (although not young thegirl was atrocious) and we wanted the good times back

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jennyG060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Mere hotels

5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Folkestone, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2011

We stayed for just one night - the new owners are very friendly - breakfast was lovely - we arrived late at night but they still cooked something for us for dinner!! good old fashioned hospitality

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank clintnandrea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2011

What a fantastic relaxing atmosphere, the rooms have great character with high ceilings, beautiful victorian bathrooms.We had a fab meal in the restaurant, my lamb shank just fell apart.
The management and all the staff are so welcoming and friendly, we cant wait to come back again and we will be soon.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank daveplumridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cradle Mountain-Lake St. Clair National Park, Australia
Level Contributor
241 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 208 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2010

We had just toured Stonehenge and decided to drive a bit further west for somewhere to sleep. We came across Mere, pretty little village, then we saw Old Ship Hotel. Outside rustic, old and classic. I know it's old, rustic and classic on the outside, the inside leaves alot to be desired. We would pass next time.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rob T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2010

We stayed one night and I am glad we were not staying for longer. The Hotel is steeped in history but I am not sure where a sports bar fits into the 14th century. The menu looked great but the food was very disappointing it is the only time I have had a rack of lamb which only consisted of 2 in the rack, with the strangest of taste and overcooked, the coating was rock hard I couldnt even get my knife into it.
The very young people who frequent the sports bar were escreaming and running up and down the streets, the main bar had thumping music and we were trying to sleep non of this quitened down until after midnight. The pillows were disgusting on the bed, the sink was blocked in the bathroom and at £70 per night not value for money.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Doneplumbing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
romford
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2010

We called in on the off chance to spend the night on the way back to Essex, rather than fight our way through the half term end traffic on the motorways, and were amazed at the character, value for money, size and comfort of this 17th century hotel.
We were treated more like friends and wished we were staying longer. The food was first class and reasonably priced and the breakfast, served at a time of a our convenience - allowing us to take an early morning walk up Castle Hill to admire the views - kept us going all day!
The staff were really informative about the area and their ongoing, intriguing discoveries about the history of the hotel, and the challenge they have risen to face in the future. We wish them every success!
A unique gem of a find and we shall make an opportunity to visit again perhaps taking in a visit to nearby Stourhead House in the process.
Nick and Ann Jackson
Gidea Park, Essex

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nicoless
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mere
0.4 km away
The George Inn
The George Inn
#2 of 4 in Mere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
3.3 km away
The White Lion
The White Lion
#1 of 2 in Bourton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
0.0 km away
Castleton House
Castleton House
#1 of 4 in Mere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Chetcombe House
Chetcombe House
#3 of 4 in Mere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
Show Prices

Been to The Old Ship Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Ship Hotel

Property: The Old Ship Hotel
Address: Castle Street, Mere BA12 6JE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Mere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Mere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Also Known As:
The Old Ship Hotel Mere, UK - Wiltshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing