We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So Pleased!”

Highland Titles Nature Reserve
Ranked #1 of 1 things to do in Duror
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This Nature Reserve is developed and managed by Highland Titles on the east bank of Loch Linnhe, between Salachan and Duror Glens. It provides a unique retreat for everyone, whether you simply want to soak up the peaceful atmosphere of a true wilderness amidst stunning scenery, walk the dogs or witness first-hand the Highland Titles ecological restoration programme with their flagship 60 acre Diamond Jubilee Wood. All this is funded by the sale of souvenir plots of land to people who love Scotland, and want to help restore native hardwood trees in the Highlands. Simple improvements are ongoing, including walking trails, benches along the way for quiet enjoyment of the surroundings, and signage explaining the natural habitat. If requested in advance we will try to arrange for a local guide to help you find your plot, and if required, to get around the Reserve. Our vehicle is not always available and we cannot guarantee that a driver will be able to take you. Refreshments and lodging are available in a number of nearby communities.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

The entire reason for visiting the area was to visit my Highland Title land. What a thrill!

I would say though, the instructions on how to get to the land was very confusing. In fact, I hope that these pictures are actually on the land LOL

We parked beside the B&B sign as instructed but we were not sure if the "footpath" was the gravel road we walked on. There were no signs to confirm the location or the correct direction to walk. Regardless, we think we were correct. We took some fabulous pictures and it was a thrill to be there. Very memorable indeed.

Thank MichelleK20127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Highland_Titles, Manager at Highland Titles Nature Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2013

We are thrilled that you came to visit us. It is a shame that our directions were not clear enough as it appears that you missed the nature reserve entirely. As a direct result of your experience we have initiated a "Meet and Greet" service, which we will be trying out through August. Full details are on our web site www.highlandtitles.com/your-plot/meet-and-greet/ Hopefully this and improvements in signage will help us to make sure you do not miss us next time you visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (377)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"piece of land"
in 13 reviews
"guide david"
in 8 reviews
"meet and greet"
in 5 reviews
"fantastic visit"
in 6 reviews
"grand tour"
in 6 reviews
"conservation work"
in 14 reviews
"guided tour"
in 14 reviews
"flora and fauna"
in 8 reviews
"birthday present"
in 5 reviews
"short notice"
in 4 reviews
"a wee bit"
in 4 reviews
"his passion"
in 4 reviews
"lord and lady"
in 5 reviews
"beautiful area"
in 4 reviews
"visit scotland"
in 4 reviews
"highlight of our trip"
in 4 reviews
"his knowledge"
in 5 reviews
Filter

325 - 329 of 377 reviews

Reviewed July 3, 2013

We recently visited my husband's plot, making a special point to stop at Glencoe Wood on our whirlwind tour of Scotland and England. And what a wonderful stop!

The trail was well marked and suitable for the whole family (from our five year old to my 76-year-old father-in-law). We found the plot using an iphone map app and gathered a few local rocks to build an inuksuk (it's a Canadian thing...) We then stopped for lunch and a rest at a conveniently placed picnic table, basking in the beauty of the nearby hills. On our way out of the wood, we splashed in the stream and marveled at the serenity.

All in all, a wonderful place for a low-key hike. Easy to find, well kept trails and signage and gorgeous surroundings. We couldn't ask for anything more from Highland Titles. Thanks for all that you do!

1  Thank DiDart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Highland_Titles, Public Relations Manager at Highland Titles Nature Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review your visit, and we're all really glad you enjoyed your time here. I guess you won't be popping over too often from Canada but maybe next time you'll be able to meet up with one of our team members and have a chat.
All the best and thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 5, 2013

I have been coming to Lochaber for years now and last year my darling wife bought me my own square foot, which is located in the Highland Titles Nature Reserve. Always a sucker for a good cause, she thought that I would appreciate the fact that my Christmas pressie would help fund this awesome venture. Actually I was more excited that I had become a Laird and now owned my own piece of Scotland. We both came up for a long weekend just to have a look at our investment (£25) and were blown away by what we found. Parking is easy and the path to Glencoe Wood is well marked and dry. There was a board explaining where our plot of land was. We got wet feet actually finding our plot, but that was part of the fun. We met a young couple from Aberdeen just having a walk and we felt so much better for having got out in the fresh air (actually it was cold).

I have been buzzing ever since. I can thoroughly recommend a visit even if you do not own any land. It makes a great walk with some stunning views if you follow the path up into the jubilee Wood - and the exercise will do you good. Better still, buy a bit of land and become one of the Lairds of Glencoe.

5  Thank PeterBrown1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Highland_Titles, Public Relations Manager at Highland Titles Nature Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2013

Thank you so much for the lovely review of your visit and the kind words!
All we can say is... spread the word, and helps us grow faster :)
Maybe see you on your next visit?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 1, 2012

I missed out on one of the warden led walks because it did not coincide with my trip to Glencoe but I walked up to the little lochan with my husband and two children. It was wonderful and the views were magnificent. We took a picnic lunch and sat near the river to eat them at one of the thoughtfully provided picnic benches. Well done to the people who have created this lovely bit of woodland.

2  Thank Glen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Highland_Titles, Public Relations Manager at Highland Titles Nature Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2013

Sorry you missed us, but glad you enjoyed the walk none the less. As we grow we try and improve all areas, and as you may have seen from Facebook or our web site we do occasionally have somebody 'on duty' to welcome and guide visitors... maybe next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Highland Titles Nature Reserve also viewed

Glencoe, Scottish Highlands
Glencoe Village, Glencoe
 
Fort William, Lochaber
Glencoe Village, Glencoe
 

Been to Highland Titles Nature Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing