We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quality food and a nice atmosphere ”

The Dining Room at Royal Sportsman Hotel
Ranked #14 of 68 Restaurants in Porthmadog
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$16 - US$48
Cuisines: Welsh
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Lunch, Reservations
Description: The style of cooking is seasonal Modern British with a contemporary look for the adventurous along with classic British Fayre, for those who enjoy traditional meals at lunch or in the evening, served in the restaurant, bar, lounge or garden from 12.00pm till 3pm and 6pm till 9.00pm.
Reviewed June 4, 2018 via mobile

We ate here on 2 nights staying in the hotel and were generally impressed with the quality of the food and service. You can expect good flavour - the soups particularly stand out for this - and my older son deemed the fish and chips to be the best he'd ever had. For the younger one (age 9) the children's menu is also better than you will get in most places with nice freshly cooked food rather than the usual kids meal out of a freezer. The homemade pies were also reliably delicious. Not everything was perfect - serving desserts with a small blob of ice cream on a warm slate meant that most of it was melted on one occasion (and despite pointing that out, not replaced as it should have been). The lemon meringue was forgettable and looked nothing like the picture on the hotel website - in comparison to the excellent sticky toffee pud I felt particularly short changed!

Thank oehugh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane G, Guest Relations Manager at The Dining Room at Royal Sportsman Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2018

Thank you for your five-star review of our food and service. Your comments regarding good flavour and freshly cooked children’s menu are two aspects that we take very seriously and which bring diners back for more.

Sorry that your slate plate was warm and melted your ice cream. This should have been replaced immediately and we shall take this up with the restaurant staff. We are surprised about your comments on the lemon meringue as we always aim to present each plate of food in exactly the same way. We are not sure what happened on this occasion and the head chef is investigating.

However, we would love the opportunity to welcome you back to try some of our other tasty dishes cooked to order using only the best seasonal produce.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (254)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 15 of 254 reviews

Reviewed May 6, 2018

We booked for 2pm, but given the day was so hot, they had lots of cancellations as everyone wanted to be on the local beaches. So we were almost on our own in the gorgeous dining room. Incredibly clean, spacious and very attentive and polite, courteous staff. Paul and Phoebe were excellent hosts with constant smiles and welcoming chit chat.
The food was home cooked and along with home made bread and Welsh butter (softened, unlike so many places) easy to spread. Dawn had roast Welsh leg of lamb, I had roast Welsh beef, both served 'pink' and delicious. We had walked all around Porthmadog, meaning our appetites were good. But my oh my, for the first time in ages we BOTH had to leave something on our plates as the portions were truly amazing. Fresh tasty veg and beautiful roast potatoes. The cauliflower cheese (served in separate dishes) could have been slightly more cooked and seasoned. However, this didn't diminish the service, meal or ambience at all.
Well done Royal Sportsman Hotel.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Sigsworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane G, Guest Relations Manager at The Dining Room at Royal Sportsman Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2018

Thank you for your glowing review. Our Sunday Roast Lunches are recognised to be one of the best in the area, not only for the taste but for our generous portions and value for money. We only use the freshest of local ingredients in all our dishes and always make our own bread which we serve with soft Welsh butter!

We look forward to welcoming you back when you’re next in the area and perhaps sample some dishes from our main menu next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 9, 2018

My stepdaughter and I had a very hard time choosing what to have for dinner because there were so many interesting and mouthwatering dishes on offer. Everything we ate was delicious and beautifully presented. All dietary requirements seemed to be covered, including gluten free bread. The service was delightful and the wine list was good and reasonably priced. Bon appétit!

1  Thank Rosie_on_the_move60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aby Q, Owner at The Dining Room at Royal Sportsman Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2018

Sorry we made your choice of dinner difficult with our extensive, appetising menu!

We do offer the all-round dining experience with fabulously tasty and well presented meals, good value for money, excellent service and cater for all dietary requirements.

When you visit again, perhaps stay a little longer so you can try more of our mouthwatering dishes, and enjoy one of our discounted Dine And Stay packages.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 27, 2018 via mobile

Ate in the bar (as we had our four legged friend with us) and the bar staff were very welcoming and made a fuss of the dog and our son. Fish and chips was a huge portion and their homemade tartare sauce was nice. The best thing though was the homemade minted lamb pie in shortcrust pastry. They also sell purple moose ale which is a local ale brewed around the corner which tastes first class. Definitely recommend to anyone and would go back again.

Thank ZurgIsMyFather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aby Q, Owner at The Dining Room at Royal Sportsman Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2018

Many thanks for your five star review. Our friendly staff always make dogs and children very welcome in our bar. You chose two of our most popular meals from our extensive menu served both in the bar and the Dining Room and we are so glad you enjoyed them, washed down with the first class, local Purple Moose ale. Thank you for the recommendation and we welcome you back whenever you are passing – whether or not your four legged friend is with you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 26, 2018

The food is excellent, I would go back any day.
The restaurant was a little cold but we did go very early 6pm.
The lemon meringue was such a surprise loved it.

Thank Bubbles190
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aby Q, Owner at The Dining Room at Royal Sportsman Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2018

Thank you very much for your five star review. We are delighted you referred to us as a “Little Gem” as this is exactly what we are aiming for with our fabulous food. However, we are sorry that you found the restaurant a little cold and will ensure that the heating goes on earlier if required.

We have passed your comments regarding the lemon meringue on to our chef and trust you enjoyed some of the other dishes from our new menu.

We hope you picked up one of our loyalty cards which entitles you to 10% off all food on every visit. If not, please sign up when you come back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Dining Room at Royal Sportsman Hotel also viewed

Porthmadog, Gwynedd
Tremadog, Porthmadog
 
Porthmadog, Gwynedd
 
Borth-y-Gest, Gwynedd
Tremadog, Porthmadog
 

Been to The Dining Room at Royal Sportsman Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing