We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (780)
Filter reviews
780 results
Traveller rating
331
284
108
30
27
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
331
284
108
30
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviews courtyard room traditional hotel no lift covered car park excellent food under cover comfortable hotel pie lounge area lamb marmalade both nights north wales family room high street cooked breakfast the welsh highland railway
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 780 reviews
Reviewed October 5, 2018 via mobile

Staff were excellent - really good service in the restaurant for breakfast and dinner, and the breakfast selection is top notch. Food was good, and the room comfortable and quiet. Nothing I can think of which I would change.

Stayed: October 2018, travelled solo
Thank oehugh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aby Q, Owner at Royal Sportsman Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2018

Thank you so much for the five star review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your meals and the service in our restaurant and that the room was to your liking. Please do stay with us again when you are next visiting Snowdonia.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 29, 2018

Looking at some of the reviews on here, I think we were staying the same weekend the rowdy golfers were there. As the manager says, there's not much they can do about the behaviour of guests but they were really noisy in the early hours of Friday night / Saturday morning and woke us up more than once.
As to the hotel itself, it may not be the best we've ever stayed in and although the bathroom was a bit on the cosy side, the room was spotlessly clean and the food was excellent - both at Dinner and breakfast and the staff were extremely helpful and friendly.
There is car parking available on a first come first served basis, which is fair enough and in fact when we moved our car on the Sunday we lost our space, but found plenty of good parking in an adjacent side street where even on the following day, you could park up until 9am free of charge.
All in all the Royal Sportsman is a pretty good place to stay.

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank UncleAlan471
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aby Q, Owner at Royal Sportsman Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2018

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and found us a pretty good place to stay. Yes, we think you were also staying when the golfing party was here and we’re sorry if they disturbed your sleep on Friday night. Room cleanliness, excellent food and helpful and friendly staff are things we do pride ourselves on and thank you for mentioning them. And as you confirm, parking is never an issue, even if our car park is full.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 20, 2018 via mobile

We can't thank the Hotel and staff enough, 19 guys on a Golf Trip, We had meals every night the food and service was that good .
We were noisy at times, as we did our daily golf presentations each evening and had great nights in the bar. Everyone was so helpful. Not one of our group had anything but praise for everything. Thank you very much you made our 4 day stay special.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled with friends
Thank Colin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane G, Guest Relations Manager at Royal Sportsman Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 22, 2018

Thank you so much for your five-star review. We are so pleased you enjoyed all that the hotel has to offer. It was a pleasure having you all to stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 18, 2018 via mobile

One of my worst hotel stays in many years.
Room was ok , but very expensive.
On arrival, it was very quickly apparent that parking was a nightmare.Not enough parking.What a stupid situation, one is on a leisure break, but on arrival, have to lie in wait, ready to pounce to get a parking place.
Looking forward to a pleasant evening in the bar, a bottle of wine and a couple of pints.The noise and the behaviour of other guests in the bar was unbelievable.
Apparently ,the hotel seems to cater for “golfing parties”, groups of men, not young, behaving like football hooligans.
We retired to the lounge, in no time at all they were in there as well.
We gave up and retired.
Next morning, go down for breakfast, they were in there too.
Again the sound level was horrendous.
The breakfast itself was fine, the breakfast staff were fine and hard working.
Next evening, the same again.No way could we stay there.
To crown it all, after a couple of nights ,we had a yapping dog in an adjourning room.
Could not depart quick enough.
The hotel needs to be honest and advise guests prior to booking and arrival about parking.
When Hotel is full of rowdy guests, potential customers need to be advised accordingly.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled with friends
Thank Peter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane G, Guest Relations Manager at Royal Sportsman Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2018

We are sorry that our car park and the other guests staying at the hotel spoilt your stay with us. Unfortunately there is not a lot we can do about either of these issues.

As we are a Victorian Coaching House, we have limited car parking space. However, we do mention, both on our website and in the confirmation email that, as parking is limited, spaces are allocated on a first come first served basis and there is plenty of on-street parking all around the hotel. Unfortunately, during your stay, the hotel was full so the car park was also very busy.

Being in such close proximity to many fantastic golf courses, we inevitably attract groups of golfers and they do tend to gravitate towards our bar. However, having spoken to the bar staff, they did not consider them to be excessively rowdy. We are sorry though that they followed you into the lounge and you also had breakfast at the same time. This cannot be avoided, but is pure chance, as we have a 2 hour window for breakfast.

As you were staying in our courtyard rooms, these are also our dog friendly rooms and again, we are unable to prevent the odd dog from barking. However, we do not allow dogs in any of the bedrooms in the main building, so it is best to contact us direct so that we can talk through your requirements and allocate a suitable room.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 17, 2018

We called in for lunch on a day trip,there was an excellent and varied menu.we both really enjoyed our meals ,we found that they also had rooms so we investigated and had a word with the receptionist who provided a brochure, having a look round we were so impressed we decided we would have a few days there in the spring. It is ideally situated for the Welsh Highland and the Festiniog steam railways , plus the many attractions of the Llyn peninsula we are sure we will enjoy a stay there

Room Tip: Ground floor for persons with walking problems as there is no lift. These rooms are in a courtyard
Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank kennethollerhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane G, Guest Relations Manager at Royal Sportsman Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2018

We are so pleased you discovered us by accident and enjoyed your meals. We are very conveniently situated to all the major attractions in the area and look forward to having you to stay with us in the spring. We do excellent dinner, bed and breakfast packages. Please do call us direct to discuss and book.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews