We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”
Review of Tudor Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Tudor Lodge
Ranked #2 of 12 Porthmadog B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 April 2012

Wonderful welcome from Carl and Anja. We arrived on a motorcycle after a great ride through beautiful countryside. Motorcycle friendly with secure parking offered. The room was well decorated and spotlessly clean, the bed was comfortable and the bathroom had a large shower. Breakfast was continental style buffet. We was given lots of information about the surrounding area and places to eat, there also was a folder with more information in the room. We would recommend Tudor Lodge and will be booking to stay with Carl and Anja again.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank neilsal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (420)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

312 - 318 of 420 reviews

Reviewed 27 March 2012

Fabulous place to stay with great hosts, Anja and Carl.Comfortable, warm and very clean, good breakfast continental buffet style with lots of choice. Very central, right in town, close to Portmerion, (well worth a visit), Snowdonia, Oriel Plas Glynn-y-Weddw (don't miss it). Ffestiniog Railway from Porthmadog to Caernarfon for a journey through Snowdonia National Park on a steam train There's loads to do. Will be booking with them again, and spreading the word. We stay in loads of places and this is one of the best.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank McQueenLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2012

I booked this hotel online having tried various others in Porthmadog in the past. It is central but quiet, clean, warm and friendly and reasonably priced. Breakfast is a continental style buffet rather than cooked but the range is excellent and I didn't miss the 'full english'

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank oehugh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2012

This mini-hotel was for us a lucky find, ideally located in the centre of town. The room was attractively decorated, warm and spotlessly clean, and the bed was really comfortable. Although we had booked in for just one night, we were treated on arrival like royalty. Carl gave us all the information we needed about places to eat in town - impartial advice which was really appreciated. The "continental" buffet breakfast was sufficient for us, but I dare say some visitors will miss the "full Welsh" fry-up.

Room Tip: Book one of the larger rooms if you can afford t o - especially if it's available at a cheaper r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Albert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2012

Just stayed one night in a rainy feb. Very warm welcome from Carl and Anja. Room was excellent very comfy bed, modern, warm, clean, comfortable and tastefully decorated room. Loved the high bed. Lovely pictures on the wall of local scenes by local photographer. Are they for sale? We stayed in room 8 at the front of the hotel. Nice powerful shower. Just one suggestion would be to place the mirror closer to a PowerPoint had trouble reaching mirror whilst drying my hair. A really good range served for continental breakfast, coffee was good quality and what I need first thing! Loved the fresh fruit salad with blueberry and strawberry. I feel over critical mentioning but it would have been nice for my other half to have had ghe choice of decaf tea. There were 10 teas available though and good quality ones too! Both Carl and Anja were very helpful and knew the locality very well giving restaurant and pub recommendations. Thank you for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marcia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2012

In my opinion this is the best hotel in Porthmadog and beyond by far. l regularly stay here on business and l'm always made most welcome by Carl and Anya who keep the place immaculate. They write a Welsh word or phrase of the day which is a nice touch and are brilliant tour guides for the area.
There is no cooked breakfast but that is no problem for me as l don't eat them and much prefer the fresh fruits and continental breakfast provided.
I have visited with my parents and was put in the lovely one bedroomed cottage which has it's own entrance off the car park.
The showers work well, rooms nice and dark, sheets clean and fresh (what you should expect but not all hotels have this!!!)What more could you ask for.
Would l stay again? Without a doubt, feels like home now.
Angela

Room Tip: Never had a bad room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Angela C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2012

We booked the Tudor Lodge last minute and we are really glad we did.
Carl the owner was really helpful when we arrived he gave us information on places to visit and information on all the local restaurants.
After we checked in we went to our room and found it very warm and comfortable it had a very nice en-suite and the room was very cosy.
The continental breakfast was one of the best I have ever had, lots of choice.
I would definately recommend the Tudor Lodge and would not hesitate to stay there again

Julie and Roy

Room Tip: we stayed in room number 4 which is ground level
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roy m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Porthmadog
0.1 km away
Royal Sportsman Hotel
Royal Sportsman Hotel
#2 of 2 in Porthmadog
701 reviews
2.9 km away
Hotel Portmeirion
Hotel Portmeirion
#1 of 1 in Penrhyndeudraeth
1,487 reviews
0.7 km away
Travelodge Porthmadog Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 km away
Caerwylan Hotel
Caerwylan Hotel
#1 of 6 in Criccieth
396 reviews
6.5 km away
Glyn-y-Coed Hotel
Glyn-y-Coed Hotel
#2 of 6 in Criccieth
299 reviews
1.4 km away
The Golden Fleece Inn
The Golden Fleece Inn
#2 of 5 in Tremadog
406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tudor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tudor Lodge

Address: Tan Yr Onnen Penamser Road, Porthmadog LL49 9NY, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Porthmadog
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Porthmadog
Price Range: $132 - $166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Tudor Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tudor Lodge, 4 star hotel quality guest house, bed and breakfast is located in Porthmadog, a small Welsh harbour town. Porthmadog is very close to the famous Italianate village Portmeirion, Black Rock Sands, Snowdonia mountains and the Ffestiniog Railway. Tudor Lodge is a superb hotel quality guest house/ bed and breakfast with the attractive building set in its own mature gardens just off the Porthmadog high street on the Criccieth road. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Tudor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tudor Hotel Porthmadog
Tudor Lodge Porthmadog, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing