We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little gem”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Barratts of Tyn Rhyl
Ranked #2 of 26 Rhyl B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 July 2017

This is a little oasis in Rhyl. The building is an old, historic house ( I believe the oldest house in Rhyl) which has been sympathetically restored and decorated. Our room had a canopied bed, opulent soft furnishings, and a bathroom with an old iron enamelled bath. The bed was soft yet firm at the same time, I meant to check out what sort mattress it was for when we have to renew ours. The extras in the room gave it a really quaint luxurious touch. A little bedside dish of sweets, (including parma violets), a decanter of sherry, and hula-hoops and kit-kats on the tea/coffee tray.

Our hosts David and Elvira are very friendly and chatty, hospitable and obliging. When we visited they were even nursing a sick seagull back to health (feeding it on sea bass so there was none left for my dinner!). The food was excellent, David the chef has worked in Michelin starred restaurants, and it shows. His food has a fullness of flavour not universally found. His sauces were generous and flavoursome. The cherry and almond tart was lovely and no soggy bottom in sight! The sticky toffee pudding was rich with mouth filling flavour. The menu was written out by hand on our arrival, it all depends what came in fresh that day.

I have only one criticism, and Elvira, this is meant constructively, the bathroom linen lets the side down. Plush towels would complete the total experience of luxury.

Room Tip: It's set back off the road, so all rooms likely to be quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SueNewport_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fiveofninewales, Owner at Barratts of Tyn Rhyl, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2017

We're so pleased you enjoyed your stay.
The matress you slept on was memory foam which I buy from memory foam warehouse. They have a good selection and are helpful when deciding what to choose.
Sedge the seagull has flow thank goodness. He was a demanding guest and required a fresh bath (in the wheelbarrow) every day. His daily menu choice was very basic but expensive. His sudden departure one sunny afternoon without a backwards glance was most welcome to us both. I hope he has a long and happy life and adapts to finding his own Seabass from now on.
As for the bathroom linen your quite right and already I have new supplies gracing the stands in all rooms.
Thank you so much for your lovely review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (159)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 15 of 159 reviews

Reviewed 10 June 2017

This is a lovely place to stay with such lovely and generous hosts. The room was fabulous, clean pretty and really comfy. The food was delicious and thoughtfully prepared. The house looks like a chocolate box house tucked away, hidden from the street. Staying there was a real treat. Thanks Elvira and David.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Jo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2017

Stayed for two nights in May. Was made welcome form the moment we got there and cannot fault the place. The bed was very comfortable. The house is 400 years old and has lots of character the fire place is rumoured to be made from the bedstead of Catherine of Aragon King Henry V111 first wife. The breakfast was excellent the table was set with strawberries, blueberries, raspberries and blackberries with a apricot compote with a honey yogurt plus fresh orange juice. Then you could have a choice of breakfast tea or coffee. We also decided to dine there on the evening and found the food was absolutely amazing. So we ended up dinning both evenings. Cannot thank Elvira and David for a lovely stay. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank josie2301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2017 via mobile

Having just spent a weekend there recently I cannot fault the place. Our room was spotless with one of the comfiest beds I've ever slept in, don't know if the decanter of sherry in the room though. The owners are very friendly and helpful, the attention to detail though out the listed building is fantastic. Last words however must go to the food, if you do nothing else during your visit to Wales eat here, the food is superb.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank graham c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2017 via mobile

We came here and had the most amazing time.
It's was a quiet but very special occasion for us.
We brought our boy Jack who was completely overwhelmed by the experience, surrounding and food. We were a bit nervous about taking him but he behaved beautifully.
The food is amazing, the host was fantastic......the chef was brilliant, Jack went to meet him after we'd eaten, he still talks about it.
We'll definitely be back and Thankyou x

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
Thank Christilee G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2017

Comfortable lounge with welcoming roaring fire. Very cosy bedroom with attractive ensuite with roll top bath. Charming hosts very friendly and helpful.
First rate Fine dining resturant Good selection of wines. Pleasant garden. Quirky hotel with original features around every corner. Highly recommended. Jackie

Room Tip: Attractive comfortable room with beautiful roll top bath
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 515jackiej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2017

This must be one of the best hotels I have ever stayed in and David and Elvera who run it are superb hosts, nothing is too much trouble and they are just so fabulously good at it.

Breakfast alone is worth the journey, fresh fruit, locally sourced meat, wonderful omelettes all served in a beautiful conservatory, which over Christmas has some brilliant decorations. The house is old and characterful with wood paneling, open fireplaces and a great range of books that invite you to sink into one of the sofas and just let the world drift by.

There are only three bedrooms all of which are fully provided with everything that you could want but the touch that I enjoyed most was the decanter of sherry in each room - a very convivial touch.

My colleagues and I stayed there on and off over four months and every visit was a joy, it was like coming home. Work commitments meant that we only got to eat there one night but that meal was delectable, David is a marvellous chef and the lamb that I had was perfect, locally sourced and succulent. My colleagues had fish and that was similarly popular.

This hotel is worth travelling to and the if you do make sure that you eat there, you wont be disappointed.


Stayed: March 2017
1  Thank Theatricalsolutions
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fiveofninewales, Owner at Barratts of Tyn Rhyl, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2017

Thank you for your smashing review. It made us feel all warm and fuzzy inside. I wish there was a guest review site. I would write that the National Theatre of Wales company were a bright and cheerful lot and a pleasure to have had them stay with us. Thanks also David for your thoughtfulness and considerations. Your absence at the breakfast table has left a gap and we feel a twinge of sadness as we pass the kitchen shelf where your bottle of Tobasco sauce is sat waiting to be served.....

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rhyl
1.2 km away
Pier Hotel Rhyl
Pier Hotel Rhyl
#1 of 5 in Rhyl
382 reviews
5.9 km away
The Beaches Hotel
The Beaches Hotel
#1 of 3 in Prestatyn
652 reviews
1.2 km away
Westminster Hotel
Westminster Hotel
#5 of 5 in Rhyl
603 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 km away
Talardy Hotel
Talardy Hotel
#1 of 2 in St. Asaph
379 reviews
1.4 km away
Berwyn Guest House
Berwyn Guest House
#1 of 26 in Rhyl
275 reviews
0.9 km away
Roseview B&B
Roseview B&B
#3 of 26 in Rhyl
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barratts of Tyn Rhyl? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barratts of Tyn Rhyl

Address: 167 Vale Road, Rhyl LL18 2PH, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Denbighshire > Rhyl
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Rhyl
Price Range: $162 - $165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in a peaceful acre of private grounds Tyn Rhyl is run by award winner Chef /owner David Barratt & his wife Elvira. David's cooking is imaginative generous & beautifully presented. His menu is adaptable & can be changed to suit personal /dietary requirements. The oldest house in Rhyl has paneled hall & snug, conservatory, restaurant & comfortable double ensuite bedrooms. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Barratts Of Tyn Rhyl Hotel Rhyl
Barratts Of Tyn Hotel Rhyl
Barratts Of Tyn Rhyl Wales, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing