We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peace and quiet in Vinales”
Review of Casa Villa Silvia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Casa Villa Silvia
Ranked #33 of 202 Vinales B&B and Inns
Reviewed 23 February 2012

We spent two nights here, most restful after the hubbub in (parts of) Habana. The whole family are genuinely friendly and prepared to put up with my mangling of their lyrical Spanish, all in the interests of communication. The villa is spotless and handy for the village where we encountered Carlos, a taxi driver. He took us on an unforgettable trip into the valley. Silvia's cooking is first class and, as in the rest of the island I was happy to gorge myself on the fish and fresh fruit. Book this casa, you'll love it! john and leo A

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank john a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (185)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

68 - 74 of 185 reviews

Reviewed 29 January 2012

Even though we had many beautiful casas in Cuba, this one was the best. Clean, comfortable, peaceful, great food, lovely people.
We picked the room in the back (the other one is not bad either, but the one in the back even has more privacy) and received a welcome cocktail. The house is located in one of the smaller streets, just 5 minutes walking distance to the main square. The room was spacious, very clean, two big beds, private bathroom. It is quiet, you just here sometimes the horsecarts passing in front of the house which makes the stay even more charming, From both rooms you have access to a small terrace on the rooftop with deckchairs and a great view over the village and countryside.
Breakfast is delicious with fresh fruit, bread, pancakes, eggs, juice etc. Dinner was perfect! Lobster, Fish, chicken - freshly made, very tasty and a lot! Prices absolutely fair for what you get.
The son is barkeeper in one of the hotels on spot and if you like you can order a fresh Mojito. The family is very charming and helpful with information and advise. Car can be parked right in front of the casa. If you arrive by bus it's just a short walking distance to the casa. We stayed 2 nights but would have loved to have more time.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Swobbi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2012

Villa Silvia was certainly one of the best casas we stayed in Cuba. The room in the back felt like a luxury hotel room, with its wonderful bathroom and own patio. Silvia is a great cook, her langosta (lobster) is delicious. The family treats you like you are one of them and eventhough they don't speak English, they make you feel at home and do everything for your comfort and pleasure. The only negative thing is the general problem (at least in my experience) of the uncomfortable (too soft, creaking, you can feel the springs...) beds in Cuba. We stayed in 6 different casas and this was the case everywhere, so you just probably have to get used to this.

Room Tip: We liked the room in the back of the house. Gives you more privacy and has its own cute patio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2012

Mama Silvia is a force of nature. Not only is her food amazing, bountiful and fairly priced - her (and her family) is warm, welcoming and respectful. Although our Spanish was limited we still communicated quite well with her and her family (her Son speaks some English). Her son booked a great tour through the Vinales valley for us with an English guide. The room was clean, water warm and the rooftop patio is great before sunset. Casa Villa Silvia is the standard that all Cuban Casa's should strive for!

This casa was the best one we stayed at over a 5 casa visit to Cuba. Vinales is beautiful, and Casa Silvia is a great place to relax, eat and smoke cigars on the rooftop patio. Her son's mojito is also highly recommended.

Room Tip: Bring some warm clothing for the cool nights in Vinales. I would choose the room separate from the h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dkarges
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2012

We stayed 2 nights in the Casa Sylvia and we really were very happy. The people, very kindly came to pick us up at the bus station. The place is quite, very clean and confortable. Sylvia was really nice, organising everything for us, even a massage in our room! The food a casa Sylvia was much better than in the local restaurant. Do not hesitate to have diner at this place. Vinales is a beautiful place worthwile travelling to.

Room Tip: They have 2 rooms. The one in the garden has higher intimity.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ariane m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed at 4 different casas while in Cuba and this was by far our favorite. The whole family was very welcoming and friendly and tried hard to communicate with us (only the son knows a little English) since we couldn't speak much Spanish. They even invited us to eat with the family for their New Year's dinner! I'd say don't even go out to eat--eat all your meals there because Mama Silvia is an amazing cook and generous with food portions for low prices. She'd ask if we wanted seconds and everything is incredibly fresh. On top of that, we had to leave by 6:30 am on our last day and Mama Silvia actually cooked us breakfast at such an early hour. The best prices I ever paid for delicious food!

The casa is clean and beautiful, and close to the city's center. The room we stayed in was spacious with 2 beds and our own shower, air conditioning, and a safe for keeping valuables. There were a number of bugs such as mosquitoes, a cockroach, and ants, but that is to be expected of probably most of the houses in Vinales. Some people mentioned the low water pressure in the shower, but to be honest Casa Silvia probably had the most water pressure out of all the casas we stayed at; I came to the conclusion that water pressure in general just seems to be very low in Cuba.

Great value for what you get--amazingly friendly family who will bend over backwards to take care of you, beautiful house, and overall the most comfortable stay out of our entire time in Cuba.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank worldtraveller476
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2012

This summer 2011, I and my wife stayed 2 nights at Silvia's house in Vinales - excellent room, nice food and friendly support in booking a horse ride in the valley and deciding what to see in the area. Silvia cooked both dinner and breakfast for us and let us use her freezer for water bottles. The room is very nice and the house has an excellent location in centre of Vinales.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChrW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vinales
0.0 km away
Villa Florez
Villa Florez
#54 of 310 in Havana
27 reviews
394.1 km away
Casa MiCuba
Casa MiCuba
#17 of 365 in Trinidad
126 reviews
0.7 km away
Villa El Habano
Villa El Habano
#3 of 202 in Vinales
546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Casa Oreste El Pelotero
Casa Oreste El Pelotero
#48 of 202 in Vinales
88 reviews
0.5 km away
Villa Haydee Chiroles
Villa Haydee Chiroles
#23 of 202 in Vinales
200 reviews
339.5 km away
Hostal Cienfuegos Center, Luis Emilio y Odalys
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Villa Silvia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Villa Silvia

Address: Rafael Trejo # 9, Vinales 22400, Cuba
Region: Caribbean > Cuba > Pinar del Rio Province > Vinales
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 202 B&Bs / Inns in Vinales
Price Range: $56 - $58 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Casa Villa Silvia 2.5*
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Casa Villa Silvia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing