We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Casa Villa Caricia(Vinales)(Great Value!)
US$20
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
Casa Sol Coral(Vinales)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 21/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$40
Booking.com
View Deal
Casa El Porry(Vinales)
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Villa Tery(Vinales)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Restaurant
Reviews (813)
Filter reviews
813 results
Traveller rating
750
53
7
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
750
53
7
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsswimming poollobsterhorse ridingthe main streetrecommend this casabreakfast and dinnertwo nightsstocked fridgeair conditioningextended familywonderful stayrocking chairsmango juicetobacco farmlovely casalovely hoststhe location is perfect
Filter
Updating list...
374 - 379 of 813 reviews
Reviewed January 16, 2012

We highly recommend Villa Jorge y Ana Luisa to unassuming travelers who appreciate good food, interesting conversation, and relaxed atmosphere more than tourist luxury. Ana Luisa is a very warm-hearted and entertaining hostess and by far the best cook we encountered during our trip in Cuba. The house is conveniently located close to the farm lands, off the main streets of the village, and the family has a new building entirely for visitors soon to be completed. The house was almost ready in December, and we are looking forward to seeing it fully decorated some day. Muchas gracias a Ana Luisa, Jorge, the relatives and neighbors for caring, good company, and “curandería de Viñales.”

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank asta k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 15, 2012

Stayed with Ana Luisa for 3 nights.
Our stay started with a huge downpour at the bus station, her poor daughter had to talk us home in rivers of water, but it was so sweet for her to wait for us, show us the way as it was dark out.
3 blocks from the main square/ bus station, her place is tucked 2 blocks off the main road, so it is quiet- except for the various livestock in the area that will give you a wake up call.

We had a room with 2 beds, very large. A fridge that was stocked with water was convenient.
The shower was not the hottest, though when we were there, it was cold, so I think in the usual heat, it would not have mattered.

Ana Luisa is always around to answer questions, will find a tour guide or whatever you want.

Breakfast was I think 3 cucs. So much food it was difficult to finish- we had eggs cooked to our liking, a pancake, fruit, fresh fruit, coffee.

Dinners were downright ridiculous in size! I think 7 cuc per person. I don't think I ever finished- there was salad, soup, rice, usually fried potato/ malanga chips, and always more fruit! I had the lobster which was a little tough if you are used to New England style, but flavorful. Another night fish which was very tasty- seemed fresh. Pork was my least favorite- but still tasty.

They are building a new house next door- it will be interesting to see how this will be different- probably more room for guests- but currently it was very comfortable. They also did get a dial up internet service when we were there- I'm not sure if this is for the guests or not.

The beds were comfortable, though as in most of cuba pills are small and not abundant. On the unexpected cold nights, more blankets were provided.

I think the Hop-on Hop -off bus as a first day introduction to the town, great views (at least on the day they had the open top bus). Getting a tour of the tobacco leaf sorting factory called Estanca- was very informative, though the other stop called Casa de Vigeuro was not interested except for the 1 minute of cigar rolling demonstration. The jewel of the valley is the view from Hotel de Jazmines, It would be tempting to stay here!

We did not go to any other restaurants in town - I don't see any reason to not eat with Ana Luisa! Though we did get some street food- peso pizza, ice cream, that was a lot of fun.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelDreams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 22, 2011

From the moment we arrived we felt at home with Jorge and Ana Luisa. They have a beautiful home (and are building a new one next door that will be exclusively for tourists), and are a wonderful family. Ana Luisa was a joy to talk to daily about anything and everything. The food was incredible, every meal a delicacy. Ana Luisa arranged wonderful excursions for us including a guided walk and horseback ride with Domingo (a MUST do!) and a taxi ride in a '50s car to some incredible caves (Gran Caverna de Santo Tomas). Our entire 5 nights in Vinales were comfortable, relaxing, and enjoyable and I can't imagine a better place to stay than with Jorge and Ana Luisa. The entire family, including cute little Palmara the dog, were wonderful to us during our stay and we look forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kmlauer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 21, 2011

We spent three nights at Villa Jorge y Ana Luisa in November 2011 and really enjoyed ourselves here. Ana Luisa is a lovely, gracious lady…and a great cook! Plan to have at least one dinner here. My stomach was a little off while I was in Vinales, and Ana Luisa made a rich and delicious chicken and vegetable soup to sooth my tummy. Yum! She also brewed up an herbal tea that also helped.
Our room at the back of the house was quite basic, but clean and air-conditioned, with a private bathroom, and a fridge stocked with bottled water and beer. We had two double beds in our room, but be aware—one of the beds is the mattress, and the other is just a box spring, and oh-so-uncomfortable.
The villa is on a dead-end street and was very quiet at night, but still only a few minutes from the main street. I loved the little upstairs terrace where we had our breakfast, and we spent several evenings reading in the rocking chairs on the front verandah, guarded from any and all neighbourhood ‘dangers’, such as boys on bicycles and roaming chickens, by the protective and adorable Palmeira, the wee family dog.
If you’re a beginner with Spanish, as I am, Ana Luisa will speak Spanish carefully and distinctly to help you learn. Otherwise, her ‘Spanglish’ is very competent! She’s happy to arrange horseback riding or bicycle rentals. Our horse trek with the personable guide, Domingo, was one of the highlights of our trip to Cuba.
Ana Luisa is busy renovating a second casa on her property to be a house for tourists only, and it should be finished early in 2012. It’s going to be absolutely fantastic! She showed us the gorgeous tiles that will run through the house, the new bathroom fixtures, and even pots and baskets of flowers that she’s started, and that will grace the new verandah. There will be two bedrooms with private baths, a living room, kitchen, and dining room, all for exclusive use by her guests. She’ll be right next door for cooking, cleaning, and consultation. This will be a great casa for families, or friends travelling together…highly recommended.
If you would like to book directly with Ana Luisa, her email is: anajorge@correodecuba.cu

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thrumpin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 17, 2011

We stayed in february 2011 for 3 days at the hostel and had a great time. The home made food was delicious. The rooms are clean and comfortable. The lady of the house is very friendly and charming! The best spot to stay in Vinales!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews