We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not to be missed”
Review of Valle de Vinales

Ranked #1 of 20 things to do in Vinales
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Cumbria England
Level Contributor
191 reviews
54 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“Not to be missed”
Reviewed 6 March 2012

We took a guided walk with a local Park guide, who was superb. The walk takes you from the centre of Vinales town through the tobacco plantations, drying barns, a stop at a local farm for fresh coffee and a cigar rolling display, and throughout a frank and open commentary on the way of life for rural people. Vinales is rich in natural resources so the people here are better off than in many areas we visited, and there are lots of private B&Bs in the area if you are travelling independently.
The scenery of the region is spectacular. No other word to describe it. It's possible to hire horses from the town too, and that would be a great way to see the area.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank WandererCumbria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,487 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,478
    850
    117
    27
    15
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
59 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Unexpectedly stunning!”
Reviewed 4 March 2012

To be honest, this was the one part of my trip I wasn't looking all that forward to. My mate wanted to check it out and as I dictated much of the rest of the trip, I couldn't say no. And boy am I glad I didn't! The drive down from Havana is horrible (if self driving) but then any drive in Cuba is. We got lost in the backstreets of Pinar del Rio for a while and I would just recommend missing that town altogether. When you reach the top of the hill to see the Vinales Valley below, it's absolutely breath taking. There's an info centre right there too which offers great photo ops. The township is cute but doesn't offer much really. Watch out you don't mow down the kids at the entrance of the town as they'll jump in front of your car trying to get you to stay at their casa (recommend the Casa Teresa Hernandez here too). We ended up extending our one night to two nights here and could have stayed longer. Didn't actually do any activites in the valley but we did go out to Cayo Jutias which is one of the most beautiful beaches I've ever been to. And I live in the South Pacific! For stunning scenery you have to go to the Vinales (and Cayo Jutias).

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
6 Thank BowlsTom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Absolutely breathtaking”
Reviewed 3 March 2012

Went on a full day's tour of the Valley and all the individual sites within it. Of course a must if you have come here.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank annaend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level Contributor
43 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Experience traditional Cuba with a wonderful Cuban family”
Reviewed 27 February 2012

We loved Vinales as the people were friendly, the sites were beautiful and very interesting. Our hosts (Osvedy y Leyani) were a lovely young couple, so warm and full of hospitality. Cost is 25 CUCs for the room per night. Their casa is only 3 years old, very comfortable beds, very clean and with a lovely view of their farm. (This includes vegetables as well as a few pigs, chickens, ducks) Their friend Luis drove us around in a vintage car to the various sites ( 3 hours for 25 CUCs) and we saw a tobacco farm, caves with boat ride and a horse drawn carriage ride. We ate breakfast and dinner there and it was excellent. Breakfast cost 4 CUCs each and dinner was 8 to 10 CUCs each depending on what you ordered.
We stayed at 4 different casas on our trip and this one was the best, mainly because Leyani was so wonderful and the town of Vinales seemed like stepping back in time to the old Cuba.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
8 Thank Katie079
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vernon, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Intriguing”
Reviewed 27 February 2012

The mogote hills of Viñales are mesmerizing. There is a lot to do in the region: horseback riding, hiking, & dancing. We took our bikes & rode around the region without any problems, other than encountering tourists who don't know how to drive in Cuba (honk your horn & take a wide berth when you pass). We visited a tobacco & organic farm (although most farms are organic) that give you a good idea of agricultural systems in the region. We rode to Cuevas de Santo Tomas & Cayo Jutia, beautiful areas well worth your time.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank jmcpheeVernon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Valle de Vinales also viewed

Vinales, Pinar del Rio Province
Varadero, Matanzas Province
 
Havana, Ciudad de la Habana Province
 

Been to Valle de Vinales? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing