We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (31)
Filter reviews
31 results
Traveller rating
27
3
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
27
3
1
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
25 - 30 of 31 reviews
Reviewed September 23, 2008

When looking for a place to sleep in the Okanagan Valley on the internet, the name of this B&B caught our attention. It is definitely an escape; a ten minute drive from Summerland and the last part upon a steep hill, but the place is absolutely beautiful. Both the suite and the apartment have their own private hottub, beautiful bathrooms and fully equiped kitchens. Make sure you follow the houserules of the owners, and you will be fine. We absolutely loved having a barbecue on the patio watching the sunset and relaxing in our hottub with a glass of wine under the starry sky, what else could one wish for?

  • Stayed: July 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank ArtistheP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 24, 2008

We simply cannot say enough about ‘our Summer home’, The Grape Escape. We stumbled upon it on the internet in 2005 and have stayed there every Summer since! It is the perfect balance of everything a relaxing getaway should be: superb hosts, wonderful suites with all the privacy you require, an amazing setting, and a breakfast that genuinely defies description. Gerri’s attention to detail lends the air of a world class resort but at the same time, her friendly nature and willingness to give area advice and insider tips makes you feel like you are staying with friends.
George is knowledgeable, friendly, and always willing to give a tour of his vineyards and educate you on the art of the grape. He is fun to listen to, and you will learn more than a thing or two on a broad range of topics. He is an unofficial Okanagan Valley Ambassador. Together, they are the perfect hosts.
Access to barbeques, the large decks with panoramic views, and all the peace and quiet required make for a little slice of heaven. After dark, the private hot tub affords the most remarkable views of the night sky we have ever witnessed.
We have stayed all over the interior and nothing compares.

Stayed: July 2008
Thank SummerlandFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 9, 2007

I stayed at the Grape Escape Guest House for 5 days in early November.
Located in the beautiful hills of the Okanagan, ten kilometers from the charming town of Summerland, there is a view everywhere you look, including one of George's vineyard. The guest house has all the luxuries of a five star hotel; marble tiled floor in the bathroom, king sized bed, a huge TV and beautifully furnished in antiques. There is a lovely little kitchen area if you want to cook for yourself. A real treat is the hot tub located on the deck just out side the door. I watched the dawn break in the morning and the stars come out in the evening. The weather was perfect for using the hot tub, clear, cold and crisp. The breakfasts were another highlight of my stay at Grape Escape. Gerri is an excellent cook and every morning there was a different delicious breakfast, more aptly described as a brunch. Certainly not the cold danishes, toast and dry cereal I have been offered at other B &B's. I had a wonderful stay at Gerri and George's and look forward to returning.

  • Stayed: November 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SkTiger01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 9, 2007

If you want a quiet get away in a peaceful setting, this is the place to do it. Set in a young working vineyard, Gerri and George go out of their way to make you feel at home. Gerris' legendary breakfasts kept us going all day.
Our suite included a full kitchen and dining nook along with a private bath, sitting area, private entrance, and bedroom. Murphy the cockatiel provided pleasant chatter and song during our visit and the rooster was our alam clock. The view from our room was stunning and we spent our evenings on the deck enjoying a glass of local wine with our cheese and crackers. Georges' tour of the vineyard was informative and enjoyable.
Overall we received excellant value for our money and I would recommend this place to anyone wishing a quiet retreat.
Don't be alarmed by the driveway, everyone makes it to the top without a problem. Think of it as the stairway to heaven!

  • Stayed: September 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mtnbikr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 6, 2007

We stayed at the Grape Escape for 5 nights. The guest house is high up on a hill with the vineyard above and is about 10 minutes drive from town.

The Get Away suite, where we stayed, is a separate building and is very private, beautifully decorated, and comfortable. There are lovely views and a deck c/w a hot tub. The bathroom is especially gorgeous with marble tiles, claw foot tub and separate shower.

The hosts (Gerri and George) were very friendly and knowledgeable about the area. Gerri provided recommendations for touring the local Wineries and directions for hiking close by.

Breakfasts were delicious and different every day. In the evenings, Gerri brought us tea and dessert.

Overall, we thought this was by far the nicest B&B we’ve ever stayed at and we would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank RnK_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews