We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best place to unwind”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Summerland
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Grape Escape Guest House
Ranked #15 of 21 Summerland B&B and Inns
Reviewed 3 September 2009

My wife and I prefer quiet when on vacation so after a day of wine tasting or the beach it's nice to return to this beautiful slice of paradise. From the fantastic view over the vineyard to the star-studded sky from a late-night hot tub to the warm, open graciousness of the hosts this place just can't be beaten. The interior is beautifully decorated, and as comfortable as you will find anywhere. George and Gerri are fantastic hosts and Gerri makes the most amazing food to start your day. Nicely situated between Kelowna and Penticton there are wineries galore within easy driving distance. Lots of beaches, hiking, local artisans, good food, there is always something new to do here. This was not our first stay here and won't be our last. A great place to take a holiday.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wetcoastrabbit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (31)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

21 - 27 of 31 reviews

Reviewed 30 August 2009

We found this B & B to be a hidden gem, tucked in the rolling hills only 6 km from Summerland. Stillness, space and peace underlaid our experience with the cheerful and oh so competent hosts, Geri and George. Accommodation was sparkling clean, spacious and well-appointed. Our food was gourmet and delicious. We also chose to have our laundry done which was a great option when travelling. Then there is the vineyard that looms above the accommodations! 5 acres of vines that George is only too happy to show you. (I'm sure that you may taste some wine while visiting) Both of our hosts were very knowledgeable about local sites, wine tours and fine restaurants. We look forward to returning to the Grape Escape when we are in the area next.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kerrby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2009

Just came back to vanc island after a wonderful Band B experience. This is very noteworthy as my husband thought he disliked all B and B. But the privacy, the thoughfully choosen antiques, and attention to details sold my husband and he can"t wait to return. The suite has great energy with all the big windows and natural lighting. We were so impressed with the views and the delicious , creative and heatlhy breakfast basket. It was fun to talk to George and Gerri who are naturals at hosting. They knew when to be there and when to leave us alone.

As home wine makers we enjoyed learning about grapes and got some invaluable tips from George who is very knowledgeable.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cowichanmax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2009

We've stayed at the Grape Escape on three separate occasions. Visiting the Grape Escape is like a ‘home away from home'. Gerri treats you like one of her own... her cooking is absolutely fantastic and she is so friendly. We had a blast catching up with her over a glass of Pinot Noir that George and Gerri make out of the grapes on their own vineyard. Yes, the B & B is nestled in a vineyard on Garnet Valley Road. You really have to see it to believe how nice the location is!

The Grape Escape offers one of two B & B choices. The "Get-Away" suite, which is a detached bungalow - separate from the main house. It comes complete with it's own patio, BBQ, hot tub and King-sized bed. George and Gerri also offer the "Grape Escape" suite - which is part of the main house. That's where we stayed this time! It features a HUGE kitchen, a wood-burning fireplace and a hot tub as well. We were up at 7 on Saturday morning, enjoying our coffee in the hot tub while watching the sun come up over the mountains. It was absolutely breathtaking! THEN, we were treated to the most incredible breakfast. Gerri used to be a caterer and her cooking is worth the stay in and of itself! She served us delicious Rosti, smothered with melted havarti cheese and green onion, topped with mouth-watering bacon strips and farm fresh eggs! In fact, we watched Gerri go fetch the eggs from the hen house while we were relaxing in the hot tub. Can it get any better than that? Top that with fresh-squeezed orange juice, warm ‘out of the oven' banana muffins and hot fresh coffee and it's a meal made in heaven!

We simply cannot say enough about the Grape Escape - the venue is unbeatable - but more importantly, Gerri and George are the most hospitable, warm hosts. If you are looking for a little getaway with you and your spouse OR if you want to take the whole family, we highly recommend the Grape Escape.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AJandTJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2009

I first stayed with Gerri & George in August 2006 when I had International guests and we needed lots of room. My guests were totally awed by the setting, food and wonderful hospitality of our hosts. Even though there was a language barrier, George was able to "convey" the vineyard process to them !! The accommodations were superb. So, when I was needing some comfort this past fall, I headed back to Grape Escape. From the moment you arrive, George and Gerri are there to see that you are welcome..... a glass of wine in their home, showing you what is available in their area and around town and the gourmet dinner on Sunday evening, set in the porch, overlooking the valley. A retreat to visit often.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Manitobahiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2008

When looking for a place to sleep in the Okanagan Valley on the internet, the name of this B&B caught our attention. It is definitely an escape; a ten minute drive from Summerland and the last part upon a steep hill, but the place is absolutely beautiful. Both the suite and the apartment have their own private hottub, beautiful bathrooms and fully equiped kitchens. Make sure you follow the houserules of the owners, and you will be fine. We absolutely loved having a barbecue on the patio watching the sunset and relaxing in our hottub with a glass of wine under the starry sky, what else could one wish for?

  • Stayed: July 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank ArtistheP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2008

We simply cannot say enough about ‘our Summer home’, The Grape Escape. We stumbled upon it on the internet in 2005 and have stayed there every Summer since! It is the perfect balance of everything a relaxing getaway should be: superb hosts, wonderful suites with all the privacy you require, an amazing setting, and a breakfast that genuinely defies description. Gerri’s attention to detail lends the air of a world class resort but at the same time, her friendly nature and willingness to give area advice and insider tips makes you feel like you are staying with friends.
George is knowledgeable, friendly, and always willing to give a tour of his vineyards and educate you on the art of the grape. He is fun to listen to, and you will learn more than a thing or two on a broad range of topics. He is an unofficial Okanagan Valley Ambassador. Together, they are the perfect hosts.
Access to barbeques, the large decks with panoramic views, and all the peace and quiet required make for a little slice of heaven. After dark, the private hot tub affords the most remarkable views of the night sky we have ever witnessed.
We have stayed all over the interior and nothing compares.

Stayed: July 2008
Thank SummerlandFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Summerland hotels
9.7 km away
Summerland Waterfront Resort & Spa
8.2 km away
Rosedale Motel
Rosedale Motel
#3 of 4 in Summerland
46 reviews
13 km away
Summerland Motel
Summerland Motel
#2 of 4 in Summerland
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 km away
Wildhorse Mountain Guest Ranch
8.1 km away
Dogwood Bed and Breakfast
Dogwood Bed and Breakfast
#6 of 21 in Summerland
39 reviews
11.1 km away
Harvest Moon Guest House
Harvest Moon Guest House
#13 of 21 in Summerland
3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grape Escape Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grape Escape Guest House

Address: 28411 Garnet Valley Rd, Summerland, British Columbia V0H 1Z3, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Okanagan Valley > Summerland
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Summerland
Price Range: $130 - $160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vacation in a georgous, fully equipped, private suite or beautiful room with en suite bath on a working vineyard in the heart of Okanagan wine country. Quiet country setting, only ten minutes from the beach with private hot tubs. Enjoy complimentary wine tasting and vineyard tour and savour the incredible breakfasts each day - all accompanied by generous hospitality. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing