We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (31)
Filter reviews
31 results
Traveller rating
27
3
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
27
3
1
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
21 - 26 of 31 reviews
Reviewed August 30, 2009

We found this B & B to be a hidden gem, tucked in the rolling hills only 6 km from Summerland. Stillness, space and peace underlaid our experience with the cheerful and oh so competent hosts, Geri and George. Accommodation was sparkling clean, spacious and well-appointed. Our food was gourmet and delicious. We also chose to have our laundry done which was a great option when travelling. Then there is the vineyard that looms above the accommodations! 5 acres of vines that George is only too happy to show you. (I'm sure that you may taste some wine while visiting) Both of our hosts were very knowledgeable about local sites, wine tours and fine restaurants. We look forward to returning to the Grape Escape when we are in the area next.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kerrby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 26, 2009

Just came back to vanc island after a wonderful Band B experience. This is very noteworthy as my husband thought he disliked all B and B. But the privacy, the thoughfully choosen antiques, and attention to details sold my husband and he can"t wait to return. The suite has great energy with all the big windows and natural lighting. We were so impressed with the views and the delicious , creative and heatlhy breakfast basket. It was fun to talk to George and Gerri who are naturals at hosting. They knew when to be there and when to leave us alone.

As home wine makers we enjoyed learning about grapes and got some invaluable tips from George who is very knowledgeable.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cowichanmax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 23, 2009

We've stayed at the Grape Escape on three separate occasions. Visiting the Grape Escape is like a ‘home away from home'. Gerri treats you like one of her own... her cooking is absolutely fantastic and she is so friendly. We had a blast catching up with her over a glass of Pinot Noir that George and Gerri make out of the grapes on their own vineyard. Yes, the B & B is nestled in a vineyard on Garnet Valley Road. You really have to see it to believe how nice the location is!

The Grape Escape offers one of two B & B choices. The "Get-Away" suite, which is a detached bungalow - separate from the main house. It comes complete with it's own patio, BBQ, hot tub and King-sized bed. George and Gerri also offer the "Grape Escape" suite - which is part of the main house. That's where we stayed this time! It features a HUGE kitchen, a wood-burning fireplace and a hot tub as well. We were up at 7 on Saturday morning, enjoying our coffee in the hot tub while watching the sun come up over the mountains. It was absolutely breathtaking! THEN, we were treated to the most incredible breakfast. Gerri used to be a caterer and her cooking is worth the stay in and of itself! She served us delicious Rosti, smothered with melted havarti cheese and green onion, topped with mouth-watering bacon strips and farm fresh eggs! In fact, we watched Gerri go fetch the eggs from the hen house while we were relaxing in the hot tub. Can it get any better than that? Top that with fresh-squeezed orange juice, warm ‘out of the oven' banana muffins and hot fresh coffee and it's a meal made in heaven!

We simply cannot say enough about the Grape Escape - the venue is unbeatable - but more importantly, Gerri and George are the most hospitable, warm hosts. If you are looking for a little getaway with you and your spouse OR if you want to take the whole family, we highly recommend the Grape Escape.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AJandTJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 22, 2009

I first stayed with Gerri & George in August 2006 when I had International guests and we needed lots of room. My guests were totally awed by the setting, food and wonderful hospitality of our hosts. Even though there was a language barrier, George was able to "convey" the vineyard process to them !! The accommodations were superb. So, when I was needing some comfort this past fall, I headed back to Grape Escape. From the moment you arrive, George and Gerri are there to see that you are welcome..... a glass of wine in their home, showing you what is available in their area and around town and the gourmet dinner on Sunday evening, set in the porch, overlooking the valley. A retreat to visit often.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Manitobahiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 23, 2008

When looking for a place to sleep in the Okanagan Valley on the internet, the name of this B&B caught our attention. It is definitely an escape; a ten minute drive from Summerland and the last part upon a steep hill, but the place is absolutely beautiful. Both the suite and the apartment have their own private hottub, beautiful bathrooms and fully equiped kitchens. Make sure you follow the houserules of the owners, and you will be fine. We absolutely loved having a barbecue on the patio watching the sunset and relaxing in our hottub with a glass of wine under the starry sky, what else could one wish for?

  • Stayed: July 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank ArtistheP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews