We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous mushroom pasta and wonderful octopus”
Review of Basico

Basico
Ranked #23 of 120 Restaurants in Holbox Island
Price range: US$4 - US$25
Description: Located at the main street just one block away from the sea, this place is a must stop. It will delight all your senses. Our cuisine proposal in mexican contemporary fused with oriental ingredients to accomplish a unique and original blend. Our cocktail's mixology was designed specifically for each drink mixing spiced and fruits. We blend our own syrups to achieve a unique taste. We have 15 cocktails listed on our menu, sometimes our mixologist will whip up something new in the spur of the moment and we will only have it available at that time. Our music is based on a tropical mood. We designed a playlist for each moment of the day according to the position of the sun. At night we sometimes have disco house DJ's. We have a great bar and very comfortable arm chairs and tables for bigger parties or for those seeking a complete restaurant ambiance.
Restaurant details
Description: Located at the main street just one block away from the sea, this place is a must stop. It will delight all your senses. Our cuisine proposal in mexican contemporary fused with oriental ingredients to accomplish a unique and original blend. Our cocktail's mixology was designed specifically for each drink mixing spiced and fruits. We blend our own syrups to achieve a unique taste. We have 15 cocktails listed on our menu, sometimes our mixologist will whip up something new in the spur of the moment and we will only have it available at that time. Our music is based on a tropical mood. We designed a playlist for each moment of the day according to the position of the sun. At night we sometimes have disco house DJ's. We have a great bar and very comfortable arm chairs and tables for bigger parties or for those seeking a complete restaurant ambiance.
Reviewed January 29, 2018

A very upscale place that someone too great care to design, but better yet the food was truly excellent. Try the sea bass and don’t miss the mushroom pasta—it is far superior to anything at Casa Nostra.

Date of visit: January 2018
Thank jo ellen j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (390)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

55 - 59 of 390 reviews

Reviewed January 26, 2018 via mobile

A group of us (3 couples and a 4-year-old) chose Basico for dinner. We were taken to a table at the very back, where 4 of us had a fine view of the wall. There are amber floor lights, the brightest lights in that part of the restaurant, one of which was thoughtfully focused directly into diner's eye-level. The menus were read with difficulty; we used cell phone flashlights to make out the tiny print in orange (?) on beige or maybe gray (?) paper. Prices were very high for the area. Waiter took drink orders (juice/beer/water) which took a long time to come, juice/beers only. Waters were requested a second time. Food orders still not taken. The general tone of service was grudging. We decided to have our drinks and eat elsewhere. We asked for the bill; you guessed it - another long wait. There were at least 5 front of house staff, and no more than 7 tables occupied. The delays were hard to fathom. Finally the $200+ peso bill arrived in a pretentious metal dish on a stand with a domed lid. A 500-peso bill was duly deposited and eventually retrieved by the waiter. After a time the domed dish returned - with a 20-peso bill and some coins. Then try to catch the waiter's attention! Suddenly he's soooooooo busy he's pretty much sprinting between his few tables and disappearing into the back. The leader of our pack interrupted one of his dashes to say, "I ask for change, and you give me this?" while handing over the dome. In a flash, the dome was wordlessly returned and lifted to reveal the missing 200 pesos.
We went down the street to Et Voila, were kindly welcomed, and enjoyed excellent food at fair prices in a fun atmosphere... and our waiter was invited to keep the change.

Date of visit: January 2018
Thank Nancy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 22, 2018

We ate at Basico three times during our stay. We had cocktails, lunch and dinner.

It's one of the trendier restaurants in Holbox. The interior of the restaurant is modern and sleek. Every detail has been considered, down to the glasses and plates.The service was good all three times.
The cocktails were delicious and inventive. We tried one with passion fruit pulp which was yummy.
During lunch we ordered the shrimp ceviche in black squid ink, fish tacos, and chicken tacos. The shrimp ceviche isn't for everyone. I thought it tasted delicate and was a pretty good ceviche but because it looked a little unappetizing, my husband wouldn't eat it. If you can overlook the fact that food looks a bit unappetizing then have a try.
The chicken tacos were average. The lacked spice in my opinion.
The fish tacos were pretty good.
During dinner we ordered lamb and sea bass. Both dishes were tasty but the portions were small.
Overall, the service, decor and quality of food is good but the portions could be a bit bigger for the price.

Date of visit: January 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank dokru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 21, 2018 via mobile

Delicious, great attentive service and spectacular cuisine.. I’m reading some other reviews complaining about service but seriously? Leo was amazingly present. This is truly a brilliant display of modern Mexican cuisine perfection! I will recommended and return as often as possible.

Date of visit: January 2018
Thank ben F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 20, 2018

We can recommend this place. The design of the restaurant is cool and modern but still with a local twist. Food was tasteful and well prepared. Live music added to the atmosphere. Presentation was a bit strange and we got our starters at more or less same time as our mains. To get top remark service and coordination should be upped a level and the winelist should be improved. Big plus for accepting credit cards!

Date of visit: January 2018
Thank pswe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Basico also viewed

Holbox Island, Quintana Roo
Holbox Island, Quintana Roo
 
Holbox Island, Quintana Roo
Holbox Island, Quintana Roo
 
Holbox Island, Quintana Roo
Holbox Island, Quintana Roo
 

Been to Basico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing