We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$142
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
US$225
US$192
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Hotel Puerto Holbox(Holbox Island)
Free cancellation until 29/07
US$189
US$184
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$273
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Xaloc Resort(Holbox Island)
US$189
US$159
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$193
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Villas Flamingos(Holbox Island)
US$327
US$273
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$224
US$213
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Casa BlatHa(Holbox Island)(Great Value!)
US$77
US$75
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
Reviews (356)
Filter reviews
356 results
Traveller rating
230
68
32
14
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
230
68
32
14
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmin bike rideceviche verdegolf cart servicewedding celebrationtwo story buildingsfree bikesother hotelsupstairs barin townbeautiful sandamazing chefgreat destinationjunior suitepescadokite surfershotel is situatedsand bar
Filter
Updating list...
44 - 49 of 356 reviews
Reviewed December 12, 2016

This hotel is magical and I'd go back any time. This was our first visit to Isla Holbox and this hotel. We had an ocean view suite (east end, first floor, in front of the second pool) and stayed for five nights. This place felt like some serious Holbox and Mexican hospitality. Everyone that worked there was great and the grounds/landscaping always looked incredible.

LIKES:
-You're right on the ocean. Few of the hotels have that benefit in Holbox. Most are across the street from the water.
-There were so many intimate spots you could hang out at the hotel if you wanted your own spot. They have three pools, and two different areas directly on the beach to hang out (one including beds).
-Food is good- I recommend the avocado stuff with shrimp, or the fish tacos.
-

THINGS TO KNOW:
-Hot water in our shower wasn't there. It took a long time to get a drop. The weather was warm while we were there, but not enough to deal with the cold shower :-)
-Wifi here is tough, but we didnt mind. I actually liked it, but you might want a data plan if you're not a domestic traveller. You could usually get slow wifi at the lobby, that was about it.
-We really loved our room, but the first floor ocean view rooms don't have any privacy, and I believe they cost the same as the upstairs one. Try to get an upstairs one!
-There are guys that kite/parasail next door and they often walk through the hotel and sometimes they were loud and annoying.
-The location is literally at the end of the road. We would often walk to town for dinner. The walk is about 20 minutes, but it's DARK. Take a flashlight. We were glad to have ours. Otherwise, it's a taxi.
-Some rooms don't have TVs... So if you want your telenovelas, you better ask for a TV room :)

Room Tip: If you get an ocean view room, try to get one upstairs!
  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MattMarion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OscarValdemar, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Las Nubes De Holbox, responded to this reviewResponded December 16, 2016

Thank you so much for staying with us and sharing your experience with the TripAdvisor community. We are so happy to hear that you guys had very nice days with us. Regarding the WiFi, it´s something over our control, in the island there is lots of problems with that, and specially in the area we are located at because we are just beside the magical YumBalam reservation, but as you said, it´s a great opportunity to forget about the outside World and get into the inner World of ourselves with the mother nature. We have rooms with TV, but most of our guests prefer to enjoy of the spectacles that nature offers every single moment, that´s precisely the magic of staying at Las Nubes de Holbox, instead other hotels in the island. We hope you come back very soon and enjoy again of this wonderful and intimate paradise in México.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 1, 2016 via mobile

We booked 3 nights at Hotel Los Nubes del Holbox for November and can report that it is a wonderful place to stay and for both couples on romantic getaways but family holidays. The kitesurfing opportunities looked fantastic and this point on the island would appeal to active families.
We missed the bus from Cancun to Chiquilla so ended up having to fork out for a taxi (1600 pesos from Cancun centre) and after a full day of travel/waiting/transfers we were starting to wonder if Holbox would be worth it.
Our opinion- 100% yes!
After our short golf caddy transfer (50 pesos) we were greeted with facecloths and voucher for a 15mins complimentary massage. We were then shown straight to our room; an individual bungalow in the garden next to a pool and with sea views. The photos online don't do the rooms justice. They are clean and well equipped with an attention to detail that I hadn't anticipated. A hammock, organic body products, night reading lights, high quality linens. At night the staff even bring an icebox and small edible treats.
The restaurant serves tasty food and the staff are very attentive. Be sure to catch a sunset from the upstairs bar or roof. On a clear day it is spectacular.
The grounds are very well maintained and the beach was a real pleasure to spend time on. We also really liked all the little nooks and crannies; a sunbed here, some cushions and a secret vista there.
Los Nubes seems more private than the other upscale hotels as it is set at the end of the beach strip.

We can't wait to come back, hopefully for a longer visit!

Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
3  Thank BusinessTravellingLo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OscarValdemar, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Las Nubes De Holbox, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2016

Thank you so much for choosing us to spend wonderful days at Holbox. We are so happy to read how good your experience was, we loved the way you describe our facility and details. We are working on having better pictures to display on our website, so, more people will see the beauty of our rooms. Please come back soon and stay longer! We have an amazing season every year between May and September with lots of eco-activities such as swimming with the king of the seas: The Whale Shark. You will love to do this!

Kind regards from all the members of Las Nubes de Holbox

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 25, 2016 via mobile

Holbox is a true paradise and Las Nubes is the place to stay.
The rooms are cozy and comfortable, with AC, hamaca, and a nice shower.
The service was excellent, people in this area are super nice!
The restaurant is very good, I ordered the lobster risotto and highly recommend it.
There are two pools, one with ocean view.
I didn't get to try the spa, maybe next time.
You get a welcome margarita at your arrival and brownies in your room at night.
Can't wait to go back :)

Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
2  Thank MarianaR480
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OscarValdemar, Public Relations Manager at Las Nubes De Holbox, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2016

Hello Mariana! Thank you so much for choosing us to stay in paradise. We are so happy to hear you enjoyed of our facility and amenities. Definitely, you need to come back and try our SPA, we have a great natural treatments menu waiting for you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 25, 2016

My husband and I stayed at Las Nubes Nov 19-26th. The transport from door to door was very well coordinated. Everyone communicated and the next person knew of our arrival and time. The ladies at the front desk when we arrived were very helpful and answered all our questions (and I had plenty of them). Thank you Elvia, Daniela, Alejandro and everyone at the Reception desk who helped us get there.
The property is breath-taking, very lush. Our room was very tastefully decorated, simple yet sophisticated and was private. It had a great wrap-around porch where we sat every and chilled. It also had a terrace that connected to the restaurant and bar if we wanted to take that route to dine. And the star-gazing experience from the rooftop was amazing! I'm glad we didn't get the ocean view/ocean front because those are closer to the pool and restaurant which is frequented by Guests (and kids...)
We had breakfast every morning and our waiter, whose name escapes me now (he has Wednesday afternoons off and comes back to work Thursdays at 2PM), really nice man, very attentive, always with a smile on his face. I mostly had the continental breakfast and hubby usually ordered from the menu.
Our dinner each night was superb except the last night.
Surf and Turf - lobster tail was sweet and soft, skirt steak (which is hard cut of meat to cook) was broiled to perfection and was tender and juicy. Lobster Risotto was delicious! Seafood Fettuccine was exceptional. Seafood Salad - and here's the issue: on Tuesday night that dish was superb (lots of seafood of different kinds, dressing was light and herbie), however the next night (same exact dish) was skimpy and dressing was not the same, had some sort of peanut or nut, which I was not too crazy about. Must have been a different Chef in the kitchen because my husband ordered the same thing both nights (Grilled Fish with Mixed Greens Salad) and on Tuesday was great, Wednesday not so much.
The property offers bikes, which we used on several occasions to go to town. It's a fun ride :)
Spa - I was hoping to take a few yoga classes, but they didn't have an instructor. So instead I had a massage (BTW - the property offers a complimentary 15 minute massage...so nice!). Alejandra, the masseuse was so in tune with my requests - she gives the best massages ever! All products used are organic.
Weather all 4 days we stayed there was fantastic! Only 1 afternoon there were a few drops, but other than that it was excellent!
Note: If you want romantic and quiet, this might not be the place for you. There were tons of kids with completely oblivious parents, who let their kids run around, disturb others, feed the animals (there are signs instructing specifically NOT to feed the animals), screaming and being obnoxious.
Overall we give this place and experience 8 out of 10.

Stayed: November 2016
2  Thank TangoIllinois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OscarValdemar, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Las Nubes De Holbox, responded to this reviewResponded December 16, 2016

Hello! Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us. It makes us so happy to hear how good it was. Unfortunately, the days you visit us we had an unusual amount of families with children, because we are almost all the year only with adults, and very quiet environment. So good you had the opportunity to try our SPA services, Alejandra is great...well all our staff are great as you wrote. We will let them know how good you felt during the days you and your husband spent with us...please come back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 23, 2016 via mobile

Very nice spot right at the end of the island, cool rooms (spacious, mexican-glam design, view), the waiters and chef are very nice, Pancha and Chucho (racoons) are part of the magic. The food is deliciuos, try the Ceviche and Shrimp Risotto. Visit the centre, walk on the sea and watch the stars... lovely!

Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Marsha M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OscarValdemar, Public Relations Manager at Las Nubes De Holbox, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2016

Hello Marsha! Thank you so much for sharing your experience in Las Nubes de Holbox. We are so happy you enjoyed your stay and you meet our dear friends Pancha and Chucho, they are amazing! You are so right, the food served at our restaurant "El Sabor de las Nubes" is delicious, we are glad you tried one of our emblematic plates "Shrimp Risotto". Please come back soon to admire one more time the beautiful sky full of stars!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews