We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$225
US$192
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
US$193
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Xaloc Resort(Holbox Island)
US$189
US$159
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Las Nubes De Holbox(Holbox Island)
US$367
US$288
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hostel & Cabanas Ida y Vuelta Camping(Holbox Island)(Great Value!)
US$48
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
US$224
US$213
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Villas Flamingos(Holbox Island)
US$327
US$273
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Puerto Holbox(Holbox Island)
Free cancellation until 29/07
US$189
US$184
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Casa BlatHa(Holbox Island)(Great Value!)
US$77
US$75
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Reviews (276)
Filter reviews
277 results
Traveller rating
173
71
17
7
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
173
71
17
7
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfresh fruitisla holboxexcellent beachnew mattresseslocal culturegeneral managerliterally stepsmain plazathe rooms were cleaned dailyincluded breakfastrooms are basicbring earplugstwo blocksquiet beachhotel is situatedbottled watertown square
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 277 reviews
Reviewed August 10, 2017

The hotel was more than we expected. It was our first time in Holbox and we knew it was going to be more of a laid back relaxing style. We met one of the owners who was super friendly and welcoming. Almost always followed by his beautiful and well behaved dog Gia. Service was exceptional. We even lost a cellphone in one of the tour boats and did not realised until later, but when we came downstairs to ask in the reception how could we contact the crew of the boat, the receptionist made some phone calls and after 2 hours we recovered the cellphone. The location is amazing, right in front of the beach. Breakfast was fresh, healthy and delicious. The rooms are comfortable and clean. We would definitely stay here again, no doubt.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank DJ-GalaWestlund
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 8, 2017

This hotel is truly right on the beach at the end of the main street in Holbox. So almost everything is close by - restaurants, shopping, grocery stores, etc. Every room faces the beach and ocean. The 2nd floor rooms have a balcony. We just went down the stairs and straight to lounge chairs under shade. There were also several hammocks. The bar was close by so cervesa was easy! The room did have an air conditioner which was appreciated! The included breakfast was a plate of fruit and bread and coffee. There are bars around and loud music into the night.
We really enjoyed staying at the Amaite. We tend to go with the flow and experience places as much as we can. If you want 5 star treatment don't stay here. It is much more laid back and easy going. The rooms aren't fancy but we were comfortable. My one issue was the bed - it was very hard.
Also keep in mind that you are on an island. Everything has to brought over by boat - including you.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank sebrown59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 13, 2017 via mobile

Holbox island is really lovely if you are into not very crowded-more natural places. We stayed in Amaite Hotel & Spa and we definitely agree that we couldn't select better for our stay. The hotel is in walking distance from the dock from Chiquila port. The building is very clean, the beach set-up is really nice, with camastros, palapas and hammocks. The rooms are basic but very comfortable; as expected for a real vacation, rooms do not feature TV set or cable, but Wifi internet is available.

The continental breakfast is just great. Fresh fruit, gourmet bread, juice of the day, butter and home made jelly that are phenomenal (papaya-cinnamon is the best) served in their beach front restaurant. Lovely view and healthy breakfast.

The staff is very friendly. Edwin in thw front desk, Lety from housekeeping and the barman and waiters for the beach are always attentive.

The property is located close to the Holbox main plaza-downtown, so it is sometimes a little noisy at night, but we fell asleep with no problem.

Once we go back, we wi definitely stay here again...

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Luis A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 5, 2017

we stayed overnight. no water....we could not take a shower or flush. terrible service. and the island has become one big garbage dump. garbage everywhere. environmentally speaking it is a hazard. won't go back. and it was one of our favorite getaways.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
5  Thank karenT7139ZR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 18, 2017

Isla Holbox is changing, but we are thankful that the Hotel Amaite remains largely unchanged, and that is what makes it such a fabulous place to stay. My wife and I enjoyed 3 ½ relaxing weeks at the Hotel Amaite in February, our third year in a row with them. It was our longest and perhaps our most enjoyable stay. Warm, genuine, unpretentious hospitality from Eduardo and the entire staff in a lovely, comfortable hotel right on the beach continues to be what the Amite offers. Many on the island seem to be trying to turn Holbox into another Riviera Maya or Isla Mujeres. But, thankfully, not so at the Hotel Amaite. We hope that never changes. That’s not to say that nothing changes at the Amaite. Each year we notice subtle improvements making our stay more comfortable. Beds in Mexican hotels (as in European hotels) tend to be hard by American standards. This year, we enjoyed new mattresses which were very comfortable. We also enjoyed massages twice on premises during our stay – both were great. We started each day with the included breakfast of really good, homemade bread toasted and topped with fresh fruit spread, a plate of fresh fruit, and good coffee. You can pay extra for other breakfast choices if you’re a big breakfast person. For us, the included breakfast is plenty. Our anniversary occurred while we were there and we celebrated with a fantastic seafood dinner by torchlight on the hotel’s small pier. Excellent food and service in a very romantic setting. We like the hotel’s location close to the action on the town square and many good places to eat. This is the cleanest hotel we’ve ever stayed at. Daily cleaning is well done, then one a week each room gets an even more thorough housecleaning. Isla Holbox is mostly a nature preserve and the hotel staff and owner are active in local projects to preserve and protect the island’s diverse ecology. Another reason we like staying at this hotel. If a slick, all-inclusive resort is your thing, the Hotel Amaite is probably not a good choice. In fact, Holbox is probably not a good choice unless you stay way up the beach in one of the big, relatively flashy and more isolated places. But then, if that is your thing, why go to the extra effort required to get to Holbox? If you like enjoying the people and the local culture of an area, you almost certainly will enjoy a stay on Isla Holbox at the Hotel Amaite very much. We sure do. We already have reservations for next year.

Room Tip: All second floor rooms have balcony with sea view.
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank James K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews