We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$163
US$114
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
US$232
US$211
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Casa Iguana Holbox(Holbox Island)
US$135
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Beachfront
  • Free Internet
US$266
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Las Nubes De Holbox(Holbox Island)
US$350
US$261
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$340
US$242
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Casa BlatHa(Holbox Island)(Great Value!)
US$77
US$53
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 21% below average rates

The price you found is 21% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$67/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hostel & Cabanas Ida y Vuelta Camping(Holbox Island)(Great Value!)
US$48
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Villas Flamingos(Holbox Island)
US$299
US$231
Cancelon
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$265/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (635)
Filter reviews
635 results
Traveller rating
352
150
68
33
32
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
352
150
68
33
32
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsadult poolluxury accommodationsswim up barbeautiful resortocean viewhear everythingnice beachincluded breakfastplaya del carmenbungalowislandholboxparadisecompletosandogcarts
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 635 reviews
Reviewed February 23, 2018

The good: Great location, nice beach and easy walk to town. Great friendly staff. Biggest plus was the excellent staff, all super friendly bilingual.

The not so good: For the cost, about $300.00 per night I just had higher expectations. The AC was under-powered so the room would only cool down at about 2:am. No fridge in the room which is generally standard at this price range. The breakfast is abysmal. We were in the most expensive room which are the ocean front bungalows of which there are only 4. Only 2 really are on the beach front, we did not have one of those, requested one and were told we would be moved when one opened up yet, despite watching turnover we were never offered the move. There is a beach bar right in the middle of these 4 bungalows so the radio could be heard all day and guests at the bar could be noisy at night. Finally, the shower water never really got hot, just warm.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Tampabay1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Xaloc R, Gerente at Xaloc Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2018

Dear Guest:

Your opinion is very important for us, that is why we apreciate all your comments and we are so glad that you took your time to tell us about your experience in Xaloc Resort.

We regret that your experience was not good enough for you. We understand that you desired a beach front bungalow however we offer Ocean View Bungalows, we understand that probably in different destination the prices are lower and also it might offer different amenities, Unfortunately we are not able to do something for you at this time regarding the comments of the AC or the shower however we appreciate your comments and we take note about your concernes as we do we every guests comments to improve our services.

We really hope, that on your next visit to Holbox, you can witness our improvements and offer you a better stay here in Xaloc Resort.

We will be waiting for you.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 24, 2018 via mobile

The hotel was charming until one day before our check out we realized that money had been stolen from the suitcase that we left in the room. Unfortunately, they didn't have safe boxes on the room and when we complained about the missing money they just brushed us off saying that they had never had problems before and that we should have left our valuables in the reception.
In hindsight, we thought it was suspicious that through our stay we came back from the beach to find our room unlocked after having been cleaned and that on one occasion some people that looked more like maintenance staff came in looking lost and saying that they were wondering if we needed the room to be cleaned, a couple of minutes after the cleaning guy had left. Be careful with your things in this place!

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
4  Thank Patricia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 18, 2018

We recently stayed at Xaloc and really liked it! Staff were very friendly and helpful. It is a little more on the rustic side, so if you're looking for luxury accommodations, you might want to look elsewhere. Maybe it's just where our hut was, but we could hear everything that was happening outside, and since the hotel is on the corner of 2 streets, you can hear the motorized golf carts running pretty late into the evening, and starting somewhat early in the morning. Per some other reviews we brought ear plugs and it worked out. It's right on the beach is located is about .25 miles into town, which was perfect. Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Kirsten C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Xaloc R, Gerente at Xaloc Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2018

Dear Kristen;

Your opinion is very important for us, we apreciate all your comments and we are so glad that you took your time to tell us about your experience at Xaloc Resort.

We are happy to read that you would definitely stay with us, We appreciate all your comments and recomendation to another visitors as you told this is not a luxury accomodation however our goal is to make you feel comfortable and able to enjoy your vacations in our facilities.

We really hope, that on your next visit to Holbox, you can give us the honor to stay here in Xaloc Resort. We will be waiting for you and your family for the next vacations.

Kind regards!




Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 17, 2018

This was our second destination in Mexico and we were positively surprised on arrival. David from reception welcomed us in perfect English and the check-in didn't take long.

The hotel is simple (like everything in Holbox), but it is within walking distance of the city centre and has its own beach.

The employees are very friendly and greet you always radiantly. Every request was fulfilled and after I broke my toes, I was even offered a room exchange on the ground floor.

Also during our stay David was always very courteous with recommendations and assistance (excursions, organizing of transport, etc.).

Thanks again for the great week and see you soon!

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sunflowercurlygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Xaloc R, Gerente at Xaloc Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2018

Dear guest;

Your opinion is very important for us, we apreciate all your comments and we are so glad that you took your time to tell us about your experience at Xaloc Resort.

We appreciate the special mention of David, it is always nice to hear that our staff can make the difference doing all possible things to make you feel as in home. You can be sure that your comments will motivate him to keep the quality of service we offer in Xaloc Resort.

We really hope, that on your next visit to Holbox, you can give us the honor to stay here in Xaloc Resort again. We will be waiting for you for the next vacations.

Kind regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 26, 2017

If you want to relax and forget of the common life issues, this is the place to be. When we arrived we found Holbox as a ecologically friendly island, very safe and very beautiful, but since the moment we arrived the hotel, my God!! What a wonderful place!! Excellent rooms, excellent food, excellent service, all the people willing to look after you, I didn't want to leave the place!!! Congratulations to Claudia the manager who always is looking for all her guests' happiness.

Room Tip: The rooms in the middle are the best located and the most quiet.
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alpha_Eagle_Soft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Xaloc R, Gerente at Xaloc Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2017

Dear Guest:

Your comments are very important to us, that why we all appreciate that you take your time to give us a review about your staying in Xaloc Resort.

Thank you for giving us the highest rating on TripAdvisor. Your words means the world for us! And motivate us to continue to giving to every guest and family, the highest quality in every service that we offer.

We will waiting for you on your next visit to Holbox! Thin in Xaloc Resort as your second home!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews