We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hostel in Arraial and one of the best hostels ever!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Arraial d'Ajuda Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 December 2013

If you're looking for a great hostel in Arraial, Arraial d'Ajuda Hostel is the place. It's simply perfect. The atmosphere, the architecture, the services.. It's complete.
Most of Arraial are Pousadas not hostels. Arraial d'Ajud Hostel looks more like a pousada but where you can only rent one bed and meet other travelers. I call it the Pousada Hostel.
Carla, one of the owners will make you feel home and will always make sure everything is great.
There is a nice pool but too didn't have time to try it. As I was always busy with the beach. Which is about 15 minutes walk or you can take a motor-taxi if you want. And the hostel is located only 2 minutes walking away from the main square, Broadway street, and Mucuje street where everything happens.
Thank you Arraial d'Ajuda Hostel for offering such a nice experience.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (245)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2 - 8 of 245 reviews

Reviewed 7 May 2013

My friend and I stayed here for over a week during Christmas. Mostly everyone in the hostel was Brazilian and as 2 girls from the United States, we couldnt feel MORE welcomed by the friendly staff especially the manager, Carla. The hostel is clean and beautiful and in a great location just a 2 minute walk from the center and 10 to the beach. There is a lovely swimming pool that is clean as well as a functioning kitchen and delicious breakfast! HIGHLY RECOMMEND!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MereStrobes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2013

If hostels would be rated this one would had 5 stars! I loved the interior design of the common area and the patio with the pool. If I wouldn't be travelling, I could spend a whole day there and enjoy the positive vibe of the place without going out ;)

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chebelica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2013

Its a great hostel, staff are great, always willing to help, breakfast is complete (juice, fresh fruits (2 everyday, bread, cakes, etc), dorms are cleanned everyday, nice kitchen if you want to prepare your own meal, located at downtown with a short walk to the beach and to buses and vans that will drive you all around. Close to supermarket and banks.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Schnaider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2012

The hostel is located on one of the main street just a couple of blocks from the towns center. Bank and market were located on the same street within short walking distance. Arraial is a small town. Everything was close by. The minivans going to and from ferry to Porto Seguro made stops directly in front of the hostel.
The hostel had a very nice and inviting courtyard with decent size and clean pool. Rooms were located around this courtyard. There was a guest kitchen, living room with TV and computer, and fairly large area with a pool table for socializing. All areas were well kept and clean.
My dorm had private bathroom, fan, A/C unit, small fridge, window and a nice private bathroom. Floors were fully tiled and fairly new. The lockers (drawers below beds) could be better. They were hard to open, noisy and awkward to store your things in. Beds were comfortable and clean. Pillows were mostly older and uncomfortable. I had to look to find a good pillow. Linen was white, clean and good.
Wi-Fi was strong and reached the rooms as well. Breakfast was better average, comparing to the Brazilian standard, but it was not bad. Both were included in the rate.
I do not recommend having your laundry done in the hostel. You will give them your laundry and they will ruin your clothes. There was a laundry place very close by on the same street. The staff was hospitable and, with the exception of the laundry, helpful as well. Only the owner spoke English.
This hostel was not the typical HI hostel. In fact it was not a typical hostel. It was more like a posada than a hostel. I have never seen so many young children in a hostel before.
Overall it was a good place to stay for a few nights.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank povetron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2011

Arraial d'Ajuda Hostel is a very charming and cozy place. It seems that they reinvest a good bit of their revenue into keeping the place look like new. The rooms, common areas and everything else are absolutely spotless. The kitchen is sort of open air and also very well maintained.

The rooms are spacious and have state of the art A/Cs that don't make any noise. The mattresses appear fairly new and are comfortable.

If there is one thing that is maybe a little below average it is the breakfast. They have good coffee, some bread and a little bit of fruit. In Brazil you often get a little more variety for breakfast. But hey, it's still a hostel and for the money you pay it's totally acceptable.

Ah, and I loved the black house rabbit that runs around the common areas. A nice change from the standard dog you find in many places. ;)

Usually I'm not a big fan of hostels as I feel that a lot of them are rather worn down and that I often get better deals for double rooms at regular pousadas / B&Bs. However, Arraial d'Ajuda Hostel is definitely an exception where you get great value.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Thomas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carlaarraial, Gerente at Arraial d'Ajuda Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2015
Google Translation

Tom,querido!!!!!Seu comentário é valioso para nossa equipe!Aguardamos seu retorno em breve!Abração,carla

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2011

This was far and away the best hostel we've ever stayed in. I am honestly baffled that anyone could give this place less than a very good rating, so I'll try to justify and clarify my view a bit:

The staff was incredibly friendly. Contrary to an earlier review, several of them do speak english very well. This place is owned and operated by a group of women who have tried (and very successfully) cultivated a more "guesthouse" or "pousada" feel to the accommodations. The complimentary breakfast that is included in your rate was hands down the best we found in all of Brazil- freshly made bread, your ham and cheese, great coffee, an assortment of teas, a variety of local fruits and juices, and breakfast cakes. You won't start the day hungry and you can eat as you please up until 10 AM.

Internet and computer usage is completely FREE, a nice plus as a traveler without a mobile device. They will wash, dry, and fold your laundry for you for R25 while you're at the beach, which was very helpful. They also have a great common area with a pool table, TV, a picturesque pool and courtyard with hammocks, and a kitchen that is available for use at any time.

It is in the heart of the town along the bus route, across from a school, two blocks from Banco de Brazil and another block from a grocery supermarket, as well as a variety of good eating options walking in further toward town and/or the beaches. It is a 15 minute walk to the beach along cute cobblestone streets with various boutiques. Praia Pitinga a bit further down along the sand is the better beach in terms of waves, clarity of water, ambiance, and setting (the red cliffs!).

Now, we visited this place during the low season. With this said, I've heard Arraial really picks up during the summer and tourist season. We paid R70/night for a private double with bathroom after a travel discount, and it was worth every penny (this comes to about $45/night US dollars). This felt less like a hostel and more like a quaint hideaway. I imagine prices jump up during tourist season and it becomes a bit more packed. This hostel seemed very family and couples friendly; my girlfriend and I absolutely loved it, but I can imagine that if you're looking for a more "wild" or youth-oriented hostel, this doesn't appear to be your place. I know we'll definitely be back! Highest recommendations!

Room Tip: Show ID as a teacher, student traveler, or member of HI (hostelling international) for a discount
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank autumnomous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carlaarraial, Gerente at Arraial d'Ajuda Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2015
Google Translation

Estamos esperando seu retorno!!!!!! Seu comentário nos deixou super felizes e sempre lemos em equipe para sentir-nos mais motivados!Obrigada!!!!!!!!!Volte logo!!!!!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arraial d'Ajuda
Village Arraial BY MN Hoteis
#14 of 20 in Arraial d'Ajuda
220 reviews
Praia Mar Hotel
#58 of 99 in Porto Seguro
418 reviews
Hotel Solar do Imperador
#21 of 99 in Porto Seguro
808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
Hotel Vale Verde
Hotel Vale Verde
#63 of 99 in Porto Seguro
143 reviews
Adios Amigos Hostel
#7 of 90 in Arraial d'Ajuda
55 reviews
Pousada O Cantinho
#22 of 90 in Arraial d'Ajuda
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arraial d'Ajuda Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arraial d'Ajuda Hostel

Address: Rua Caminho do Sol 94 | Centro, Arraial d'Ajuda, Porto Seguro, State of Bahia 45816-000, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Bahia > Porto Seguro > Arraial d'Ajuda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 90 Speciality Lodging in Arraial d'Ajuda
Price Range: $24 - $189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Arraial d'Ajuda Hostel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Arraial d'Ajuda Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arraial D'Ajuda Hostel Bahia, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing