We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Place, and Relaxing” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Nitana

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Nitana
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Covenas
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice Place, and Relaxing”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2011

My family and I visited Hotel Nitana back in April on 2011 while on vacation from the U.S. It was the week of "Holy Week" (Semana Santa) and we wanted to relax for a couple of days. We came without a reservation and the new owners (who happen to be Spaniards) were nice enough to accommodate my family (consisting of 4 adults and two children) for two nights. The Hotel offered clean rooms and complimentary breakfast for the entire family. The hotel has a recently added large pool that was a hit with adults and kids alike.

I do however have two complaints. One of the owners was overly concerned with the children playing in the yard while we (the adults) conversed and watched over them. It made us a little uncomfortable to say the least.

The other complaint we had is that we were not allowed to have food delivered to us by a local restaurant in the area. The owner explained that they offered cooking on the premises and we could bring foods in, but could not have it delivered to the premises. I can understand that they obviously want to cater to the customer’s needs, but I’ve never been in a hotel where I couldn’t have food delivered to us.

The hotel is decent. On a scale from 1-10 I give this Hotel a 6. In its favor is cleanliness, the breakfast offered with the stay and the pool. Against its favor is a short fused owner who although well mannered, was too concerned when children were playing in the yard and could make an exception when it comes to food being delivered to the hotel. In the end the pros offset the cons (but not by much). I would stay here again, but would be weary about how management would react to young children being around.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Weapon99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    28
    8
    10
    8
See reviews for
37
22
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2011

This hotel is on a stretch of beach which is dirty and rife with stray dogs. The rooms in the hotel itself are fine but definitely overpriced. The staff did not seem interested in being helpful even though our group was fluent in Spanish and had Colombians in it.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Adukalsk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Covenas hotels

Bogota, Colombia
Level Contributor
146 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2011

I have been in Hotel Nitana as well as Hotel La Fragata in Covenas. In despite the last one is more famous and bigger than the first one, it is Nitana much better. Rooms are bigger and best kept, both are in front of the beach but waters on La Fragata seems to be stuck there. Fragata has a bigger restaurant but you can walk from Nitana to eat at there.
If I am back to Covenas I will pick Nitana again.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Malexrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, FL
Level Contributor
58 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2011

Stayed for 3 nights with 1 and 5 year-old children. The hosts could not have been more gracious. The place is right on the beach and though the website does not mention it, there is a large pool with a sort-of children's wading area, too. Took about 3 hours by bus from Cartegena to reach Covenas. Then a short taxi ride to the hotel. Ask to be let off on the beach side. The place was perfect for us back and forth from the beach to the pool to the beach - you get the idea. The food at the on-site restaurant is basic Colombian fare: fish, chicken, pasta, rice. There are other places to eat, also on the beach, just a short walk away. Very few other tourists in Covenas during our stay which made everything all the more relaxing and a real getaway.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FloridaMomOrlando_FL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Covenas
3.6 km away
Hotel PortoAlegre Covenas
16.6 km away
Hotel Soleira
Hotel Soleira
#2 of 5 in Santiago de Tolu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
24.7 km away
Hotel Costa Linda
Hotel Costa Linda
#1 of 5 in Santiago de Tolu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Hotel La Fragata
Hotel La Fragata
#4 of 7 in Covenas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
37.4 km away
Decameron Isla Palma
Decameron Isla Palma
#1 of 1 in Isla Palma
4.0 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
0.0 km away
Hotel Playa Dorada
Hotel Playa Dorada
#7 of 14 in Covenas
3.0 of 5 bubbles 14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Nitana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Nitana

Property: Hotel Nitana
Address: Segunda Ensenada, Covenas, Colombia
Region: Colombia > Sucre Department > Covenas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Covenas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Nitana 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline and Ostrovok so you can book your Hotel Nitana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing