We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Kokobay, Isla Margarita.....My experience”
Review of Hotel Kokobay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Kokobay
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Juan Griego
Reviewed 23 June 2016

As a 70 year old who has spent his whole life in the Hotel industry, I was very impressed with this hotel. From the moment I arrived, the reception staff were very friendly and made me feel at home. As I travelled light I did not need help with my bags. It is certainly a beautiful setting as I walked by the pool to my room
The room itself was clean,everything worked and the air conditioning was perfect
I then went for a drink at the poolside bar and the friendly barman gave a dazzling display of tricks to provide me with my drink. There was entertainment later ,thankfully not too loud ,and then on to a good buffet ,hot and cold dishes...Something for everyone.
Again very friendly and efficient staff
Later on the beach there was a spectacular fire display ..The only hotel to do this on the Island,I believe. It was good also to see a large generator in case of power cuts

I slept very well ,and went up for breakfast . A machine making fresh hot toast and then the was a nice selection of hot and cold dishes, , fresh omelettes being made with a variety of fillings and unlimited tea and coffee. . I wish I could have stayed longer ,and I shall certainly be coming back there Alan Wood F.H.C.I.M.A

Room Tip: Ground floor is good for families with pram and young children. All rooms are excellent. I saw other...
  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Alan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (402)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Kokobay
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 8 of 402 reviews

Reviewed 1 September 2015

Their services were excellent friendly staff and management . Rooms appropriately ideal for family and comfortable, location scenic from front and back of the rooms, restaurants, foods and services is magnificent.

Room Tip: rooms at top level have better views
  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Deborah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

I visited this hotel for 4 nights 5 days. What can I say I no good. The hotel itself is fine but the drinks and food is very poor and cheap. If you are a person that love to go on vacation to have wonderful food and drinks please do not go to kokobay. The drinks are not the best the bartender on the beach tried his best. I was refused a drink when I asked for it. Can someone tell me what is all inclusive!?? These people do not have a full buffet they got a quarter of half buffet style food. Presentation very poorly. Again this is my review for someone else they can be fine with all this. I've been to a few places and this is definitely the worse. The reservation manager did his best. Thumbs up. NOTE: The staff has mess around with our personal belongings. Please be careful. When we came back to the room our stuff has been tampered with. And perfumes had been sprayed clothes had been sneaked through. I came with PERLA AIRLINES. DO NOT EVER TRAVEL WITH THIS AIRLINE. THE LIED AND
OUR FLIGHT DELAYED FOR AT LEAST 12 hours. Beware travelers.

Room Tip: Don't even this about coming here you will regret it.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Stephen_MDM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014

My family and I stayed at this hotel from July 24th- 27th. The night we arrived, the hotel staff gladly awaited for us to arrive so that we could have dinner since our flight had been delayed. The food was OK. A great amount of fresh fruits were available in abundance. The cleanliness could have been better though. During breakfast time there would often be cats walking around. The night shows were most enjoyable. The pool was good but again should have been cleaner. The pool bar had bees flying around the serving area. Wifi was available only in the lobby. Staff were very friendly and tried their best to understand what was being said by us even though they spoke little or no english. The rooms at the hotel were cleaned daily and fresh towels were put in. The hotel itself is very far from the shopping areas. About an hour drive.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank trinippl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

I visited Kokobay hotel on 19 June-22 June 2014; the hotel was nice and clean. The pool was great. There was always running water in the taps. I was a bit disappointed with the hotel room; I felt it could have been more attractive and the lights did not work well. The television has a number of good channels, a few in English; so this was great. The food was good; in my opinion, and there was a lot of fruits. I was most impressed with the service; the staff was helpful and approachable. When they did not understand what I asked in English, they sought help from another employee who understood English. However, I may not visit Kokobay hotel again as the location is too far from many of the interesting places that I wanted to visit and liming in nearby places at night is impossible. The area is desolate. However, I visited the fort which gave beautiful views of the landscape. But it was a very good hotel experience.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the pool area are quieter.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank 534marisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014

visited february 28th -march 3rd...........travelled solo reception was welcoming with a fresh drink and 1 person speaking very good english...check in was efficient .....room was cleaned daily and clean towels were offered daily ........a/c worked well a bit noisy later in the night...... cleanliness of the room was very good shower had no door so water spilled outside of shower ......had a good supply of hot water no problems with that ..........cable tv had a few english channels which was good .....general cleanliness of the grounds and pool was great .........FOOD was most times blah and my biggest problem was almost every food item contained pork ...bacon ...pork fat u name it... no vegetarian choices except salad and u have to check the salad carefully before eating u may just eat some bacon or ham ...the only thing i was safe eating was bread cheese and the desserts (no ham bacon or pork in that).....no labels on the food so u never sure of what u consuming .....fresh fruits were available daily and so was fresh juices which i really enjoyed .......................FLIES was visible by the dozens no joking about that and kitchen staff dont seem to be bothered by the flies they were sitting on the foods and having a feast grossssss........the bars were efficient in making the drinks i think there were 3 bars....only 1 main restuarant and a snack bar which only served hotdogs an pizza... ham and pork again no vegetarian .......the restuarant had a different theme every night so food had a good variety they did serve fish and chicken which tasted horrible ,,,,,,wifi was good but only in lobby ...but generally my stay was good but wont go back to kokobay due to the unsanitary buffet area ..dooors inroom had no peep holes just a flimsy door knob which makes u feel unsafe... ..currency exchange was between 55-80 bs to 1 us dollars which was great....krystal tours tour guides are rude and very unhelpful

Room Tip: rooms closer to the pool has wifi access
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank nalini s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2014

My husband and I stayed at the hotel for the carnival weekend and we were a bit afraid of what we would get after reading the reviews. Luckily all of the reviews we had read were wrong. The front desk staff was extremely friendly and they were awaiting us as we arrived 3hrs late due to delays. Most staff at the hotel spoke very little or now English at all but they still tried to accommodate us as best as they could. I smile is part of a universal language. The hotel seems to be frequented mostly by Venezuelans so the lack of English is understandable. We we're takes to a room which was very close to the restaurant but the noise was not a both at all. The television on had 2 English channels but after all were were on a Spanish speaking island. The bathroom had no mats on the floor which made the floor dangerous after one showered. Our rooms was cleaned daily and the towels were changed as well. The room overall was very clean and comfortable. The beach is a short walk from the rooms and is maintained by the hotel staff and there is a hotel bar on the beach itself. The beach area was great for exploring. The pool was always a busy are and so was the pool bar. I would recommend the lobby bar for a quiet relaxing vibe. The food was always served in a timely manner and was never in any shortage. Coming from an island big on seasonings and spiced I found it bland at times but the fish was always very good. I particularly enjoyed the omelette station at breakfast time. Mexican night at the restaurant was my personal favourite. The gift shop in the hotel was actually cheaper than shops in the town for souvenirs. The couple running the gift shop was very helpful. I never got to dine at the beach restaurant for lunch but snacks was mainly hotdogs and pizza. The hotel is ideal for a couple or family seeking a quiet, relaxing get away as activities are few. My husband and I were looking for an escape from the traffic and noise of everyday life and the hotel delivered. Sleep quality was excellent. On the plane ride home we started planning our return to the island and the hotel.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
7  Thank Allana D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Juan Griego
10.9 km away
Agua Dorada Beach Hotel by LIDOTEL
23.5 km away
California Hotel
California Hotel
#1 of 12 in El Yaque
197 reviews
11.4 km away
LD Le Flamboyant
LD Le Flamboyant
#5 of 15 in Playa el Agua
646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.9 km away
Maloka Hotel Boutique & Spa
13.0 km away
IKIN Margarita Hotel & Spa
IKIN Margarita Hotel & Spa
#15 of 89 in Margarita Island
219 reviews
20.1 km away
Unik Hotel Margarita
Unik Hotel Margarita
#2 of 8 in Pampatar
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kokobay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kokobay

Address: Sector la Boquita, Juan Griego, Margarita Island 6301, Venezuela
Region: Venezuela > Insular Region > Coastal Islands > Margarita Island > Juan Griego
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Juan Griego
Price Range: $59 - $149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Kokobay 4*
Number of rooms: 222
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity.ca so you can book your Hotel Kokobay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Kokobay Margarita Island, Venezuela

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing