We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Such fun and so different”
Review of Woodlyn Park

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Woodlyn Park
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Waitomo Caves
Reviewed 6 May 2017

We had the tail of the plane and it's very unique. It can sleep 4 people. Yes the shower is small and inside is a little cramped but it is what it is so enjoy it.
The manager was kind enough to tell us of some spots to drive to - Marokopa falls, Mangapohue natural bridge, Piripiri caves etc - which are free. It was such a good tip. Also the best glowworm experience. That kind of advise is priceless!

Room Tip: There's a range of unique rooms available
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank tysontrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kiwicommonsense, Front Office Manager at Woodlyn Park, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2017

Not very often that you get to sleep so soundly on a plane, yes space is limited but we prefer the authenticity of our accommodation, and are happy when people accept it. We are also glad we were able to inspire you to enjoy some of our gorgeous local scenery.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (263)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

27 - 33 of 263 reviews

Reviewed 29 April 2017 via mobile

Very disappointed, musty, damp and desperately needs refurbishing with interior/exterior to an acceptable and safe standard. Grounds were over grown and untidy. Light switch above bunk came out from wall exposing dangerous wires. Potentially dangerous for young children if sleeping there. I would not recommend this accommodation as a pleasant nor safe place to stay.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
Thank Jeffy1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kiwicommonsense, Owner at Woodlyn Park, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2017

With 3 weddings and a 50th birthday party, a function every weekend in the month you visited and raving reveiws about the setting from all , i cant see how the overgrown comment can be applied ,The only conclusion is that you may be talking about the large trees either side of driveway which have now meet above the drive and form a fantastic Glade (please google), which i suppose, to the odd one or two people could be seen as over grown
The power point , if you where serious about it ,and no matter who broke it, I think that common sense would say that you should have reported this immediately to staff, especially when a safty issue could be involved.
We have a high standard of both cleanliness and maintance in our small but world unique motel, as reflected in our number one rating in our area.
The fact that this wasnt even reported to the operator and has only been written about some time later on a blog page is a worry , and i would suggest to you or infact anyone, that reporting a breakage to the operator is more important than writting a blog .People do try to hide breakages from the motelier , and sometimes they are not immediately discovered Upon discovering that someone had obviously broken the fitting and tried to hide the fact by pushing it firmly back in place so as not to be noticed?, it was fixed immediately .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2017

We stayed in the rail car with our teenage children, who thought it was really cool. The staff are friendly and very helpful pointing us to a number of local natural attractions we would have missed. The facilities are good (clean, well equipped basic kitchen, bathroom, and the rooms are not musty smelling) - we had everything we needed. The railcar has a patio out the front providing a lovely evening location for wine-o'clock. We would stay here again and would recommend the place to others looking for a laid back quiet peaceful accomodation location that is well equiped.

Room Tip: Read the reviews of other rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Moana O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kiwicommonsense, Front Office Manager at Woodlyn Park, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2017

We are so pleased you were able to spend enough time to enjoy the peace and serenity that goes with the Waitomo Express, its nice to sit, relax and enjoy the views from the Carriage.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2017

We were looking forward to staying at this unique motel as we have visited it in the past and had a great experience staying in the Hobbit rooms.
This time we stayed in the titanic and found it to be tired drab and very musty smelling in the downstairs bedrooms.
These could have been vastly improved with small adjustments eg bedside lights, a coat of paint and comfortable seating for TVs watching.
The owners were pleasant and welcoming but as they are about to sell the property they gave the impression their heart was not in it any more.
The on site show was not as sharp and professional as it had been and the main man Billy has obviously lost heart and was ready to move on. This he made very clear and it did no create a good impression for our tourists.
We wish the owners well for their new endeavours but can not recommend this motel in its present state.

Room Tip: Avoid titanic. Can't on state of other rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank AndyAuckand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2017

When my friends and I first saw this option for our trip to New Zealand, we couldn't believe a place like this existed! We stayed one night in a unit in the Britannic, which was perfect for the four of us especially as it had our own bathroom and little kitchenette. The location was beautiful and quiet, and the staff were extremely friendly and super helpful!

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank ManaFran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kiwicommonsense, Front Office Manager at Woodlyn Park, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2017

We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and hope you enjoyed the rest of your holiday

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2017

I chose this place because it looked a cool and fun place to stay with a lot of history. It looked a lovely unique place based on the photo’s they supplied on their website, which is now out of date and a bit of a lie sadly it looks nothing like this today. It is total overgrown to the point you can't even see the unique sleeping attractions. I would recommend hiring a gardener to manage the overgrown foliage and to clean up the pond.

We stayed in the "Waitanic" (the ship) in the Britanic room. On approach I thought this will be different and an interesting way to spend a night. It certainly was for all the wrong reasons, by night time there is not much external light to light your way safely back to your room. The rooms are a bit unwelcoming they look old and tired with marks, chips peeling paint and a splitting door. The downstairs was dinghy and musty smelling! With a creaky stairwell. The bed downstairs wasn’t too bad but the real issue was the trying to sleep with the smell. I know it’s an old boat and some could say its part of its charm, but I think more needs to be done on this issue in terms of comfort for future guest.
It did come with a fan and AC unit which helped a bit, the bathroom was done up nicely and the only place in the unit that didn’t smell.
Not a reflection on the place or owners but more on other travelers who arrived late into the night about 12.pm and stayed in the biggest room (The Captains Room) That's when boat really started to creak, it was so noisy when they were walking around, sounded like they were stomping up and down the stairs and slamming of doors, we could hear the toilet flushing and everything.

All in all the place had a few nice touches, but it needs a lot of work to get it back to its former glory, it is over priced for what you get.

If you really want to stay in one of those unique rooms of courses you might enjoy and like it. Sadly it didn’t live up to my expectations. I would like to stay there again if it gets done up.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Strider_90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2017 via mobile

First off, it is definitely unique! We stayed in both the plane and the hobbit. It's close by to the little village and surrounded by lots of countryside. And of course, what comes with countryside is insects. So just be prepared, but nothing to worry about other than the normal being in the country.

Also, Shelly was great and very helpful. Couldn't do enough for you and was a pleasure. If you have a night or 2, definitely worth a visit.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank psutton123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Waitomo Caves hotels
1.3 km away
Waitomo Caves Hotel
Waitomo Caves Hotel
#4 of 5 in Waitomo Caves
551 reviews
1.2 km away
Kiwi Paka
Kiwi Paka
#5 of 5 in Waitomo Caves
190 reviews
5.4 km away
Glow Worm Motel
Glow Worm Motel
#2 of 5 in Waitomo Caves
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 km away
Waitomo Top 10 Holiday Park
Waitomo Top 10 Holiday Park
#1 of 5 in Waitomo Caves
425 reviews
5.3 km away
Caves Motor Inn
Caves Motor Inn
#3 of 5 in Waitomo Caves
93 reviews
1.1 km away
Waitomo Caves Guest Lodge
Waitomo Caves Guest Lodge
#1 of 2 in Waitomo Caves
530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Woodlyn Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodlyn Park

Address: 1177 Waitomo Valley Road, Waitomo Caves 3977, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Waitomo Caves
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Waitomo Caves
Price Range: $149 - $210 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Woodlyn Park 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located in the Waikato, a 2 and a half hour drive south of Auckland and 2 hours across from Rotorua. We are a couple of minutes drive from the world famous Glowworm Caves in Waitomo. Our Motels are world unique, built in part from recycled and natural materials. They have in the past worked hard as a war plane, a navy patrol boat and a carriage from the steam train era. As such they have a slightly lingering aroma from their industrial past, much like any modern vehicle - their scent reflects the materials they are made of. Our Hobbits built underground contain natural fibre curtains and some timbers - these too reflect the natural scent of their origins. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity.ca and TripOnline SA so you can book your Woodlyn Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woodlyn Park North Island
Woodlyn Park Hotel North Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing