We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (287)
Filter reviews
287 results
Traveller rating
113
102
43
14
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
113
102
43
14
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshobbit housetrain carriagewingsone nightunique experiencecool placenew zealandbilly blackbelow deckbathroom downstairsbunk bedsfun place to stayliving areaself containedsmall kitchenettenight's sleepwaitomo village
Filter
Updating list...
47 - 52 of 287 reviews
Reviewed April 29, 2017 via mobile

Very disappointed, musty, damp and desperately needs refurbishing with interior/exterior to an acceptable and safe standard. Grounds were over grown and untidy. Light switch above bunk came out from wall exposing dangerous wires. Potentially dangerous for young children if sleeping there. I would not recommend this accommodation as a pleasant nor safe place to stay.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
Thank Jeffy1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kiwicommonsense, Owner at Woodlyn Park, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2017

With 3 weddings and a 50th birthday party, a function every weekend in the month you visited and raving reveiws about the setting from all , i cant see how the overgrown comment can be applied ,The only conclusion is that you may be talking about the large trees either side of driveway which have now meet above the drive and form a fantastic Glade (please google), which i suppose, to the odd one or two people could be seen as over grown
The power point , if you where serious about it ,and no matter who broke it, I think that common sense would say that you should have reported this immediately to staff, especially when a safty issue could be involved.
We have a high standard of both cleanliness and maintance in our small but world unique motel, as reflected in our number one rating in our area.
The fact that this wasnt even reported to the operator and has only been written about some time later on a blog page is a worry , and i would suggest to you or infact anyone, that reporting a breakage to the operator is more important than writting a blog .People do try to hide breakages from the motelier , and sometimes they are not immediately discovered Upon discovering that someone had obviously broken the fitting and tried to hide the fact by pushing it firmly back in place so as not to be noticed?, it was fixed immediately .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 19, 2017

We stayed in the rail car with our teenage children, who thought it was really cool. The staff are friendly and very helpful pointing us to a number of local natural attractions we would have missed. The facilities are good (clean, well equipped basic kitchen, bathroom, and the rooms are not musty smelling) - we had everything we needed. The railcar has a patio out the front providing a lovely evening location for wine-o'clock. We would stay here again and would recommend the place to others looking for a laid back quiet peaceful accomodation location that is well equiped.

Room Tip: Read the reviews of other rooms
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Moana O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kiwicommonsense, Front Office Manager at Woodlyn Park, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2017

We are so pleased you were able to spend enough time to enjoy the peace and serenity that goes with the Waitomo Express, its nice to sit, relax and enjoy the views from the Carriage.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 10, 2017

We were looking forward to staying at this unique motel as we have visited it in the past and had a great experience staying in the Hobbit rooms.
This time we stayed in the titanic and found it to be tired drab and very musty smelling in the downstairs bedrooms.
These could have been vastly improved with small adjustments eg bedside lights, a coat of paint and comfortable seating for TVs watching.
The owners were pleasant and welcoming but as they are about to sell the property they gave the impression their heart was not in it any more.
The on site show was not as sharp and professional as it had been and the main man Billy has obviously lost heart and was ready to move on. This he made very clear and it did no create a good impression for our tourists.
We wish the owners well for their new endeavours but can not recommend this motel in its present state.

Room Tip: Avoid titanic. Can't on state of other rooms
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank AndyAuckand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 4, 2017

When my friends and I first saw this option for our trip to New Zealand, we couldn't believe a place like this existed! We stayed one night in a unit in the Britannic, which was perfect for the four of us especially as it had our own bathroom and little kitchenette. The location was beautiful and quiet, and the staff were extremely friendly and super helpful!

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank ManaFran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kiwicommonsense, Front Office Manager at Woodlyn Park, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2017

We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and hope you enjoyed the rest of your holiday

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 4, 2017

I chose this place because it looked a cool and fun place to stay with a lot of history. It looked a lovely unique place based on the photo’s they supplied on their website, which is now out of date and a bit of a lie sadly it looks nothing like this today. It is total overgrown to the point you can't even see the unique sleeping attractions. I would recommend hiring a gardener to manage the overgrown foliage and to clean up the pond.

We stayed in the "Waitanic" (the ship) in the Britanic room. On approach I thought this will be different and an interesting way to spend a night. It certainly was for all the wrong reasons, by night time there is not much external light to light your way safely back to your room. The rooms are a bit unwelcoming they look old and tired with marks, chips peeling paint and a splitting door. The downstairs was dinghy and musty smelling! With a creaky stairwell. The bed downstairs wasn’t too bad but the real issue was the trying to sleep with the smell. I know it’s an old boat and some could say its part of its charm, but I think more needs to be done on this issue in terms of comfort for future guest.
It did come with a fan and AC unit which helped a bit, the bathroom was done up nicely and the only place in the unit that didn’t smell.
Not a reflection on the place or owners but more on other travelers who arrived late into the night about 12.pm and stayed in the biggest room (The Captains Room) That's when boat really started to creak, it was so noisy when they were walking around, sounded like they were stomping up and down the stairs and slamming of doors, we could hear the toilet flushing and everything.

All in all the place had a few nice touches, but it needs a lot of work to get it back to its former glory, it is over priced for what you get.

If you really want to stay in one of those unique rooms of courses you might enjoy and like it. Sadly it didn’t live up to my expectations. I would like to stay there again if it gets done up.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Strider_90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews