We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very cool”
Review of Woodlyn Park

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Woodlyn Park
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Waitomo Caves
Reviewed 9 August 2017 via mobile

We stayed in the tail of the plane. It was nice and warm due to the heat pump and very clean. The bed is so comfortable and we slept very well. Bathroom was the size was rather small but not a problem. The owners are very friendly and showed our daughter around the hall and let her meet the animals. Also they are a wealth of local knowledge and can tell you some fabulous places to visit. Each unit looked very private and it was a special and unique night.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank jinnyt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kiwicommonsense, Front Office Manager at Woodlyn Park, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2017

We are so pleased that you enjoyed your time with us, and from the sound of it got to enjoy some of the special places around Waitomo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (263)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

19 - 25 of 263 reviews

Reviewed 17 July 2017 via mobile

My husband and I stayed for 1 night whilst traveling around New Zealand, we booked prior as the place looked very unique and quirky. On check-in we drove around to find the owner to check in, we were told the room had a funny smell and the Windows had been opened; it did smell.
The room was clean, however needed an update on soft furnishings, overall a little overpriced. The electric bed blanket didn't work, but was too late to sort when we noticed.
No wifi, with an excuse of the trees were too high and "we're not going to cut the tress".

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Emma J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2017 via mobile

I was so looking forward to staying here. It was part of our trip that I was exited about...a night in a hobbit hole hotel, followed by a day in Hobbiton!

Unfortunately, the place was a dump. The entire property was unkempt, and run down. The pictures posted on line are from many years ago. The actual hobbit hotel, from the outside looks abandoned and uncared for. There were strung together old cds hanging from trees to keep birds away. There was a tub of something labeled "food" outside our door.

The inside was dated, but clean (this is the only reason I didn't rate this terrible). Please note that the only heat is electric floor units. The shower in the bathroom has no enclosure, it soaks the bathroom. Oh yes, NO INTERNET. They told us it was because the trees grew too big for the signal. LOL, I didn't know trees effected wifi.

I felt like I was staying at a campground rather than a hotel. Do yourself a favor and stay at the old hotel, you'll at least get a view.

I see that the proprietors often react poorly to negative reviews. Instead of complaining, maybe they should pay attention and do something to fix this place up.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank rnessjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kiwicommonsense, Manager at Woodlyn Park, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2017

I know that it has taken me a while to respond to this view, and I do understand that everyone is entitled to their opinion.
I am just glad that you are a minority, our visitor books say the opposite to you.
Yes the photos on line are old, but they do show the trees when they were little, they do tend to grow and encourage the bird life that we enjoy so much in the park.
Maybe one day you will remember the CD's as an alternative to keep birds away from windows, because they do work.
When you come to a property like ours in winter, especially a winter as wet as ours, it can like many places look sad, but in the spring it looks glorious with the trees renewing their leaves and all the spring flowers.
I do apologise for the length of time it has taken me to respond to this review, we do actually take note of what is said, and if we can we fix things.
Did you by any chance take the time to complain at the office?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2017

Great novelty factor in the accomodation but seriously lacking any comforts made after 1990. WAY overpriced for what you get anywhere else in the area or around the North Island. I stayed here with 3 kids and the wife and it was great to have the experience of staying in a "Hobbit House". It was very wet while we stayed for our 2 nights and our caving tour and glow worm tours were cancelled. Trying to keep a 13, 11 and 2 year old entertained proved very hard work. The T.V was from 1982, had a remote that didn't work, was too high on the wall for the kids to reach to manually change the channel, no dvd player (or VHS, which wouldn't have been out of place). A 2 seater couch for a family of 5 or you sit on the bed and can't see the TV because of the angle it's on. No books or boardgames to borrow. No WiFi in the rooms. A bathroom (including toilet) that turns into one big wet area no matter how carefull anyone is in the shower. A hot plate that was useless to try and cook on, no microwave and pots and pans that are ready for St Vinnies.
We had a few gawkers come and look in our windows while we stayed, mabey that's we should've done, gawked and moved on.

Room Tip: Don't expect a private room. The Hobbit house has gawkers and the Plane and Boat are divided int...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ashan43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kiwicommonsense, Front Office Manager at Woodlyn Park, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2017

We are sorry you had such a miserable time in Waitomo. It is a shame that your trips were cancelled. But we hope you did get to look at some of our local spots in spite of the rain.
There were games and books available at the office if you had enquired, we dont leave them in units as they would be removed.
The TV is on a shelf high up so that they dont get broken, but the shelf is a swivel shelf, meaning it can face the 2 seater sofa which seats 3 with ease, and there is other seating there as well.
The Microwave is still in the unit, underneath the cook top, which is the same type as most of the Motels I have stayed in.
We do our best to discourage gawkers but unfortunately because the units are so unique it does happen.
Most people do enjoy our units and have leave positive comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2017

We stayed for one night in a hobbit hole motel unit in June which is the low season. No one was there in reception, but there was a number to call and we were told where the key was left. The room was spotlessly cleaned, there were supplies for coffee, tea, even drinking chocolate, as well as milk in the fridge (which was all we really needed). We were kept very warm with mattress pads at night, the shower was strong with a lot of hot water, and there were plenty of towels and toiletries. The room itself was very quaint and loved the pig and sheep grazing above our roof. The only reason I knocked it a star is it would have been nice to have someone there to show us the unit and things were a bit overgrown. That being said, I understand it is the slow season so I'm sure those wouldn't be an issue in the spring, summer and fall. The boat, plane and train units looked fun as well. It seemed like it would be even more fun to stay when there was more going on, but we were perfectly happy with our one night stay there.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank 6Irwins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kiwicommonsense, Front Office Manager at Woodlyn Park, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2017

We are glad you got to see the animals on top of the Hobbit, alot of people miss out on that.
Yes it is the quiet season, but there is always someone on call to help out with any issues, as many people have found out in the past.
We hope you enjoyed the rest of your holiday.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2017

Stayed a nite here in the hobbit hole. It's an interesting experience. The staff is helpful n friendly. It's self contained though only a electrical hob is available but it's sufficient.

Room has heaters n thermal blankets. Bathroom has heater too. Very useful in cold weather. Location is near Waitomo town. Very quiet n intetesting experience indeed!

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
Thank medgor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kiwicommonsense, Front Office Manager at Woodlyn Park, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2017

Thankyou for taking the time to do a review, and yes we do need those heaters and electric blankets in Waitomo.
We are glad you had an interesting time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2017

We stayed in mid May at the Woodlyn Park Train carriage with our two little boys. It is absolutely brilliant! Set in a valley of hobbit country with rolling fields and animals grazing outside your window, we had ample time to sit out on the deck or read our book in the living area. A triple bunk room at the back, large double in the middle and a huge bathroom with strong flowing shower. Impeccably clean throughout. There is a small kitchenette but very well catered and we were able to cook spag bol and enjoy sitting at the "shelf" table staring out of the window. They even have a bucket for food that they feed to their pig! The main clubhouse is rustic but a wonderful recreation of life in NZ countryside. The Waitomo Caves are 500m down the road and there are many restaurants for breakfast lunch and dinner in the same area. This was by far our favourite place we stayed in North Island. Thank you Billy!

Room Tip: The train carriage is independent so with small kids you don't feel like you are disturbing anyo...
See more room tips
Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
Thank Bonnie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kiwicommonsense, Front Office Manager at Woodlyn Park, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2017

We are glad you were able to take in the ambience that is unique to Woodllyn Park and so obviously were able to enjoy your time with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Waitomo Caves hotels
1.3 km away
Waitomo Caves Hotel
Waitomo Caves Hotel
#4 of 5 in Waitomo Caves
551 reviews
1.2 km away
Kiwi Paka
Kiwi Paka
#5 of 5 in Waitomo Caves
189 reviews
5.4 km away
Glow Worm Motel
Glow Worm Motel
#2 of 5 in Waitomo Caves
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 km away
Waitomo Top 10 Holiday Park
Waitomo Top 10 Holiday Park
#1 of 5 in Waitomo Caves
425 reviews
5.3 km away
Caves Motor Inn
Caves Motor Inn
#3 of 5 in Waitomo Caves
93 reviews
1.1 km away
Waitomo Caves Guest Lodge
Waitomo Caves Guest Lodge
#1 of 2 in Waitomo Caves
530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Woodlyn Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodlyn Park

Address: 1177 Waitomo Valley Road, Waitomo Caves 3977, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Waitomo Caves
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Waitomo Caves
Price Range: $149 - $210 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Woodlyn Park 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located in the Waikato, a 2 and a half hour drive south of Auckland and 2 hours across from Rotorua. We are a couple of minutes drive from the world famous Glowworm Caves in Waitomo. Our Motels are world unique, built in part from recycled and natural materials. They have in the past worked hard as a war plane, a navy patrol boat and a carriage from the steam train era. As such they have a slightly lingering aroma from their industrial past, much like any modern vehicle - their scent reflects the materials they are made of. Our Hobbits built underground contain natural fibre curtains and some timbers - these too reflect the natural scent of their origins. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Woodlyn Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woodlyn Park North Island
Woodlyn Park Hotel North Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing