We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
US$84
View deal
Free cancellation until 21-08-06
Expedia.com
US$85
View deal
Free cancellation until 21-08-07
Reserve now, pay at stay
Agoda.com
US$85
US$68
View deal
Free cancellation until 21-08-06
Hotels.comUS$85
PricelineUS$84
FindHotelUS$85
View all 13 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (123)
Filter reviews
123 results
Traveller rating
34
57
18
7
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
34
57
18
7
7
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 123 reviews
Reviewed January 24, 2021 via mobile

Booked online for a one night stay in the family unit for 23/1. However, due to the poor customer service and quite frankly bad attitude from the manager, our stay was canceled and a last minute booking elsewhere had to be arranged. Upon arriving in Waitomo earlier then expected, a phone call was made to Otorohanga and Waitomo Motels asking if there was any possibility of an earlier check in to which we were told quite bluntly and rudely “no, as they had a busy night prior and there would be no chance the room would be ready before 2pm”. The fact the room wouldn’t be ready for an early check in was fine but the way we were spoken to over the phone was nothing less than unaccommodating and hostile. Despite this we turned up to the venue for check in after 2pm only to be questioned by the same manager on if our request for a portacot had been cancelled and told that motel policy doesn’t allow for families to bring their own cot into the rooms. This would mean we would be charged $20 for cot hire. Yet again, both my mother and I were blown away with the attitude of the manger and the way she was speaking to both of us. After expressing our dissatisfaction with her customer service skills we were asked bluntly “what we want to do and told that going ahead with the booking didn’t seem feasible” so due to this, our party of 7 left. Both the conversation about early check in and the situation with the portacot were minor details and there would have no problem whatsoever had we been spoken to in a professional and respectful manner. Im not the type of person to normally write reviews but this experience was a major down point on our family holiday. I have never come across someone in this type of role as indifferent and unaccomadating towards customers. Would not recommend this venue to anyone and would tell future guests to steer clear if they value good service.

Date of stay: January 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Whitneyjade1312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 18, 2019

We stayed in a brand new studio unit over the road from reception. It was very quiet and spacious, the bed was super comfy and the shower really nice. The fridge didn’t even make a noise. It got the afternoon sun. However there are a few small issues to be addressed, so I have given an excellent in the hope that they are. I’ve written to the managers to address. Also the spa was broken, so don’t go for that reason!

Room tip: The brand new units, so long as you only need a toaster and microwave
Date of stay: October 2019
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ali A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 5, 2018

A clean, retro style motel. It had a big kitchen/dining area (we didn't need this as were only staying one night). The owner was friendly and it was close to town. The spa didn't look clean and it wasn't warm - my kids were disappointed they didn't get to use it. Apart from that, we were satisfied. We were able to park right outside our room and the view was lovely out the back.

Room tip: The unit down the very back was quiet.
Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Starlet_Auckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 9, 2018

Upon arrival we were checked in. The room was away from the road, therefore you expect quiet. Yes there was no road noise, however the two calves in the area adjoining made sure that things were not quiet. As a self catered unit you would expect the oven and stove to work. Wrong. Oven element did not work and neither did 2 of the 3 hotplate elements work. Upon reporting this I was told that they would not be able to get an electrician on the weekend. Fair enough but what about moving us to another room? The toilet cistern had a leak that appeared to have been there for a while. All I say is invest in this property or people will not visit.

Date of stay: May 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank ALAN E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 2, 2018 via mobile

Stayed with our 6 & 3 yr old boy's. They were warm thanks to the aircon and extra blankets provided.

Trampoline and swing set and plenty of room for scootering in the carpark. We6 were in the rooms across the road from main reception.

Room was tidy and very clean. Kitchen equipped to cook if you desire. Instant hot water in the shower.

Firm but comfortable bed.

Cheap and cheerful for an overnight stay while visiting the caves.

Dont come looking for the Sheraton or expect silver service-it's typical small town motel just like anywhere in the world. Thankyou for a friendly stay.

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank ianc4813
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karamjeet K, Manager at Otorohanga and Waitomo Motels, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2018

Thanks Ian for your lovely comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews