We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Orbitz.com
Booking.com
eDreams
Priceline
View all 10 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (70)
Filter reviews
70 results
Traveller rating
24
34
4
6
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
24
34
4
6
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the main road road noise the owner kiwi house quiet room min walk large trucks waitomo caves light sleeper handy location good size friendly owners stay there again stayed here for one night supermarket kitchenette shower
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 70 reviews
Reviewed September 12, 2020

This motel has to congrat the house-keepers for the amazing work they do, its so clean and fresh with everything that you would require on your stay.
Checking in so friendly and quick.....well done all.
restaurants etc 5 min walk.
highly recommend this place

Date of stay: September 2020
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank vaughan w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 13, 2020 via mobile

Nicest motel I’ve stayed in, and there’s been a few. Extremely clean, and I’m a clean freak! Modern/classic decor and everything you need in the room. Close to all amenities and tourist attractions. Very friendly owners. I saw someone else’s comment about road noise and we stayed in a room near the main road. As a person who normally doesn’t sleep well, I was not disturbed by traffic at all. Great place :)

Date of stay: July 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank 0Julia00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 26, 2020 via mobile

Stayed overnight for business during Covid 19 lockdown. Very accommodating and made our stay easy. Located within easy walking distance of supermarket and restaurants. Plenty of on site parking. Well worth a visit.

Date of stay: May 2020
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank KiwiDiverWarren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 19, 2020

We stayed here for one night before visiting the Waitomo Glow Worm Cave. Very nice, clean motel with lovely owners. Our room was very large and spacious. We had a microwave and a refrigerator that was not stocked, so there was plenty of room for food/drinks. They also provided plates, cups, silverware, toaster and kettle. There is a grocery store across the street where you can pick-up breakfast items, which is much cheaper than going to a restaurant. The beds were good as well as the shower and air conditioner. There is no safe in the room and no storage except for a small closet. There is no lift so request a first floor room unless you don’t mind carrying your luggage up the stairs. Parking is free and the Wi-Fi was very good. Make sure you check their site for check-in times. There was some road noise so if you are a light sleeper you might need ear plugs.

Date of stay: February 2020
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KarenM1_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 13, 2020

We stayed here two nights early March. It is walking distance to train station, shops, restaurants and the Otorohanga Kiwi House. We had room 1 which has a nice seating area in the back. The room was very comfortable and clean. It has a kitchenette area with fridge, dishes and cutlery but no sink except for the bathroom. However that is no problem as guests are urged to leave the dirty dishes in the plastic tub provided and they are replaced with clean dishes daily. The larger rooms have full kitchenettes.
Some reviews say it’s noisy because the motel is beside the highway, but our room was on the far side and was very quiet.
We visited the Waitomo Caves, about 25 minute drive away. We didn’t have a car so Jeff arranged a local driver for us.
Jeff and Jenny are very gracious hosts.

Room tip: Ask for Room 1 or others on that side which are further away from the road.
Date of stay: March 2020
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank S W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews