We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
2 people are viewing this hotel
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Booking.com
US$86
View deal
PricelineUS$86
eDreamsUS$86
Agoda.comUS$87
TripadvisorUS$86
ZenHotels.com
StayForLong
View all 8 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (656)
Filter reviews
656 results
Traveller rating
241
231
92
48
44
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
241
231
92
48
44
Show reviews that mention
All reviews beautiful place having fun chateau building surroundings nature terrace domain valley relaxation wellness teenagers search
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 656 reviews
Reviewed August 8, 2020

No consistency and likely lack of good management kills this dream location. It looks they have rebuild this place with a focus on B2B so to sell seminars for large groups. Keep that in mind when reading this review. At one hand the buildings and swimming pool are absolutely one of the ones you have had to visit (except the rooms 401 to 420 that are old, small and hot in the summer), but, I have to agree that the staff is not as professional as you would expect. More specifically I noticed that all related to the bar, lobby and restaurant are way under-qualified with as result very (!) long waiting times, mediocre food, and frustrated customers. During our first lunch, we finally got our food but my pizza was stone cold so back to the kitchen. That same evening during dinner we got 2 overcooked hamburgers. Another guest ordered a bloody mary (yes simple Vodka and Tomato juice) but was pointed by the bar manager (older guy) to only order drinks from the menu. So the guest asked, do you have Vodka? Yes, do you have Tomato juice? Yes....ok, so that together is called a Bloody Mary. Sorry but if you are the manager of a bar this stuff is 1on1. So another frustrating issue, how to get in contact with the Hotel? It would be nice if they pick up the phone. After our initial booking, we wanted to extend with 2 additional nights but we tried for 2 (!) weeks every day and nothing. When we asked later when in the hotel the receptionist mentioned they do not have time during check-in and out. We called them all day, send 2 e-mails and send a message by Booking. com so no idea were this answer comes from. Do not think I am running away from this place (not yet,....I have traveled all over the world and have seen the good, bad and the ugly, except these nasty rooms in the building opposite of the main building, read onwards!). But you would expect super service for a place that looks so beautiful as this and has a premium pricing. Loved to stay for another two nights but the place is sold out. We had room 505 good enough for 3 people and located at the back of the new building with a view on the orangery. I think these rooms are rented to these larger groups. On the morning of our last day we had confirmation of one extra night in room 406 for a special price of E190,-.....run away as this is small, extremely hot and this building is smelling like cleaning chemicals. Room 406 is the largest room of this building....feel really sorry for the people in the other rooms and this was reason to lower my rating from 3 to 2. You cannot rent these rooms without a proper ventilator as a minimum and better a airco. So I went to the receptionist (petite long hair and glasses) who told me that they had bought ventilators for all of the rooms but now it seems several where missing. There was one spare at the reception however this one was already booked by another guest. As it was 9 pm and this guest didn't show up she gave that one to me (many thanks again!). During checkout, we had to pay the full price of €248,- as it seems there had not been any handover between the receptionists or other internal communication. So the (Asian looking and friendly) receptionist told us we would get a special price of €190,- and now the other (that same friendly receptionist that provided me the ventilator) had no idea of that price. After a short debate with her, we got the price down to 225,-. Started excellent but went down like a burning plane. The willingness is there but the management is failing tremendously. Never again lowered the rating to only 1, sorry but I have to be honest.

Room tip: Run if they give you 401 to 420, 501 to 507 range is better
Date of stay: July 2020
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank BartHendriks2_007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 12, 2020 via mobile

We had a great time in the pool, walking around the hotel and visiting Dinant.

From the start the reception was not well aware of our booking.
Our room was nice with a view and a beautifully decorated bathroom. Nevertheless, we could not find anyone helpful!
Our food was ready and no one came to let us know; no housekeeping; no help with the bags; no help to get a cab..
I think perhaps they were not ready to re-open. It took ages to get a "breakfast bag" and God forbid if you want another coffee besides the one is already included.
I hope a good recycling programme is in place since all the food is "to go" and it results in so much garbage..
Some expert should teach the staff about client service and how to think about the small details that make the difference.

Besides the guy who carries the towel, hard to find a smile around here.

Date of stay: July 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank angelawtrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 6, 2020

The buildings and surroundings are beautiful. Good infrastructure. Staff is very friendly, but there was one big disappointment; the noise.

They advertise the stay as "a dream place for strollers in search of well-being and deep relaxation" - not so. Woken up early in the morning by a kid using the facade of our stay to play basketball. Woken up in the middle of the night by a group of teenagers having fun, during daytime the swimming pool was not a place of relaxation either. The rooms themselves have poor sound isolation as well - bring earplugs!

They say that it is not a spa, it is not a wellness and I agree. It is more like a recreational park (but very beautiful indeed!)

Room tip: Make sure to get a quiet room, far away from the main building and wellness
Date of stay: July 2020
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Barry N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 5, 2020 via mobile

This review is for everyone who is still doubting or thinks a stay here would be a good idea.

How do I even start? The chateau and surroundings are beautiful, but somehow they managed even with such a beautiful surrounding to mess everything up. And when I say everything, I mean everything.

First of all the rooms:
- Daily cleaning? Not really, only if you insist at reception.
- Disgusting rooms where you can find hairs and stains everywhere from the previous guests
- No telephone at the rooms to call reception
- No ENGLISH flyers with information
- Terrible bed in the 4 person room, which you cannot really call a bed
-Curtains to small, so the sun comes through
-Amenities are a joke
-Wifi does not work at night
-safes are not working
-Door does not close without locking. You can imagine how annoying that is.

Secondly the staff:
- the saff hardly speaks English. I mean what year is it? Apparently they still live in the sme age as the chateau.
- you cannot distinguish staff from guests as no one wears "work" clothing
- rude and very unfriendly french vibe

Thirdly the facilities
-you cannot have a coffee as the bar only opens at 12 pm
-breakfast is prices at a ridicilous 14 euros, which gets you ladies and gentlemen: two bread, cheese, chocolate spread, yoghurt, tea or coffee and jam
-the chateau and the surroundings are in bad shape. The gardens are not being looked after and sport facilities are abandoned. The last time the surroundings have seen a gardener must be ages ago. Not to mention the private road leading up to the hotel. Full of potholes.
-the opening times of the welness are more suited for the employees than for the guests. Opens at 10 and closes at 21. So no morning swim etc. Its only convenient for staff and not for guests.
-the game room closes at 18. So much fun right if you are on holiday
-website is not up to date

Overall its a missed chance, how bad management can ruin such a beautiful place. My advice: spend you money elsewhere and save your holiday.

Date of stay: July 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
3  Thank Gokhan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 27, 2019 via mobile

The elevator was broke during almost all of our stay. Although a reasonably renovated elevator and a 27/7 service agreement is what you should expect from an establishment aiming to be a prestige stay, I can still have understanding this happens. What was more disappointing was the attitude of some staff members (not all, and the service in the restaurant was very good).

In a completely empty bar/lobby on Christmas Day we had brought a particular bottle of wine as an anniversary experience, but were bluntly told to go to our room although we explained it was an important moment for us. The day after we asked to get help with our luggage because of the broken down elevator, but were first told ’We don’t provide room service’ in an equally unfriendly manner by the same staffer.

It’s that kind of rigidness, inflexibility and unfriendliness that ruins your experience as a guest and sets a place apart from higher class accomodations.

Date of stay: December 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank dalbregal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benoit T, E-commerce Manager at Domaine de Ronchinne - Chateau & Ecuries, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2020

Dear Dalbregal,

We are really sorry to read that you seems dissapointed by your stay. Indeed, our lift has some issue lately and it is difficult to repair it the way it should during the holiday period. But it seems you are expecting too much of our staff and service. We are not aiming at a "prestige" or "luxury",... not at all. We want to be percieve as a second home in the countryside. Not at all as 5* castle with service in white gloves. In normal time, we do not offer "room service", but if an elderly person has issue with the stairs, of course we would propose to help with his/her luggage. But when the guest is even younger and fitter than our receptionist, we find a bit strange that he even ask... Our receptionist are usually very helpfull but they are also not meant to leave the reception for unreasonable demand.
Also, when you enter a bar or a restaurant, you are not meant to come with your own beverage or food. You where speaking about manners but, in Belgium at least, if you have a special request, you ask for it in the first place. Because indeed, we can be flexible... Manners comes both ways. Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews