We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Jim K- So Many Happy Memories”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Tranquility Guest House
Ranked #3 of 19 Fish Hoek B&B and Inns
Exmouth,Devon, UK
1 review
“Jim K- So Many Happy Memories”
Reviewed 3 January 2012

I first visited Tranquility in 2001 as a widower with my extended family. As a result of that visit, I have returned to Tranquility by myself from the UK every year since, to enjoy the wonderful family hospitality and kindness. I am looking forward so much to going back again this year and appreciate the stunning views of Fish Hoek and the surrounding area which includes Simonstown, the Cape of Good Hope and of course, Cape Town itself with all its attractions, not least Table Mountain and the Waterfront.However, the main reason for returning every year is the fact that I can completely relax at Tranquility knowing that I am so welcome and will have a very enjoyable holiday.

Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank James K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    152
    12
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
24
100
12
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Dusseldorf, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2011

the best guest house of our trip! the house itself is beautiful and everything is decorated with great taste. we had a wonderful room with a view across the bay and a spacious en-suite bathroom. breakfast was yummy every morning! the owners are adorable, really nice and good-hearted people that made us feel very welcome. even their dog is a gem!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WilliamDe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg
Level 4 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2011

Our stay was everything we were promised and so much more. The hospitality was really amazing with such friendliness and attention to detail. We went on a romantic weekend away and staying in the Romantic Room was really beautiful. We would recommend staying at Tranquility to anyone looking for the true warmth that a guest house should have - we felt at home with the owners and that is really something good to feel when on our travels.

Room Tip: For a romantic stay the Romantic Room is perfect. The room offers a magnificent view over Fish Hoek...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pleased_Visitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
Reviewed 1 November 2011

My wife and I stayed there during the World Cup in 2010, and although it is over a year later, I was just drinking some Rooibos tea and remembered that I needed to leave them a glowing review. They were simply the best people. I wanted them to come back with us.

The area is a nice coastal town about a half hour's drive from Cape Town. You can take a route through the gardens, you can take a route where you are dangling off a coastal cliff (gorgeous), or a more direct route. The house isn't hard to find.

From their house, you can see whales popping out of the ocean from the kitchen window. There are a bunch of great restaurants just down the hill from the house. And, you aren't far from any of the sights as long as you have a car (and driving is a breeze, don't be intimidated). You're an easy drive to see the penguins, Cape Point, Table Mountain, the Kirstenbosch Gardens, wine country, sharks (that's a little further), wine country, and my favorite, the cheetah reserve where you can pet cheetahs. Plus, of course, Cape Town itself.

The other benefit to staying in a guest house versus a hotel is that the family will teach you about local customs (like tipping the people that "watch" your car when you go to dinner, which seems strange at first but you grow accustomed to quickly) and give you the local history. They'll give you great advice about where to go and feed you a delicious breakfast.

I wish we could go every year. Or that the Taskes family would come visit us (you've still got my number, guys! Remember us?).

Great time. If you're planning a trip to Cape Town, start getting excited.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ben P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2011

It's almost indescribable, but honestly, one of the most spectacular places we've stayed. The house is gorgeous, the owners/hosts were entirely gracious, the setting was lovely, lovely, lovely, the view spectacular. When we first arrived... after a long day of cycling, my husband got in the bath, and just immediately through one of the many windows was the most spectacular rainbow. It was really just incredible. Ron and Gill were very accommodating, helping us with our dinner plans and even giving us a lift down to the restaurant. I would stay longer the next time we visit! Highly recommended!!!

Room Tip: I think all of the rooms have a view... but I think we had the main/master which was spectacular!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank henriandkim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 October 2011

A truly excellent establishment by any international standard - we can only endorse what other reviewers have written. Ron & Gill run a "home from home" with every attention to detail that you could want.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dennis A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
78 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2011

I love this guest one best place i cannot forget, meticulously clean ,
Nice stone house With high end decor on hill so back yard face hill and from balcony has best sea view
Very clean room, clean bathroom and very nutritious breakfast
Best location to go Cape point at end of day coming back this cozy place is such a nice feeling
I recommend every one should try this hotel

Room Tip: Best hotel i seen
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank idealfitness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fish Hoek
0.6 km away
A Tuscan Villa Guest House
A Tuscan Villa Guest House
#2 of 19 in Fish Hoek
73 reviews
6.2 km away
The Boat House
The Boat House
#1 of 29 in Simon's Town
256 reviews
1.4 km away
Sunny Cove Manor
Sunny Cove Manor
#4 of 19 in Fish Hoek
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Beach and Bay B&B
Beach and Bay B&B
#8 of 19 in Fish Hoek
10 reviews
2.6 km away
Simonstown Guest House
Simonstown Guest House
#4 of 29 in Simon's Town
407 reviews
3.8 km away
Sonnekus Guest House
Sonnekus Guest House
#1 of 7 in St. James
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tranquility Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tranquility Guest House

Property: Tranquility Guest House
Address: 25 Peak Road, Fish Hoek 7975, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Fish Hoek
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Fish Hoek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Tranquility Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Finalist: 2008 AA Travel Awards Programme / Portfolio B&B Collection - Luxury and Great Comfort / TGCSA 4-star Guest House. Cape Town is renowned for spoiling you for choice, but spending ‘Peak time’ as our honoured guest, in cosy, luxurious, Cape Cod-style, mountain-high Tranquility, is sure to varnish your visit! Unsurpassed ‘dress circle’ skyline and two-ocean views, fine beaches and eco-reserve walks on hand, fresh flowers, fine linen, fireside serenity, legendary breakfasts, unexpected extra personal touches and inimitable joie de vivre, have earned the bouquet, "Hidden diamond on a hill." Believing is seeing! Family owned and managed, elegant, luxurious Tranquility receives international and local guests with warmth and passion for detail that have established it as a classic choice. By G-d's grace, may your stay with us, be like days of heaven on earth! Smell the salt in the air, feel the sand between your toes, breathe in the fresh mountain air. Simply perfect! Impeccable | dedicated | comfort Tranquility Guest House boasts four en-suite luxury rooms, each with its own private balcony, each with beautiful sea and mountain views and each with the ability to lie in bed and watch the sunrise or moon rise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Tranquility Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tranquility Guest House Fish Hoek, Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing