We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (679)
Filter reviews
679 results
Traveller rating
340
259
51
20
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
340
259
51
20
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews art deco piano player old world charming hotel pie old style cape town gardens are beautiful very pleasant stay rooms are spacious road trip klein karoo south africa home away from home attention to detail garden route pj
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 679 reviews
Reviewed November 7, 2018

We were fortunate to be accommodated in the African Hut nestled in the hotel's pretty garden.It was really special in the sense that the hut is very private.It is very spacious and offers all the comfort that you will ever need.

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Gerhard1vdm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
P-J B, General Manager at Montagu Country Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Gerhard1vdm

Thank you for the review. We had a fun time redoing the African hut last year, new windows, floor and bathroom, and tweeked the décor. The room is very popular with families, large enough to accommodate extra guests.

We look forward to you next visit,

Kind regards,

P-J Basson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 28, 2018

I recommend this hotel due to its location, friendly and helpful staff. Popular with local, national and international guests. The food is outstanding and the coffee as well. Beautiful gardens and on site spa add value. Show your children and grand children furniture dating from the 50s and 60s.

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank banie275
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
P-J B, General Manager at Montagu Country Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2018

Dear banie275

Thank you for the review. Art Deco was a period between the 2 world wars - 1920's and 1930's, and we have many pieces from this era. Guests enjoy the authentic theme, coupled with moderns needs like wifi, satellite TV, air-conditioning etc.

Have a great week,

Kind regards,

P-J Basson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 26, 2018

The hotel is well looked after and new improvements are seen everytime. This time we noticed that the food had improved as well. If you have an special interest to explore an Art Deco influenced style of decorating the interior that is matching the exterior and garden - do not miss this. The only thing I miss is the cigar lounge that was removed some years ago. However, it is not to blame the managament, it is due to SA crazy smoking regulations that do not allow a person to enjoy a Havana in an environment, which is not offending or compromising non smokers.

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Christer K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
P-J B, General Manager at Montagu Country Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2018

Dear Christer K

Thank you for the kind words, much appreciated. We are building the product with a vision, and it's great to get the feedback from returning guests. Our expansion of the breakfast area is very well received, as well as the upgrades done to the main builing bathrooms. Watch this space, we have more surprizes planned!

Kind regards,

P-J Basson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 23, 2018 via mobile

This hotel in the center of Montagu is a beautiful Art Decor hotel with friendly service and excellent food. It’s rooms are okay and clean. Dinner is served in a dining full of chandeliers and candles. There is a resident pianist playing all the classics. Secure parking is available.Its well worth a visit.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank Mike_G6308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
P-J B, General Manager at Montagu Country Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2018

Dear Mike_G6308

Thank you for the review, much appreciated. We enjoyed playing around with the Art Deco theme of the building, it was a very unique style of decorating. We are always making changes to the hotel, you will find something different on the next visit.

Have a great weekend,

Kind regards,

P-J Basson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 7, 2018

Stayed at Montagu Country Hotel, having found it on a website search looking for a weekend away not too far from Cape Town. It was the perfect choice. Comfortable rooms, excellent restaurant, fine friendly service, great location. Strongly recommended

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank ronniev642
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
P-J B, General Manager at Montagu Country Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2018

Dear ronniev642

Thank you for the great review. We are located 180 km from Cape Town city centre, on Route 62, and Montagu is the entry to the Klein Karoo. The village is surrounded by mountains, and is a typical plattelandse dorpie, giving city folk a glimpse of the way we live.

We look forward to welcome you back, we have just completed our new breakfast room, I'm sure you'll enjoy the changes!

Kind regards,

P-J Basson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews