We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (50)
Filter reviews
50 results
Traveller rating
22
11
7
8
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
22
11
7
8
2
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 50 reviews
Reviewed January 7, 2016

Room lacked windows...hot and stuffy...only had a.sliding door...should have aircon due to the fact that u have.to sleep with the sliding door closed...ceiling fan not enuf..circulates hot air....also had to.keep.the curtains closed.for.privacy...owner should concider tinting sliding door.

Room Tip: Good views only from top deck
  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marksL4572FP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 22, 2015

Friendly place, no surprises.

For what you pay, you get great value: clean rooms, excellent breakfast, barservice with ambiance, good selection of wines and (of course) belgium beers at half the price you should pay in belgium.

They also offer motorbike rentals if you want to drive route 62, wine tours, safari tours and airport pick up...even a trip with a real roll royce is possible!

No airco, but all the rooms are very cool...

The owners are excellent cooks, and on request they will prepare for you a delicious dinner with excellent wines at very affordable price...and at a much better quality then most of the local restaurants!

  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Maxibelgium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 22, 2015

Stayed 4 nights, they had a lovely well worth special running "book 3 nights get the 4th for free".
The rooms are extremely clean, modern, functional, open-plan, European style, with a slight touch of African art. If you are into clutter rooms with dusty carped floors and overwhelming decorations, this not the place for you. If you are looking for a spectacular view on the mountains, a relaxing getaway, good beer and great food (although you have to book dinners in advance) look no further.

Extra tip : we booked the wine tour, guided by the host and that was at R350 per person a well worth addition.

Room Tip: Higher rooms have better Wi-Fi
  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daren V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 20, 2015

Amazing place to stay, really friendly hosts, good service , a lot of belgium beers, really fine breakfast, and really clean rooms . No bad things to say over this place. I'll come back to this heaven on earth

grtz and thx for the good service.

  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anthony593
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 7, 2015

As the name suggests, this b&b has great views over the Langeberg Mountains and the town of Montagu, from the top deck, where you can enjoy a drink and relax, or rush up there as we did first thing in the morning, to see the sunrise, and watch the mountains changing colour as the sun rose.
It has 7 double rooms, all similar, simply designed and furnished with some well-chosen pieces of African art. Comfortable bed, lots of wardrobe space, a safe, bathroom with basin, toilet and good shower.
We have seen complaints on the forum about the lack of a door to the bathroom, which we think are unjustified. The toilet is tucked away behind the shower, and cannot be seen from the bedroom, by the person at the basin, or the person in the shower. However, there isn't actually a door into the bathroom, so if total privacy is your hang-up, then this may not be the place for you.
There is a small pool with loungers, but we didn't take the plunge as the weather wasn't quite warm enough.
Breakfast is taken in a nice sunny room, but you can eat outside if the weather permits. Plenty of options, hot/cold, healthy or fried food. My omelette was delicious.
Montagu is a charming small town, well worth a stroll around to take in the architecture. Stroll down to the town certainly, but the stroll back uphill to the b&b may not be for everyone!
Unfortunately there was a power cut the night we were there, (no-one's fault, it happens in South Africa) and some sort of lantern or large candles would have been appreciated in the room. Trying to fix my make-up with my partner holding our small torch by my face wasn't ideal...
Recommend dinner at the Mystic Tin restaurant in the main street.
Despite the power cut, they produced a fabulous meal. Romantic by candle-light, the dodgy make-up obviously wasn't too bad...

Room Tip: Room 1, furthest from the bar.
  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PoppySue F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews