We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We will be back” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Avalon Springs

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Avalon Springs
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“We will be back”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2011

We stayed here last weekend and had a great time. The room we had was recently renovated and very cosy. We did ask about the springs and it was explained to us that they do not heat the water and that it is natural springs. We found the service to be very good, the dinner in the restaurant was outstanding and the staff friendly and helpfull. It was a nice relaxing weekend and we will certainly be back again soon.

Room Tip: The rooms at the back overlooking the deck is very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrsfouche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    88
    88
    49
    31
    43
See reviews for
132
114
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
68 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2011

I love the area, the resort and the hotel option.

I believe a holiday should be where you don't have to cook and clean and do all the things you already do at home so that's why I chose to return to Avalon Springs. Although my last review wasn't positive I know the place has potential so this time we didn't stay in the suite but just in a normal hotel room.

It was not very spacious but certainly far more modern that the suite. I was quite surprised at that though. One would expect a suite to be better.

We stayed in the back-facing hotel rooms which leads out to a deck and a jacuzzi which was lovely. Even though it was the middle of winter, the hotel was cosy and warm. I can't say the same for the water though. The pools (all of them) and the jacuzzi was definitely not very warm. Hot Springs - definitely not. More like lukewarm springs. If there was a reason for this, no one explained it to us. We didn't bother to ask either.

Our check-in and check-out was quick and the service was good.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TheAbduls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2011

Service was wonderful from check in to check out. The mountain chalet was absolutely magnificent and their slogan, your home away from home is definitely correct. The chalet was equipped with everything that you could think of and the small extras they put in really makes you feel at home. Jumping into the hot springs late at night or in the early morning is the best ever! The children enjoyed every minute of our stay. In fact they are already asking to go back.

Room Tip: Discuss your requirements when making a booking and you will not be dissapointed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Weekender084
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2011

We came to Montagu for a couples weekend break and went to the "Hot" springs as day visitors - big mistake. Overpriced, dirty, at best Luke warm set of tiny swimming pools blotting what would otherwise be a beautiful landscape. The toilets were full to the brim... the Argus cycle day porterloos were better attended than these. There are no changing facilities and no lockers for your valuables (according to the staff this would not be necessary-'just watch your stuff from the pool!). As a day visitor you are not allowed entry to the front pool which the main water from the springs is pumped into therefore the pools that you can go in leave you with goosebumps rather than relaxed. If I were given a free trip to stay in this establishment I would still not go.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank lucejames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Montagu hotels

Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2011

We went to the front desk trying to get change. And they sent us somewhere else, this happened five more times before we got change. Nobody here cared anything about the guests and the staff were rude and didn't want to get up and help guests.
Later when we were looking for help at the front desk, a man yelled at me, "Hello I'm on the phone!!!!" The service at this place was appalling.
The hot springs were cheesy but fun for the kids. The room was very nice, and we would have liked this hotel if the service wasn't so awful.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fourinourfamily4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2011

We went to warm up from the Capes cold winter. The shower water was warmer. Maybe it will work in the summer. For the winter I recommend Goudini or Citrusdal were the water is so warm you have to get out after a while.

The hotel, service etc. was all very good but we came for the hot springs which was only luke warm.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Johan008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2011

We were there as day visitors, enjoying hot spings and water slide until my husband got severely injured inside the landing pool of the water slide. Not even a towel was offered by the hotel to dry his blood. First aid was done by a guest, ambulance call done by me. KEEP AWAY FROM WATERSLIDE

Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank Broken_face
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montagu hotels
0.2 km away
Montagu Springs Resort
Montagu Springs Resort
#2 of 2 in Montagu
3.0 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
2.4 km away
Montagu Country Hotel
Montagu Country Hotel
#1 of 2 in Montagu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 512 reviews
2.0 km away
Mountain View Lodge Montagu
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 km away
Somerset Lodge
Somerset Lodge
#7 of 34 in Montagu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
2.5 km away
Mimosa Lodge
Mimosa Lodge
#5 of 34 in Montagu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 374 reviews
2.7 km away
Four Oaks Guest House
Four Oaks Guest House
#12 of 28 in Montagu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avalon Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avalon Springs

Property: Avalon Springs
Address: Uitvlucht Street, Montagu 6720, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Montagu
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 34 Speciality Lodging in Montagu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Avalon Springs 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Avalon Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avalon Springs Montagu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing