We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful little family run Coffee Shop/Food Emporium”

Boere Bistro Food Emporium
Ranked #18 of 36 Restaurants in Montagu
Restaurant details
Reviewed April 9, 2017

Very nice place to have lunch, coffee or only a drink. Freshly baked homemade breads and cakes, deli products, locally made jams, preserves, arts & crafts. Take away homemade meals. Free WiFi for customers.

Date of visit: March 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank yvonnef683
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (32)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 32 reviews

Reviewed February 14, 2017

A friendly family run little restaurant, we pulled in for breakfast. We were served by at least 4 staff who between them muddled up the orders completely. The breakfasts were ok but nothing special and the location, on the main street of Montagu, was exceptionally noisy. Probably better to sit inside but it was really very hot. By no means a bad place but patience is needed.

Date of visit: February 2017
Thank 303gilesr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
94sanetb, Owner at Boere Bistro Food Emporium, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2017

Dear 303gilesr

I would like to thank you for your point of view.
We did asked you if you would like to sit inside or outside. The noisy main street is also part of the vibe of our Boere Bistro and I would never want to change this. We have airconditions and several fans inside.
Our Basic breakfast is for one a very good buy at R35.00.
2 Eggs, 2bacon, slice freshly baked plaasbrood, tomato and a half portion of chips. I think it pretty much serves the need.
The fact that you were attended to by 4 of us, shows you how badly we wanted to satisfy a grumpy customer.
Boere Bistro tries our best to give the best service possible.
We have a small kitchen, and out of the positive reviews we had in last few months, we surely can build on that.
Correction please. Boere Bistro is no family run shop.
I am the owner and with the help of an incredible team behind me, which have no family ties to me, we are enjoying the food and beverage industry.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 12, 2017 via mobile

It was our first time in Montagu so we drove around looking for a place to eat after visiting the nature park. We decided to try Boere Bistro and were happy that we did. The lunch was really tasty and substantial, suitably rounded off with malva pudding. The management and staff were pleasant and friendly. Can definitely recommend this restaurant.

Date of visit: February 2017
1  Thank Vinnie275
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 9, 2017

We had the 'meal of the day' which was tomato beef stew, with sweet potatoes and an interesting salad containing some lovely fruits. Very tasty and plentiful, and beautifully presented. Met the owner who appears to be very hands on, and service was excellent, and she went out of her way to be of assistance as we were travelling about and needed advice. Dessert was the typical 'South African" malva pudding and custard (very yummy) and chocolate mousse on the side. A suggestion would be to have some fresh fruit juices on offer. Other than that , a great place with friendly , efficient service, and great food. Will be back soon.

Date of visit: February 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank maureenrrr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 4, 2017 via mobile

Farmers kitchen atmosphere with a very warm reception and the added farm stall type merchandise. The basic breakfast compares price wise, head to head, with Spur but add 100% attitude. Large farm style, boere bread toast, home made jam and then a freshly prepared fruit salad on the side that is so delicate and refreshing. The meal was well prepared, tasty and with a lot of attention to detail for such a basic meal. We can't wait to test the other dishes on our next visit. Was sceptic but wow what a pleasant surprise. Keep it up Boere Bistro and do our little town proud.

Date of visit: February 2017
1  Thank RonMcCabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
94sanetb, Owner at Boere Bistro Food Emporium, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2017

Boere Bistro wants to thank you for your review. Please visit us again and try out the rest of our menu.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Boere Bistro Food Emporium also viewed

Montagu, Western Cape
Montagu, Western Cape
 
Montagu, Western Cape
Montagu, Western Cape
 
Montagu, Western Cape
Montagu, Western Cape
 

Been to Boere Bistro Food Emporium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing