We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Funky hotel with all the trimmings”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hard Rock Hotel Penang
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Batu Ferringhi
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
146 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Funky hotel with all the trimmings”
Reviewed 8 April 2012

Needless to say, the Hard Rock concept is all about hip and fun and this is what you feel as soon as you walk through the doors. Having said that, I did not quite realise the extent of this when I chose this hotel and immediately upon arrival, we felt a sense that the long weekend was going to be a bit tiresome. This is a family hotel through and through and if you don't like noisy families mixed with continuous loud muisic from the hotel, then stay away. We soon managed to get over our shock though when we accepted this all and the long weekend turned out to be be very enjoyable.

We chose a lagoon room and based on other Tripadvisor recommendations asked for a room at the far end (101 to 108) to get as much privacy as possible. Even though we booked far ahead, it seems that priority is given to guests staying for a longer period, so we were not successful. The rooms are however very comfortable and nicely appointed. The only complaint was that as soon as we walked into the room, we smelt cigarette smoke and we had specifically requested a non-smoking room. We questioned reception immediately and were advised that all lagoon rooms were smoking, but that housekeeping would apply freshening immediately, which they did. It is however very cheeky that that the hotel offers you non-smoking rooms when they know that they cannot in this category (especially since the lagoon rooms are more expensive). If you are a very serious non /anti-smoker, then stay away as the whole place allows smoking. It is disgusting walking down the passages and smelling cigarette smoke coming from the rooms. There is smoking all over the foyer and in the restaurants - so no place to hide. Walk into the Hard Rock Cafe and you are hit with serious cigarette stink even if nobody is smoking inside. I can't believe that hotel owners are happy to see their establishment ruined by smokers as the furniture and fixtures harbour this permanent smell. In this modern world, non-smokers should be allowed to enjoy a meal without added annoyance.

The hotel is well located and other than a single meal in the Hard Rock Cafe, we chose to eat at restaurants within walking distance. There are some good ones around.

In summary, if you are OK with large crowds (families), loud music and lots of smokers, then this is not a bad place to stay (we will stay there again). If you are looking for a quite and private stay, then choose somewhere else.

Room Tip: Ask for a room as far away from the noise as possible. If you book a lagoon room and you are a non...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Beamer23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,950 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,817
    1,458
    484
    125
    66
See reviews for
2,176
967
96
101
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (797)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Hampshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
298 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2012 via mobile

Tried Hard Rock despite mixed reviews. With 3small kids, we were in the Kings 6th floor and in a double room and after some trouble, they agreed to fit 2 extra beds in (claimed it wouldn't fit). But apart from that hiccup, the extra we paid for the King's floor was worthwhile as it was the quietest, had a private lounge for breakfast, afternoon tea(scones, cakes) & canapés in the evenings. Ably ran by Johan who is commendable. The food is not the best (for that Rasa Sayang still is tops) but the service is unpretentious, staff helpful (esp mention of Michelle in the gift shop) and the pool just amazing with a sandy floor -so it is like on the beach except here in Penang, jellyfish & pollution puts paid to that so this is the best 'beach' experience Penang has to offer. Did try the Cafe last yr- if you like HR, you will like it here - it's no different from any other Hard Rock fare anywhere in the world except in Penang, it feels a lot more expensive as food outside is so much cheaper. Will probably return.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
Thank comfy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
197 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2012

My husband and I, both in our sixties, booked a 3 night package at Hard Rock. The rooms are spacious, and try to be as "Hollywood-style" as possible with red-and-white movie-style furniture, very comfortable with lovely armchairs but the Ray Charles bathroom portrait over the sink had to be pushed aside to access the mirror, very inconvenient! The television screen was too new-fangled to manipulate other channels than the house ones, would prefer a more conventional set-up really.
That said, the staff are friendly and eager to please, though cleaning is a bit erratic. One day they may come as early as 9am and subsequently not appear until they are reminded, but when they do come, they do the job well and are generous with the good-quality toiletries. Food in the two outlets were mediocre and expensive, for a food paradise like Penang, and had few local dishes that came anywhere near those at hawker centres in Penang. However, the bus stop is conveniently outside the hotel and buses are quite frequent, taking one all the way down Batu Ferringhi, to Komtar in about an hour. At night, along the way and within ten to fifteen minutes, you can drop at the Long Beach Hawker Centre where there is delicious hae mee (prawn noodles in spicy soup) and good Northern Indian food.
The infinity pool was great as we had a lagoon room so you step straight into the pool from your room, but I think facilities for children were superb with novelty rides and fun games at their pool. Hotel is busy and noisy most of the time, great for children and teenagers but the older set might prefer a quieter place.

Room Tip: A lagoon room on the ground level is good if you intend to swim every day, get one furthest from the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bluesphynx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SELANGOR
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2012

Stayed two nights Sat & Sun, connecting deluxe seaview rooms. Gaudy colours and visuals greet you right from the entrance itself. And it is noisy. Pop and rock songs are on all the time, but they are easy on the ears. In the evening, you have the band in the lounge and after 10.30pm, in Hard Rock Cafe itself.
Check in is a breeze, staff are all pleasant and always have a smile.
Rooms are spacious, amenities adequate but not exceptional.
Be informed that this hotel is not for those who want peace and quiet and soothing views.
The hotel has more colours than a rainbow and the colour scheme screams!
Then you have the kids, lots of them on weekends. The lifts are often wet, thanks to
those who use them just after a dip in the pool. The pool, yeah, it's great.
Breakfast is nothing to shout about but room service food prices are surprisingly light
on the pocket.
What's Hard Rock without the Cafe? On Friday and Saturday nights, it's packed. Hardly
any room to move around. But the band's great.
All in all, Hard Rock Hotel is for action men and women who do not intend to lounge around
reading a book in a quiet spot. You stay at Hard Rock, you MOVE! But I suppose there
are rooms in a more quiet spot of the hotel suitable for those who are less action-oriented.
Food outside the hotel is not that near within reach. The hotel has a shuttle to the night market
where there are plenty of restaurants and eateries, mini markets and laundry outlets.
Great hotel for families. Fun and entertainment for the kids during the day and rock the
night away for adults!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yeongml
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
90 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2012

We spent 3 nights in Hard Rock Penang. Overall, is a hip and happening hotel with good facilities for families and young people especially. As it was my first Hard Rock hotel stay, can't really compared. The rooms are very spacious and still roomy after a extra bed which is unfortunately not of good quality. Interesting design and touches of Hard Rock every where. The highlight is in the multi-part pool that caters esp to children. Quite a bit of activities going on. However, food is mediocre and bordering poor in a place like Penang! Service is friendly but had a bad experience of a long-delayed towel delivery.. Recommend it for young people and young family but not those who want a peaceful retreat.

Room Tip: The first (ground) floor room has balconies that extend directly into the pool! But those with young...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jesscet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
2 reviews
Reviewed 4 April 2012

I've been to HRH twice...1st time there I stayed in a sea view room and the second time in a studio suite(if I'm not mistaken) . Because stayed at suite room so me n hubby can enjoy the club privileges...I love evening cocktail (dim sum)..
Will definitely come back because I'm collecting the anniversary record.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ElizIrwan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 April 2012

Far from airport... luckily i had rm100 in my purse coz the journey robbed me rm69!! i arrived hr hotel after 45 mins with friendly cab driver and it was worth it!!!!! Once i step into hotel i felt very relaxing cos the environment is cool and relax and make me feel kinda excited.. the check in counter and the bar... the 3piece band that played great music are welcome to my ears. Service is tiptop... the room was cozy enough and i just felt in love with the bed!!! Pool was big and there is water aerobic activity that you can join and enjoy (you will get cert from hotel for it).. don't eat at hotel except for breakfast (breakfast was awesome!!! love it), do go to Gurney Drive for heaven food on earth... variety of choice and super duper delicious... don't forget to bring your sport shoes, gym was excellent! definitely will come back for more.

Room Tip: any room is good
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KeliKoli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Batu Ferringhi
1.5 km away
Golden Sands Resort by Shangri-La
0.7 km away
PARKROYAL Penang Resort, Malaysia
0.9 km away
Holiday Inn Resort Penang
Holiday Inn Resort Penang
#5 of 11 in Batu Ferringhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Bayview Beach Resort
Bayview Beach Resort
#7 of 11 in Batu Ferringhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,664 reviews
1.3 km away
Lone Pine Hotel
Lone Pine Hotel
#6 of 11 in Batu Ferringhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,418 reviews
11.6 km away
Eastern & Oriental Hotel
Eastern & Oriental Hotel
#11 of 84 in George Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hard Rock Hotel Penang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hard Rock Hotel Penang

Property: Hard Rock Hotel Penang
Address: Batu Ferringhi Beach, Batu Ferringhi, Penang Island 11100, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Region: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > Batu Ferringhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#2 Business Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#2 Romantic Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#2 Spa Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#3 Family Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hard Rock Hotel Penang 4.5*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the famous Batu Ferringhi Beach in Penang, Hard Rock Hotel Penang is a trendy hotel that sets itself apart from the conventional beach resort; blending rich music culture, contemporary design, and family friendly facilities. The 6-storey hotel boasts 250 rockin' rooms and suites, most of which feature beach frontage. The modern structure is completed with tastefully furnished bedrooms such as sensual guest bathrooms, Sleep Like a Rock(R) signature bed and modern in-room amenities. All rooms are fully equipped with DVD/CD players, 32-inch LCD TVs, iPod docking stations, complimentary Wi-Fi and wired connectivity and an interactive IPTV system. At the Hard Rock Hotel Penang, we serve rockin' food that is suitable for everyone; authentic American cuisine at the world famous Hard Rock Cafe, delicious Italian food at the Pizzeria and Asian and International cuisine at The Starz Diner. Hard Rock Hotel Penang features the largest free-form pool in Northern Malaysian. With a large play area, the pool is a hit with children. We provide facilities for everyone and plethora of fun activities and entertainment all day. Modern, non-traditional design and cutting-edge technology permeates Hard Rock's extensive indoor/outdoor meeting and event space. Anything from intimate private meetings in Penang to spectacular banquets that seats up to 300 guests, Hard Rock Hotel Penang provides extreme Rock Star service to ensure you a rockin' event success. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Fastbooking, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Hard Rock Hotel Penang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hard Rock Hotel Penang Batu Ferringhi, Malaysia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing