We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Heaven on earth??” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lone Pine Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Lone Pine Hotel
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Batu Ferringhi
Certificate of Excellence
Oudehorne
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Heaven on earth??”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2012

We had to stay in Malaysia for one week, because we couldn't get a flight to Amsterdam as soon as we wanted it.
This wasn't a punishment! The hotel is beautiful, rooms are magnificent! Staff is very friendly and helpful. In Europe they can learn anything from hospitality here!
Maybe the only negative is that the ladies of the housekeeping are a bit noisy sometimes, slamming with doors, etc.
For the rest... I would certainly recommend this hotel to my relatives and I hope I can come back one day!

Room Tip: As far as I know, all rooms are good. Maybe the best is not to stay to near to the swimming pool bec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JosineOudehorne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcoGB, General Manager at Lone Pine Hotel, responded to this review, 30 March 2012
Dear JosineOudehorne,

Sunshine Greetings from Malaysia’s Premier Boutique Beach Resort!

I am sure everything is well and proceeding positively for you and your family.

I certainly appreciate the care, time and interest you have taken to write those positive comments of our staffs, our rooms and the hotel during your recent stay with us, even though with a little “uncomfortable” experience with our over “excited” cleaning ladies . Please accept my apologies and we shall advice to them to tone down during their course of duty.

We certainly look forward to welcoming you back at the property again soon, and trust that future visits will be just as enjoyable and more fulfilling.

Once again, thank you and wishing you and your family a good week-end ahead.

Thank you and best regards,
MARCO G. BATTISTOTTI
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,335 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    598
    482
    146
    59
    50
See reviews for
391
610
58
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (380)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2012

We have just returned from 7 nights staying at the Lone Pine. The four of us (2 rooms)were impressed with the check-in service, room design and breakfast. All met our expectations of a "boutique" hotel. The breakfast staff were lovely and assisted in arranging a driver and outings for us.
However for three of our seven days upgrade work two floors above us resulted in constant jack hammering from 9am to after 5 pm each day. We had booked and paid our accommodation in advance and before doing so had thoroughly checked the website for advance notice of things such as renovations that would interfere with our relaxing holiday. There was nothing on the website.
When we complained at the front desk, they told us there had been lots of complaints about the noise. They sent a young manager wearing a "trainee" badge to try and find a solution. We were eventually offered different rooms however did not move as one of the offered rooms smelt very stongly of smoke and the other was musty. It really was very unsatisfactory and a disappointment after such a great start to our holiday.
On day 5 of our stay, management closed one of the pools. Again no notice. The pool was still closed when we left.
Our flight left in the evening and management kindly provided late chekcout at no cost.
Although this did assist in offsetting the impact of jack hammering, I can't help but wonder whether the hotel would be better off advising guests before they book and offering discounts for the periods when they will be undertaking renovations rather than disappointing guests with unacceptable noise levels who go to Penang with nothing but relaxing in mind.
Before booking I would advise you to contact the hotel directly and ask them to confirm whether renovations will be occurring during your stay.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frank L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcoGB, General Manager at Lone Pine Hotel, responded to this review, 30 March 2012
Dear Dieselcanberra,

Sunshine Greetings from Malaysia’s Premier Boutique Beach Resort!

I am sure everything is well and proceeding positively for you and your family.

First of all, I certainly appreciate your care, time and interest you have taken to highlight your deep dissatisfaction with regards to the level of noise resulting from our recent urgent repair exercise on the 3rd Floor and the Children Pool. We had no alternatives but to take the necessary action at a short notice to rectify the defects or we would have to endure more complains due to it. We have always ensured that we placed our circulated letter in all our guestrooms to inform them about any activities in the hotel that may cause some discontent during their stay.

While care had been taken to ensure minimal disruption to the everyday operations and comfort of guests, we have taken note of your comments and shall monitor all upgrading works more closely in future. We do appreciate such constructive comments as it will only further motivate us to work harder to improve our services and standards in our hotel.

I do apologize for the inconveniences you encountered and hope that these unfortunate incidents will not deter you from visiting Penang and indeed our property again in the not too distant future.

Wishing you and your family a good week-end and a positive week ahead.

Thank you and best regards,
MARCO G. BATTISTOTTI
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penang Island, Malaysia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2012

we stayed at the lone pine for 16 nights in February, it was most enjoyable. having read some reviews on here you do wonder what some people want. the hotel was very friendly staff could not have done more to make our stay better. we had a lovely room on the third floor which had a view over the pool. the breakfast was very good plenty of choice every day. the pool and sunbeds were always available when needed and the lads round the pool were great and very helpful. i look forward to another stay at this hotel.

Room Tip: third floor rooms 309 was good
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 253mikes253
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcoGB, General Manager at Lone Pine Hotel, responded to this review, 26 March 2012
Dear 253mikes253,

Sunshine Greetings from Malaysia’s Premier Boutique Beach Resort!

I am sure everything is well and the month of March is proceeding positively for you and your family.

It was really fantastic to have read your wonderful comments during your recent stay at the Lone Pine Hotel and that have made it more satisfying for all of us to learn that we have managed to fulfil the expectations of another guest.

The hospitality industry is indeed challenging but most fulfilling when we have a guest like you expressing your satisfaction to the whole world and pledging to return and visit us.

Please rest assured that your comments have been acknowledged by the management of Lone Pine Hotel and have been duly passed on to the respective department heads to share with their staff.

We certainly look forward to welcoming you back at the property again soon, and trust that future visits will be just as enjoyable.

Once again, thank you and wishing you and your family a good week ahead.

Thank you and best regards,
MARCO G. BATTISTOTTI
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2012

We have stayed at this hotel a number or times and it never fails to impress. The quality of the managers and staff impressed us and we are of the opinion that service has improved since last year as the new staff have bedded in. We particularly liked the theme nights which are excellent value with a varied choice of food - delicious! The Friday/Saturday night buffet with the strollers is a must. We stayed in a garden room which can be noisy at weekends if there is a wedding but on the upside we did get to hear some good bands and the functions do tend to end on time at 11.00p.m. Housekeeping are excellent and we appreciated the variety of fresh fruit on offer this year. Overall we had a really relaxing holiday and would particularly recommend the hotel to travellers who like the informality of a smaller hotel

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeanette R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcoGB, General Manager at Lone Pine Hotel, responded to this review, 26 March 2012
Dear Jeanette R,

Sunshine Greetings from Malaysia’s Premier Boutique Beach Resort!

I am sure everything is well and the month of March is proceeding positively for you and your family.

It was really fantastic to have read your wonderful comments during your recent stay at the Lone Pine Hotel and that have made it more satisfying for all of us to learn that we have managed to fulfil the expectations of another guest.

The hospitality industry is indeed challenging but most fulfilling when we have a guest like you expressing your satisfaction to the whole world and pledging to return and visit us.

Please rest assured that your comments have been acknowledged by the management of Lone Pine Hotel and have been duly passed on to the respective department heads to share with their staff.

We certainly look forward to welcoming you back at the property again soon, and trust that future visits will be just as enjoyable.

Once again, thank you and wishing you and your family a good week ahead.

Thank you and best regards,
MARCO G. BATTISTOTTI
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wollongong, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2012

My wife and I spent eight nights at Lone Pine in early March 2012.

We were looking for a relaxing, beach-side escape and, thanks to TridAdvisor reviews, found it and more.

The Lone Pine is a small hotel where you feel part of the family rather than just another punter as you sometimes do in larger hotels. The rooms are very spacious (we stayed in 211) with a modern functional design with every convenience you could wish for.

We made extensive use of the pool area (lovely), the BatuBar (thanks to Nadzullah) and The Bungalow. In all cases the vibe, service and value for money were excellent.

Having had our luggage 'misplaced' for 12 hours by our airline (no names) we must thank Ismail at the front desk for his fantastic effort (and patience with us) in retrieving the situation and making the impact on our holiday as minimal as possible. Really just normal Lone Pine style.

The Lone Pine is the perfect refuge from the hustle of Batu Ferringhi as the night markets are just outside the front gate and the Long Beach Hawkers Centre just down the street.

Thanks to all previous TripAdvisor reviewers from 2 very grateful travellers....can't wait for our return visit.

Room Tip: We stayed in 211...fantastic view over the garden out to the ocean. Did overlook weddings on 2 night...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank easy1153
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcoGB, General Manager at Lone Pine Hotel, responded to this review, 26 March 2012
Dear easy1153,

Sunshine Greetings from Malaysia’s Premier Boutique Beach Resort!

I am sure everything is well and the month of March is proceeding positively for you and your family.

It was really fantastic to have read your wonderful comments during your recent stay at the Lone Pine Hotel and that have made it more satisfying for all of us to learn that we have managed to fulfil the expectations of another guest.

The hospitality industry is indeed challenging but most fulfilling when we have a guest like you expressing your satisfaction to the whole world and pledging to return and visit us.

Please rest assured that your comments have been acknowledged by the management of Lone Pine Hotel and have been duly passed on to the respective department heads to share with their staff.

We certainly look forward to welcoming you back at the property again soon, and trust that future visits will be just as enjoyable.

Once again, thank you and wishing you and your family a good week ahead.

Thank you and best regards,
MARCO G. BATTISTOTTI
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2012

I stayed here as a kid in the 70s and still remember the sheer size of the rooms...that hasn't changed and was thrilled to bring my 2 kids back to the new Lone Pine. We booked a super deluxe room which had another small room with a bed annexed to the main room...needless to say, my kids were thrilled at the concept of their own little playroom/bedroom. They took every bath in the bathtub on the balcony with the coconut shell water scoop...you can watch over them on the day bed on the balcony as well, our room was huge. A wedding was held while we were there, it was noisy and lasted a bit late into the night...but we weren't terribly affected we were in the deluxe/super deluxe rooms which are in the new wing and further away from the site of the wedding itself...may be best to avoid the garden wing on weekends when there is probably going to be a wedding or stay there during the Hungry Ghost month when very few weddings are held! We had two kids who slept cheerfully through the entire thing, one of which slept through the entire thing and the other one got a kick out of seeing a wedding from the balcony...and the setting is so lovely, we found it hard put to begrudge some people having a bit of a party after a wedding. Great setting for a beachfront wedding too, I might add...No issues with housekeeping, staff was very friendly and drinks in the minibar (non-alcoholic) are complimentary - rare but appreciated. Breakfast was good. Bear in mind that you will not get bacon in most hotels in Malaysia as the food in such places has to be halal...but overall a nice mix of local and western choices. We usually resist hotel breakfasts in Penang as Penang is a gastronomic destination in itself but it was telling that the draw of the freshly squeezed fruit/veges juices delivered to your table, teh tarik, freshly fried Char Kuay Teow from a dedicated CKT fry station and a charcoal grill just for your kaya toast drew us every morning. Most hotels, even the 5 star ones in this region, just serve you the usual canned juices..nasty stuff. A very nice alternative to the whole string of chain hotels in the Batu Ferringhi area, this is going to be our favourite hotel in Penang. Very nice setting, all rooms face the sea. Great for kids.

Room Tip: Get a higher level room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mom2781
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcoGB, General Manager at Lone Pine Hotel, responded to this review, 26 March 2012
Dear mom2781,

Sunshine Greetings from Malaysia’s Premier Boutique Beach Resort!

I am sure everything is well and the month of March is proceeding positively for you and your family.

It was really fantastic to have read your wonderful comments during your recent stay at the Lone Pine Hotel and that have made it more satisfying for all of us to learn that we have managed to fulfil the expectations of another guest.

We certainly look forward to welcoming you back at the property again soon, and trust that future visits will be just as enjoyable and more fulfilling.

Once again, thank you and wishing you and your family a good week ahead.

Thank you and best regards,
MARCO G. BATTISTOTTI
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cotonou, Benin
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2012

Line Pine is a very nice hotel, great services, nice breakfast (I'm a morning person and nobody can mess with my breakfast) but the beach...................... With lot of para-sailing and jet ski. I did not like it at all. We could not walk on the beach because every time we were warned about the take offs and landings....and I do not count that we were there during Chinese holiday when lot of people were on the beach which would not be problem if they would not leave such mess and garbage behind themselves. This was not the hotel fault.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dotyi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcoGB, General Manager at Lone Pine Hotel, responded to this review, 26 March 2012
Dear Dotyi,

Sunshine Greetings from Malaysia’s Premier Boutique Beach Resort!

I am sure everything is well and the month of March is proceeding positively for you and your family.

It was really fantastic to have read your wonderful comments during your recent stay at the Lone Pine Hotel and that have made it more satisfying for all of us to learn that we have managed to fulfil the expectations of another guest.

The hospitality industry is indeed challenging but most fulfilling when we have a guest like you expressing your satisfaction to the whole world and pledging to return and visit us.

Please rest assured that your comments have been acknowledged by the management of Lone Pine Hotel and have been duly passed on to the respective department heads to share with their staff.

We certainly look forward to welcoming you back at the property again soon, and trust that future visits will be just as enjoyable.

Once again, thank you and wishing you and your family a good week ahead.

Thank you and best regards,
MARCO G. BATTISTOTTI
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Batu Ferringhi
0.2 km away
Golden Sands Resort by Shangri-La
1.3 km away
Hard Rock Hotel Penang
Hard Rock Hotel Penang
#2 of 12 in Batu Ferringhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,270 reviews
0.7 km away
PARKROYAL Penang Resort, Malaysia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Holiday Inn Resort Penang
Holiday Inn Resort Penang
#4 of 12 in Batu Ferringhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,985 reviews
1.3 km away
Bayview Beach Resort
Bayview Beach Resort
#7 of 12 in Batu Ferringhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,590 reviews
11.2 km away
Eastern & Oriental Hotel
Eastern & Oriental Hotel
#10 of 82 in George Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lone Pine Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lone Pine Hotel

Property: Lone Pine Hotel
Address: Lone Pine Hotel 97 Jalan Batu Ferringhi, Batu Ferringhi, Penang Island 11100, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > Batu Ferringhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#4 Family Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#4 Spa Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#6 Luxury Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Lone Pine Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away in an idyllic spot along Penang's coastline, Lone Pine is Batu Ferringhi's only luxury boutique hotel. Renewed and rejuvenated after a lovingly undertaken restoration, Penang's favourite beachside boutique resort reopened its doors refreshed in design and facilities, but still infused with the same colonial spirit and idyllic charm that has made it one of Penang's legendary hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ctrip TA, Fastbooking, Priceline, Travelocity.ca, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings and ACCOR so you can book your Lone Pine Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lone Pine Batu Ferringhi
Hotel Lone Pine
Lone Pine Hotel Penang/Batu Ferringhi, Malaysia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing