We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,668)
Filter reviews
1,668 results
Traveller rating
712
595
202
89
70
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
712
595
202
89
70
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bungalow restaurant casuarina trees day bed super deluxe room plunge bath boutique hotel night market sound of the waves flip flops roti ceiling fan mini bar public beach char kway teow premier room food court relaxing stay
Filter
Updating list...
23 - 28 of 1,668 reviews
Reviewed September 4, 2018

We booked a room with a balcony but were told we were not allowed to smoke anywhere except the designated areas (which were in strange places). Restaurants and pool area are also non smoking - not a problem but as it isn't mentioned anywhere obvious on the website, thought I would inform.
Rooms were nice, cleaned everyday. Bungalow restaurant was over priced and the food wasn't that great but lots of restaurants / cafes within walking distance.
The beach is ok - I don't recommend swimming in the sea - lots of boats and jet skis whizzing around
Staff really helpful and very friendly.

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Debbie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancoisGSigrist, General Manager at Lone Pine Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2018

Dear Debbie C,
Thank you very much for your good score and kind comments. In regards of the non smoking policy we are following the Malaysian regulation 2015 which is following the international regulation of non smoking in building and public garden, however we have organised a few areas to ensure our customers comfort while enjoying their smoke and not disturbing other non smokers guests. Our policy is actually on our first paragraph, last line of introduction and reminder along the way in our room description. However I apologise for any inconvenience caused and will ensure it is more obvious in our new web page coming up soon. In regards of our food pricing we do our best to maintain affordable price but of course very difficult to compete with single operated unlicenced restaurants or hawker stalls which do not have to follow all the licensing and special requirements that hotels have to go through at high expenses. We are presently reviewing our food offering and soon will have a great display for our guests to chose and enjoy. Thank you so much for your generous feedback on our Team a great motivation to all of them. We look forward to welcome you back soon in our renewed hotel for a great experience. Have a fantastic time ahead. Most sincerely, Francois

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 3, 2018 via mobile

Really enjoyed our 3 night stay in Lone Pine Hotel. This is a different experience from the hotels we stayed in Penang before. It is so quiet and relaxing. Service is good and the staff are all so friendly.
We stayed at the premiere suite. It is a super large room that comes with a living room, spacious bathroom and a long balcony facing the sea. We loved sitting there with our tea/coffee and our books, listening to the waves, especially when it was raining outside.
When the sun came out, our favourite "lepak" (relax) spot was the pool area. There is also a jacuzzi area. If you prefer the beach and some water sports, there is a little gate near to the pool that brings you right into the beach area. It is so convenient!
There is one restaurant and one bar in the hotel. Breakfast buffet has a wide spread. Their roti canai is crispy and yummy. We tried their lunch and dinner too. Food is not bad. If you want to have local food in a more local atmosphere, there is a long stretch of night market right outside the hotel.
The hotel is currently under renovation, as per the notice, they are doing the reno one wing at a time. but it didn't really affect our stay. Some parts of the hotel do look a bit old. For instance some parts of the wooden windows in our room have chipped off, so some upgrading will be good. Overall, I really love the colonial feel of the hotel.
I do look forward coming to stay in Lone Pine again in future.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled with friends
Thank Trek642705
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancoisGSigrist, General Manager at Lone Pine Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2018

Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for your great score and thoughtful comments greatly appreciated! I apologise for the inconveniences caused with our ongoing renovation and look forward to welcome you back in our renewed property for further improved memorable experiences.
Have a real awesome time ahead. Most sincerely,
Francois

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 2, 2018 via mobile

This is the first time we stayed in hotel at Batu Ferringhi. Chose here because it looked nice and tranquil. Well it was.
Check in: although we waited for 2 hours to check in, the staff was most friendly and made our wait a pleasant one.
Room: it was huge! Our balcony overlooked the beach and the view was amazing. The room was abit old given that it is an old hotel. But the bed was real comfy and i love the balcony alot. Toilet was so big i think its almost same size as my room.
Amenities: the pool area was very nice and we loved chilling there. But rainy weather kept us away for 2 mornings. The bunglow (the only restaurant) was like an old charm house. Breakfast spread was fantastic. Havent tried the dinner though.
Location: its abit far from the city. About 30 mins away. But with grab, its kind of convenient. Not to mention the pasar malam is just right outside the hotel, happy shopping!
If you like the beach, quiet envirnment and friendly staff. This would be it. Provided you don't mind the location.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled with friends
Thank Alexis Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancoisGSigrist, General Manager at Lone Pine Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2018

Dear Alexis Y,
We are so pleased and delighted to receive your great score and generous feedbacks, it is so motivating and encouraging to all of us at Lone Pine hotel to keep us working hard in ensuring guests satisfactions.
See you back soon and have a wonderful time ahead. Most sincerely, Francois

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 1, 2018 via mobile

This was our third trip to Penang. We had previously chosen larger, newer hotels. But the larger hotels left me with memories of jostling for breakfast tables, searching for edible scraps at the breakfast buffet, the crowded pools. This motivated me to look at different options. Also, we enjoy the heritage nature of Georgetown so we hoped to be able to stay at in a heritage building at the beach.

The Lone Pine is a boutique hotel, one of the first at Batu Ferringhi, in a heritage building and is smaller than the others. So it ticked all of the boxes for us.

The pre-booking service was great. We booked directly with the hotel after I sent an enquiry about the hotel. They were very responsive and helpful. They were friendly and welcoming on arrival, check-in was efficient. When we requested service, they were very responsive. They dealt with issues like the air conditioning and when we forgot our safe combination very promptly and in a friendly and helpful manner.

The Lone Pine has some really great staff. Poolside and breakfast service was excellent. The staff were friendly, offered conversation, were warm and responsive. The reception staff were always helpful and friendly.

One problem I have in Malaysia is that I never know whether we should tip, or how much. There needs to be an international standard! ISO.TIP.

The Lone Pine has a great location, right on Batu Ferringhi beach. It is a short walk to the night markets and hawker stalls and a slightly longer walk to the shops and bank. It is well located for visits to such places as the Spice Gardens, the Butterfly Farms (Entopia) and the Tropical Fruit Gardens. Batu Ferringhi beach itself has quite a few activities. It's an easy 20 to 40 minute taxi or ride-sharing ride to Georgetown.

After an email discussion with the hotel staff, we booked a Super Deluxe Seafacing Room. The cost is worth it. It is a very spacious room, with plenty of room for luggage and hanging up clothes. The balcony overlooked the pool and beach, and there was a private bathtub on the balcony. The room also included a separate sunroom with a daybed! This was the best value luxury I've ever spent money on.

You could hear the waves from out room. It's a lovely sound as we drift off the sleep. On the flip-side, you can hear all sorts of other noises too, and during the day, the sound of jet-skis, motor boats and music is not always welcome.

There were signs that the room needed some renovation and refurbishment, with paint peeling and scrapes and scratches here and there. People with an eye for detail and a need for perfection will find things to complain about, but that probably makes their lives happier!

The bathroom was spacious and the toiletries were good quality. This included shampoo, conditioner, soap, body wash, shavers, toothbrushes and toothpaste, shower caps, etc. The room also provided bath robes, sarongs and slippers.

The bed was big and comfortable.

The hotel also includes two restaurants (although one has since closed its doors) and a very nice bar. There is a modest pool, as well as a children's pool, and a kind of spa pool. Pool side is very, very pleasant. Under the shade of tall casuarina trees. The garden is not large, but very nice and peaceful. Very comfortable hammocks hang between casuarina trees.

We can't comment on the standard of the a la carte restaurants, as we chose to eat at the nearby hawker stalls and cafes. We did have their breakfast each morning, however. The breakfast selection was plentiful. And being a smaller facility, we did not notice the same kind of bad farm-animal type behaviour at the breakfast buffet. Such a bonus. The breakfast restaurant was very pleasant.

The bar and bar service is excellent, but I would urge them to extend their range of beers and to include a selection of craft beers......PLEASE!

The best thing about Lone Pine was it's location close to the hawker stalls and markets, the pool and garden setting and the hammocks in the garden.

The Lone Pine would suit a traveller who wants to relax by the pool, do beach activities, visit the attractions on the north west side of Penang, have massages and watching the sunset. And being a smaller hotel, service felt a little more personal.

We will be back.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank yippopotamus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancoisGSigrist, General Manager at Lone Pine Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2018

Dear yippopotamus,
Thank you so much for yoru great score and generous comments, greatly appreciated! we are so pleased you had a memorable time with us and cant wait to welcome you back soon in our Lone Pine Hotel renovated rooms. Have a wonderful time ahead and wish you a fantastic time ahead.
Most sincerely,
Francois

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 30, 2018

Lone Pine hotel is a tranquil hotel along the beach. I love how convenient this hotel is and I am just minutes away from the exciting activities! Activities such as parasailing, speedboat action or even banana boat are available!

The Premier Suite comes with a big sofa-bed in the living room. Its relaxing!

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Prissiewerks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrancoisGSigrist, General Manager at Lone Pine Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2018

Dear Prissiewerks,
Thank you very much for your good score and glad you had a relaxing time with us in our little paradise away from the busy city life.
We look forward to welcome you back soon in our renewed hotel and wish you a wonderful time ahead.
Most sincerely
Francois

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews