We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (109)
Filter reviews
109 results
Traveller rating
90
17
2
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
90
17
2
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews private pool first floor tour desk jaguar reef main resort incredible room other guests resort fee angel fish pool bar almond beach resort top floor captain larry mayan chocolate house restaurant golf cart hot tub
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 109 reviews
Reviewed October 3, 2018 via mobile

We had a wonderful time, the room and grounds are immaculate. The Paddle House dining is 5 star, absolutely some of the best meals we've had. The drinks at the bar are tasty and perfect. The staff is very friendly and accommodating. We will definitely return. Thank You!!

Stayed: October 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank TexasFuninthesun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 30, 2018 via mobile

Hey guys me and my friend girls just got im the car to drive here for the food . the last time i came and stayed the weekend got in the wonderful pool.. Ate and played games.. I couldn't wait to eat the salmon again.. So we said lets go eat again.. Love this place

Stayed: September 2018, travelled with friends
1  Thank Patricia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 20, 2018

Getting to Hopkins from Belize City was a long drive, but once we checked into the Villa Margarita (The entrance to the resort and check-in desk is at Jaguar Reef), we were greeted and treated exceptionally well. The resort is split into 4 or so different small hotels. The Villa Margarita itself is like a condo and really was so amazing. The air conditioner was fantastic, and we really had everything we needed. I do wish the wifi worked better in Villa Margarita as it did in the main resort. The resort staff is super friendly and helpful. Charlie's bar is an exceptional bar, and Charlie is fun, knows the area and makes excellent drinks. There are a couple of restaurants on the beach next to the resort, but we found that the Lucky Lobster just down the road from the resort was the best for dinner, while the Gym/Cafe was the best for dinner, which opened at 6am and served the BEST green smoothies and zucchini bread. They also served breakfast burritos which were tasty. We went on multiple excursions that were organized through Jaguar Reef. We signed up for each one the day before and had the best time. The excursions included River Monkey Tour (We saw monkeys, crocodiles, and manatees), Snorkeling on the reef, and a Mayan Ruin tour. Highly recommended and would go again. -- Side note, we went during the rainy season in August, but even though it rained every day, the majority of the day was perfect. And because of the rainy season, there were no tourist crowds anywhere, including the resort. Also, we found it was easiest to fly to Belize City from Dangriga to go back to the states vs driving back. Same cost for hiring a car and no hassle.

Room Tip: They're all great, but a 3rd floor in Villa Margarita is best.
  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank D_Colorado82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 10, 2018

We stayed at the Villa Margarita the first week of September, 2018. The property itself is in quaint village of Hopkins. Hopkins is a very casual environment, with mainly dirt streets and very friendly people. The property is well maintained and the staff very welcoming and attentive. There were three downsides to the property; beach, construction, and wireless access.

The beach is not huge, and it isn't the soft white sands of the Caribbean that you might expect. It was suffering from some beach erosion, but the biggest issue was sea grass. The sea grass extends 10 feet out from the beach, sitting there in a rotting, stinking mess filled with bits of garbage. You couldn't safely step into the ocean because you didn't know what was beneath the rotting mess. If the winds died, you couldn't even sit outside because of the stench.

Construction was going on in for the Spa, dock, and sidewalks. The dock wasn't as big of an issue, or the sidewalks. But the Spa was 7 days a week, 14 hours a day. Not the most relaxing to sit out when you have saws going constantly two doors down.

Finally, the wireless was good in Jaguar Reef, but in Villa Margarita it was spotty at best. The router must be in another building down the shore because our power went out a couple of times due to storms at night, and the wireless did not. We could see adjacent properties wireless consistently, but Villa Margarita was intermittent.

Room Tip: First floor has best outdoor seating, views still reasonable
  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dammit303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VivaBelizeHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Villa Margarita, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2018

Good Morning Thom,

Thank you for choosing Villa Margarita for your holiday stay, and for taking the time to write your review.

We acknowledge your concern and apologize that your stay with us coincided with construction work being carried out at the resort. The owners are investing over $3 million dollars in upgrading different areas of the sister resorts to bring it up to standard with the newly built and very popular Sea Front Villas and Sea View Villas, as well as building a new state of the art, one of its kind, Dock Bar and refacing of the pool and pool deck. We aim to have all this work completed over the next few weeks.

Yes it is unfortunate that our service provider cannot offer us stable WiFi at Villa Margarita. The WiFi at the Restaurant and Bar areas housed by Villa Margarita's sister Resort is with a different service provider and could probably explain why you witnessed or experienced better wireless service in the surrounding areas, .

The sargassum, is certainly a bother, not only to Belize but is causing problems for most of the Caribbean. We are happy to let you know that we are working on a system to help us alleviate this issue before it hits our beach, by placing some "nets" (much thought and research given that it is of no harm to the sea/marine life) that should channel the sargassum away from our main beach and cleaned up by staff, where the sargassum will be left to bleach and then recycled for the use of land fill and fertilizer.

Should you plan a return trip to Belize, we can only hope that Villa Margarita would be your choice of accommodation again, so that we can ensure that you enjoy all the new upgrades and amenities.

Best Regards

Edith


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 27, 2018 via mobile

My stay at Villa Margarita was exactly what I expected and needed to relax, work, and explore. It was home away from home, with all the support of a dedicated, attentive, and professional resort staff. So many members of the team went out of their way to meet my needs that I couldn't possibly name them all. The Guest Services Manager, Mr. Jose Meggs, is a polished professional whose attention to detail rivals any I've experienced over decades of international travel to some of the best resorts in the world. If you prefer a less populated, tranquil experience on the Caribbean Sea with coordinated access to every adventure Belize has to offer, VM just might be what you're looking for.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled solo
Thank drcamp06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews