We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our stay at the Four Seasons in Costa Rica was the result of an incentive program. I was very impressed.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Gulf of Papagayo
Certificate of Excellence
Destin, Florida
Level Contributor
101 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Our stay at the Four Seasons in Costa Rica was the result of an incentive program. I was very impressed.”
Reviewed 8 February 2012

The service was above reproach. The setting is beautiful. I do agree that the food and drinks are high but was not surprised so it did not bother me. While there we did not encounter any problems. Rooms could probably use a little updating but all in all, a first rate place to stay.

Room Tip: Choose a room closer to the main lobby/restaurants. Some rooms are quite far away.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Linda O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,909 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,499
    275
    89
    30
    16
See reviews for
639
793
18
142
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (415)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Haymarket, Virginia
Level Contributor
84 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2012

The service was impeccable, the roomwas nice. The property is quite isolated, which would be perfect if not for the overpriced food and drnks. There was absolutely no escape from the noisy, poorly behaved toddlers who easily dominated all the pools except for the quiet pool,(which was dominated by noisy wedding guests), the restaurants, and excursions. We were subjected to a whining, crying child for a 3 hour round-trip bus ride and the entire boat ride in the national park. If you do take an excursion, it is worth it to take a private one. While the food is good, it is very overpriced. There is nowhere else to dine. This property is nice for a few days, but a week is too long.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HaymarketCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laguna Niguel, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2012

This was my first time to Costa Rica and will certainly not be my last after the incredible experience I had while staying at the Fours Seasons Resort at Peninsula Papagayo. The location is beautiful, the food is delicious, the service is outstanding and my suite was spacious and comfortable. I highly recommend spending time in the spa; fabulous experience.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Richland Hills, Texas
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 February 2012

We spent 5 days and loved EVERY SINGLE ONE. Would go back in a heartbeat. Order the frozen monkey drink at the pool :) it's delish.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TXLady8612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2012

The Four Seasons Resort at Peninsula Papagayo in Costa Rica is really nice! The service is amazing, the food is great, but our private villa made the trip wonderful! We attended one of my best friend's weddings, and shared a 3 bedroom villa with seven of our closest friends. We chose a villa because we had our own kitchen, private plunge infinity pool and outdoor shower, which proved to be priceless! After all of the wedding festivities, our last night was made memorable with our own pool party that lasted until 3 a.m. I wish the hotel's main pool was an infinity pool, but other than that, I recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank 5_Star_Holly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
35 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2012

We were part of a business group meeting at Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica. It is a beautiful spot with 2 glorious beaches--one is the quiet beach which is wonderful--long, private in feel, with beautiful sand, easy swimming and a gorgeous view of the Pacific. The beach with the beach equipment is also very pretty but obviously has more activity.

There are 3 large pools--one next to the quiet beach is adult only I believe. The other 2 pools are quite large and perfect for families. The property, except for the golf course, is compact. The layout is that the hotel and pools sit between the 2 beaches and the dining areas overlook the pools so not a lot of walking is required. However, the resort is on a very large peninsula and the rest of the grounds are magnificent--especially the golf course which is gorgeous, full of hills and views, and yet extremely playable. We greatly enjoyed our round there. The clubhouse serves lunch which was delicious.

Our room looked out onto the ocean--and I imagine that most are ocean view. The rooms are lovely but not over the top fancy. The room had a gorgeous, very large balcony that was protected from the elements and friendly iguanas by a floor to ceiling screen (good thing). Heavy sliding wood- louvered doors in front of the floor to ceiling glass doors give the room a dark appearance. Bathrooms were what you would expect from a Four Seasons.

We ate all our meals at the resort. The food went from mediocre to good and if you are a fan of local Costa Rican cuisine you will not be disappointed. The best part was the staff. The Costa Ricans are gracious, very friendly and truly happy that you are visiting their country. They aim to please and really do.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank discerningNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2012

My Wife and I recently returned from a 9 day stay at the Four Seasons. It was truly an incredible experience. The property is stunning. From the pools to the Views of both the ocean and the bay, wow. Our room was on the first floor with a bay view. No complaint at all. We had 3 Iguanas that hung out on the grass behind our patio, and were there every day, just hanging out. It was very cool. The service was top notch. We ate at all the restaurants including the beach club, and must say that caracol(at the golf course) was the best. Sushi at ticos, and fish tacos by the pool were other highlights. We had the Bamboo massage at the spa, and it was by far one of the best massages I have ever had. Activities are great, I highly recommend a sunset kayak ride, it was stunning. Also do the tour of the giants. You get to see a lot of the property buy the golf course, and a lot of nature, it was beautiful.

We used tours your way for our transportation to and from the hotel(it was just us both ways), and for a day adventure. Mainor and his staff were incredible, we stopped at the grocery store both on our way to the hotel and after our day trip so we could have some supplies. Our day trip involved horseback riding, zip line, hot springs, and a volcanic mud bath. Absolutely incredible at a place called Vandara. I would highly recommend Tours Your Way.

We spent a lot of time by the pool, the attendants were so, so nice, and brought water and treats often enough. Service in all of the restaurants was very good. You read a lot of reviews that say how costly things are, but do remember it is The Four Seasons, and it is a vacation, and it was amazing. Can not wait to go back!!!

Room Tip: Everyone says go for a higher floor, but we loved being at ground level
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cts9Chicago_illinois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gulf of Papagayo
4.5 km away
Andaz Peninsula Papagayo Resort
Andaz Peninsula Papagayo Resort
#1 of 13 in Gulf of Papagayo
1,516 reviews
4.9 km away
El Mangroove, Autograph Collection
4.8 km away
Secrets Papagayo Costa Rica
Secrets Papagayo Costa Rica
#3 of 13 in Gulf of Papagayo
1,694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
26.8 km away
The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal
11.5 km away
Hotel Riu Palace Costa Rica
11.2 km away
Hotel Riu Guanacaste
Hotel Riu Guanacaste
#1 of 1 in Playa Matapalo
6,184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo

Property: Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo
Address: Peninsula Papagayo, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Gulf of Papagayo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
#1 Family Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
#2 Spa Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
#2 Luxury Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo 5*
Number of rooms: 184
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica at Peninsula Papagayo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Four Seasons Resort Costa Rica At Peninsula Papagayo Hotel Gulf Of Papagayo
4 Seasons Resort Costa Rica At Peninsula Papagayo
Four Seasons Costa Rica
Four Seasons Liberia
Peninsula Liberia
Liberia Peninsula
Liberia Four Seasons

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing